#1 2019-04-29 18:29:40

Omen
Member
Canada
Reputation: 31
Registered: 2015-06-24
Posts: 61
Windows 10 Chrome 74.0

Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

Hi just wondering if anyone had this problem ?
my desktop resolution is 1980 x 1080 , my 1942  video is set at  1980 x 1080
when i exit  and close the game my desktop resolution is changed to 800 x 600
any idea for a solution ?

Offline

    +2   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#2 2019-04-29 21:49:35

ziba128
Member
Reputation: 339
Location: HoHa_MG42_PCO1
Registered: 2012-10-14
Posts: 1,167
Website
Android Opera 51.3

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

Do you use Alt+F4?

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#3 2019-04-29 22:05:56

Lecter
Where´s Clarice?
Portugal
Reputation: 271
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 907
Windows 10 Firefox 66.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

I have this too. Maybe windows 10 bug...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#4 2019-04-29 22:08:56

ahmed:)
.الدلاع راهو غالي
Algeria
Reputation: 76
Location: 11 ain benain
Registered: 2018-08-25
Posts: 246
Website
Windows 8.1 Chrome 73.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

Arkos !

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#5 2019-04-29 23:01:08

iCQ
Spammer
Netherlands
Reputation: 542
Location: Netherlands
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 1,967
Ubuntu Firefox 66.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

I have that too in linux.. 800x600 is the intro screen and such resolution... sometimes in some situations it does not nicely reset back to the regular desktop resolution... i say it is a bf1942 bug since it also happens in linux (not always, ubuntu 18.04 has more problems with it than 19.04 kernel 5)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#6 2019-04-30 00:09:48

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 2271
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 5,694
Windows 7 Chrome 73.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

ahmed:) wrote:

Arkos !

...

Yaa, Mann!

I have some ideas smile

...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#7 2019-04-30 11:32:52

seventy
Playor
North Korea
Reputation: 677
Location: Pyongyang
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 1,558
Ubuntu Firefox 66.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

iCQ wrote:

I have that too in linux.. 800x600 is the intro screen and such resolution... sometimes in some situations it does not nicely reset back to the regular desktop resolution... i say it is a bf1942 bug since it also happens in linux (not always, ubuntu 18.04 has more problems with it than 19.04 kernel 5)

But with Linux it also happens with other games, so it might be a different issue here.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#8 2019-06-12 22:37:10

mussels
Player
Belgium
Reputation: 10
Registered: 2012-07-11
Posts: 76
Windows 10 Chrome 74.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

Me also have this problem

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#9 2019-06-14 22:19:25

bud
maestro
Reputation: 1599
Location: shangri la
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 3,489
Website
Windows 10 Firefox 67.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

This is propably related to GPU scaling, if its not enabled windows has to change screen resolution back and forth.

scaling.jpg

Online

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#10 2019-12-19 14:13:47

Agent XXX
Player
Germany
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2019-12-19
Posts: 2
Windows 10 Opera 65.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

This only happens to me when I launch BFV and then activate the Mod "POE" and then switching back to BFV again.
That ancient game scews modern systems like Windows 10 etc.

btw. Boycott any of your friends who is going to the army 'coz they are EVIL and STUPID beings!

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#11 2019-12-20 10:34:22

Snake Eyes
Player
Brazil
Reputation: 113
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2018-07-08
Posts: 152
Website
iOS Safari 12.1

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

I have win10 too, and this problem just happens when I quit the game without disconnect from server.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#12 2019-12-20 14:23:21

Vertigo
Underpaid Admin
Reputation: 1967
Registered: 2015-12-20
Posts: 1,825
Windows 10 Firefox 71.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

Snake Eyes wrote:

I have win10 too, and this problem just happens when I quit the game without disconnect from server.

Res change was a somewhat rare issue for me on Win7, but never with Win10.
I no longer have to run any compatibility mode on the game anymore also.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#13 2020-02-25 22:37:48

JarJarBinks
Player
Germany
Reputation: 21
Registered: 2013-07-07
Posts: 89
OS X Safari 13.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

Same issue here

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#14 2020-02-26 00:22:15

Trench
Member
United States
Reputation: 108
Registered: 2014-05-05
Posts: 190
Windows 10 Chrome 80.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

It doesn't happen to me often enough to have already tried this, but Windows actually introduced a "reset and restart my display driver" hotkey.

Windows Key + CTRL + SHIFT + B   
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel … nk-screens

I wonder if that might not be "a quick path back to normal resolution" in cases where this happens.

Offline

    +3   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#15 2020-02-26 23:23:02

bud
maestro
Reputation: 1599
Location: shangri la
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 3,489
Website
Windows 10 Firefox 73.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

Trench wrote:

It doesn't happen to me often enough to have already tried this, but Windows actually introduced a "reset and restart my display driver" hotkey.

Windows Key + CTRL + SHIFT + B   
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel … nk-screens

I wonder if that might not be "a quick path back to normal resolution" in cases where this happens.

ohhh nice! now i just have to remember the buttons to use.

Online

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#16 2020-04-30 08:43:22

Crash
Player
Singapore
Reputation: 81
Registered: 2019-11-04
Posts: 152
Windows 10 Chrome 79.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

That happens when I Alt Tab out.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#17 2020-04-30 08:44:09

Crash
Player
Singapore
Reputation: 81
Registered: 2019-11-04
Posts: 152
Windows 10 Chrome 79.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

I think it happens when theres been a map change. And youve set that feature in windows where you allow the game to make changes to graphics isntead of allowing just windows to do it.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#18 2020-04-30 12:54:50

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 2271
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 5,694
Windows 7 Chrome 81.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

...

It's all because of this 800x600 Game Menu and Blackscreen.exe

...

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#19 2020-05-01 02:52:01

bud
maestro
Reputation: 1599
Location: shangri la
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 3,489
Website
Windows 10 Firefox 75.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

Crash wrote:

That happens when I Alt Tab out.

You can try this fix http://team-simple.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=7928

More details here https://bfmods.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=47957

Also feel free to report back if you try that menu fix, and how it worked out for you.

Last edited by bud (2020-05-02 19:01:25)

Online

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#20 2021-03-23 03:02:42

JarJarBinks
Player
Germany
Reputation: 21
Registered: 2013-07-07
Posts: 89
Windows 10 Firefox 86.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

So, that's really very annoying... That's why I'm relaunching this topic.

Nearly after every quit my desktop-resolution is set to 800x600....

Before I start BF it's set to 5120x2880,
ingame it's saved to 2560x1440 to have a small chance to read the names...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#21 2021-03-23 10:37:42

henk
Member
Netherlands
Reputation: 109
Registered: 2018-07-07
Posts: 159
Windows 10 Chrome 89.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

buds solution works for me

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#22 2021-03-30 22:18:33

JarJarBinks
Player
Germany
Reputation: 21
Registered: 2013-07-07
Posts: 89
Windows 10 Firefox 87.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

There are 2 "videodefault.con" ....
After I insert into both !! 2560x1440, I get back to my desktop after exit in this size (thanx bud !!!).

But my nativ resolution is 5120x2880.
BF42 is best looking then, but I can't read the names above the players because they are to small.

So I switched desktop-resolution to 2560x1440.
Better to fall back to the desktop in 2560x1440 resolution.
800x600 is very annoying....

Not resolved but a workaround.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#23 2021-03-30 23:29:50

bud
maestro
Reputation: 1599
Location: shangri la
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 3,489
Website
Windows 10 Firefox 87.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

JarJarBinks wrote:

but I can't read the names above the players because they are to small.

You could perhaps try this fix if you havent seen it before https://team-simple.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=881

Online

    +2   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#24 2021-03-31 21:39:39

JarJarBinks
Player
Germany
Reputation: 21
Registered: 2013-07-07
Posts: 89
OS X Safari 13.1

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

Now it works perfect !!

Summary: It needs all fixes and hints together... smile

(Before you write in this  .con files, duplicate each and rename one of the duplicates like    _video.con    and so on... as a backup):

1. The file "VideoDefault.con" located in "Settings" folder: For 16:9 it needs the line    renderer.fieldOfView 1    changed to     renderer.fieldOfView 1.33333
(1 is for 4:3)   (see the links in topic #19 for other resolutions)

2. The file "Video.con" located in "Settings/Profiles/YourProfilename" need a line changed to your resolution:  game.setGameDisplayMode 5120 2880 32 60
(It’s for a resolution of 5120 x 2880 and 32 bit colors and 60 hz/s)

3. The file "VideoCustom.con" located in the same folder need a line changed to your resolution without framerate:   game.setGameDisplayMode 5120 2880 32

4. Because the nametags are too small to read now, you need the fix in the last post #23 to change the nametags to double size.

Now I can play in native screen-resolution, have the possibility to read the names, and can go back to the desktop without a change to 800x600 pixel, what is really not easy to change to correct size.

Thank you all for your help.

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#25 2021-04-04 03:10:09

Crash
Player
Singapore
Reputation: 81
Registered: 2019-11-04
Posts: 152
Windows 10 Chrome 89.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

bud wrote:

This is propably related to GPU scaling, if its not enabled windows has to change screen resolution back and forth.

http://bfo.pm/pic/scaling.jpg

I think windows 10 has an option where it says something like "allow programs or windows to control scaling"

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

Board footer