#1 2019-04-29 17:29:40

Omen
Member
Canada
Reputation: +31
Registered: 2015-06-24
Posts: 61
Windows 10 Chrome 74.0

Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

Hi just wondering if anyone had this problem ?
my desktop resolution is 1980 x 1080 , my 1942  video is set at  1980 x 1080
when i exit  and close the game my desktop resolution is changed to 800 x 600
any idea for a solution ?

Offline

    Positive reputation 2   Negative reputation 0

#2 2019-04-29 20:49:35

ziba128
Member
Antarctica
Reputation: +362
Location: HoHa_MG42_PCO1
Registered: 2012-10-14
Posts: 1,188
Website
Android Opera 51.3

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

Do you use Alt+F4?

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#3 2019-04-29 21:05:56

Lecter
Where´s Clarice?
Portugal
Reputation: +363
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 1,020
Windows 10 Firefox 66.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

I have this too. Maybe windows 10 bug...

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#4 2019-04-29 21:08:56

ahmed:)
.الدلاع راهو غالي
Algeria
Reputation: +76
Location: 11 ain benain
Registered: 2018-08-25
Posts: 246
Website
Windows 8.1 Chrome 73.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

Arkos !

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#5 2019-04-29 22:01:08

iCQ
Spammer
Netherlands
Reputation: +543
Location: Netherlands
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 1,967
Ubuntu Firefox 66.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

I have that too in linux.. 800x600 is the intro screen and such resolution... sometimes in some situations it does not nicely reset back to the regular desktop resolution... i say it is a bf1942 bug since it also happens in linux (not always, ubuntu 18.04 has more problems with it than 19.04 kernel 5)

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#6 2019-04-29 23:09:48

Arkos
Sedmin
Switzerland
Reputation: +2490
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 6,305
Windows 7 Chrome 73.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

ahmed:) wrote:

Arkos !

...

Yaa, Mann!

I have some ideas smile

...

Online

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#7 2019-04-30 10:32:52

seventy
Playor
North Korea
Reputation: +773
Location: Pyongyang
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 1,779
Ubuntu Firefox 66.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

iCQ wrote:

I have that too in linux.. 800x600 is the intro screen and such resolution... sometimes in some situations it does not nicely reset back to the regular desktop resolution... i say it is a bf1942 bug since it also happens in linux (not always, ubuntu 18.04 has more problems with it than 19.04 kernel 5)

But with Linux it also happens with other games, so it might be a different issue here.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#8 2019-06-12 21:37:10

mussels
Player
Belgium
Reputation: +10
Registered: 2012-07-11
Posts: 76
Windows 10 Chrome 74.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

Me also have this problem

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#9 2019-06-14 21:19:25

bud
maestro
Reputation: +1779
Location: shangri la
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 3,778
Website
Windows 10 Firefox 67.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

This is propably related to GPU scaling, if its not enabled windows has to change screen resolution back and forth.

scaling.jpg

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#10 2019-12-19 13:13:47

Agent XXX
Player
Germany
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2019-12-19
Posts: 2
Windows 10 Opera 65.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

This only happens to me when I launch BFV and then activate the Mod "POE" and then switching back to BFV again.
That ancient game scews modern systems like Windows 10 etc.

btw. Boycott any of your friends who is going to the army 'coz they are EVIL and STUPID beings!

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#11 2019-12-20 09:34:22

Snake Eyes
Player
Brazil
Reputation: +113
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2018-07-08
Posts: 154
Website
iOS Safari 12.1

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

I have win10 too, and this problem just happens when I quit the game without disconnect from server.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#12 2019-12-20 13:23:21

Vertigo
Underpaid Admin
Reputation: +2267
Registered: 2015-12-20
Posts: 2,130
Windows 10 Firefox 71.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

Snake Eyes wrote:

I have win10 too, and this problem just happens when I quit the game without disconnect from server.

Res change was a somewhat rare issue for me on Win7, but never with Win10.
I no longer have to run any compatibility mode on the game anymore also.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#13 2020-02-25 21:37:48

JarJarBinks
Player
Germany
Reputation: +21
Registered: 2013-07-07
Posts: 96
OS X Safari 13.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

Same issue here

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#14 2020-02-25 23:22:15

Trench
Member
United States
Reputation: +118
Registered: 2014-05-05
Posts: 206
Windows 10 Chrome 80.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

It doesn't happen to me often enough to have already tried this, but Windows actually introduced a "reset and restart my display driver" hotkey.

Windows Key + CTRL + SHIFT + B   
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel … nk-screens

I wonder if that might not be "a quick path back to normal resolution" in cases where this happens.

Offline

    Positive reputation 3   Negative reputation 0

#15 2020-02-26 22:23:02

bud
maestro
Reputation: +1779
Location: shangri la
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 3,778
Website
Windows 10 Firefox 73.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

Trench wrote:

It doesn't happen to me often enough to have already tried this, but Windows actually introduced a "reset and restart my display driver" hotkey.

Windows Key + CTRL + SHIFT + B   
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel … nk-screens

I wonder if that might not be "a quick path back to normal resolution" in cases where this happens.

ohhh nice! now i just have to remember the buttons to use.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#16 2020-04-30 07:43:22

Crash
Player
Singapore
Reputation: +89
Registered: 2019-11-04
Posts: 180
Windows 10 Chrome 79.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

That happens when I Alt Tab out.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#17 2020-04-30 07:44:09

Crash
Player
Singapore
Reputation: +89
Registered: 2019-11-04
Posts: 180
Windows 10 Chrome 79.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

I think it happens when theres been a map change. And youve set that feature in windows where you allow the game to make changes to graphics isntead of allowing just windows to do it.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#18 2020-04-30 11:54:50

Arkos
Sedmin
Switzerland
Reputation: +2490
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 6,305
Windows 7 Chrome 81.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

...

It's all because of this 800x600 Game Menu and Blackscreen.exe

...

Online

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

#19 2020-05-01 01:52:01

bud
maestro
Reputation: +1779
Location: shangri la
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 3,778
Website
Windows 10 Firefox 75.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

Crash wrote:

That happens when I Alt Tab out.

You can try this fix http://team-simple.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=7928

More details here https://bfmods.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=47957

Also feel free to report back if you try that menu fix, and how it worked out for you.

Last edited by bud (2020-05-02 18:01:25)

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#20 2021-03-23 02:02:42

JarJarBinks
Player
Germany
Reputation: +21
Registered: 2013-07-07
Posts: 96
Windows 10 Firefox 86.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

So, that's really very annoying... That's why I'm relaunching this topic.

Nearly after every quit my desktop-resolution is set to 800x600....

Before I start BF it's set to 5120x2880,
ingame it's saved to 2560x1440 to have a small chance to read the names...

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#21 2021-03-23 09:37:42

henk
Administrators
Netherlands
Reputation: +144
Registered: 2018-07-07
Posts: 235
Windows 10 Chrome 89.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

buds solution works for me

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#22 2021-03-30 21:18:33

JarJarBinks
Player
Germany
Reputation: +21
Registered: 2013-07-07
Posts: 96
Windows 10 Firefox 87.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

There are 2 "videodefault.con" ....
After I insert into both !! 2560x1440, I get back to my desktop after exit in this size (thanx bud !!!).

But my nativ resolution is 5120x2880.
BF42 is best looking then, but I can't read the names above the players because they are to small.

So I switched desktop-resolution to 2560x1440.
Better to fall back to the desktop in 2560x1440 resolution.
800x600 is very annoying....

Not resolved but a workaround.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#23 2021-03-30 22:29:50

bud
maestro
Reputation: +1779
Location: shangri la
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 3,778
Website
Windows 10 Firefox 87.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

JarJarBinks wrote:

but I can't read the names above the players because they are to small.

You could perhaps try this fix if you havent seen it before https://team-simple.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=881

Offline

    Positive reputation 2   Negative reputation 0

#24 2021-03-31 20:39:39

JarJarBinks
Player
Germany
Reputation: +21
Registered: 2013-07-07
Posts: 96
OS X Safari 13.1

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

Now it works perfect !!

Summary: It needs all fixes and hints together... smile

(Before you write in this  .con files, duplicate each and rename one of the duplicates like    _video.con    and so on... as a backup):

1. The file "VideoDefault.con" located in "Settings" folder: For 16:9 it needs the line    renderer.fieldOfView 1    changed to     renderer.fieldOfView 1.33333
(1 is for 4:3)   (see the links in topic #19 for other resolutions)

2. The file "Video.con" located in "Settings/Profiles/YourProfilename" need a line changed to your resolution:  game.setGameDisplayMode 5120 2880 32 60
(It’s for a resolution of 5120 x 2880 and 32 bit colors and 60 hz/s)

3. The file "VideoCustom.con" located in the same folder need a line changed to your resolution without framerate:   game.setGameDisplayMode 5120 2880 32

4. Because the nametags are too small to read now, you need the fix in the last post #23 to change the nametags to double size.

Now I can play in native screen-resolution, have the possibility to read the names, and can go back to the desktop without a change to 800x600 pixel, what is really not easy to change to correct size.

Thank you all for your help.

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

#25 2021-04-04 02:10:09

Crash
Player
Singapore
Reputation: +89
Registered: 2019-11-04
Posts: 180
Windows 10 Chrome 89.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

bud wrote:

This is propably related to GPU scaling, if its not enabled windows has to change screen resolution back and forth.

http://bfo.pm/pic/scaling.jpg

I think windows 10 has an option where it says something like "allow programs or windows to control scaling"

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

#26 2021-06-11 18:39:40

JCVD
Player
Reputation: +1
Location: Québec
Registered: 2021-06-11
Posts: 12
Windows 10 Chrome 91.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

Hi Guys,

I'm on Windows 10 on a brand new installation of BF1942 and everything is working quite good except for one very specific situation where i'm getting the 800X600 desktop issue.

I can start a game online or lan and play with my setted game resolution but if I click "Disconnect" before closing the whole game it sort of "flash" for a second and then it go back to the normal bd1942 menu, I can still start a new game or join any online game but when I will quit, my desktop will be 800 X 600.

Again, if I play anything but doesn't click disconnect and just quit the game, my desktop keep its originial resolution.

I followed the JarJarBinks procedure but It changed nothing.

Do you have any idea?

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#27 2021-06-11 20:47:42

BZHERMINING
Player
Reputation: +26
Registered: 2021-06-02
Posts: 70
Android Chrome 91.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

JCVD wrote:

Hi Guys,

I'm on Windows 10 on a brand new installation of BF1942 and everything is working quite good except for one very specific situation where i'm getting the 800X600 desktop issue.

I can start a game online or lan and play with my setted game resolution but if I click "Disconnect" before closing the whole game it sort of "flash" for a second and then it go back to the normal bd1942 menu, I can still start a new game or join any online game but when I will quit, my desktop will be 800 X 600.

Again, if I play anything but doesn't click disconnect and just quit the game, my desktop keep its originial resolution.

I followed the JarJarBinks procedure but It changed nothing.

Do you have any idea?

I had the same issue for a while, then after changing the resolution in-game menu to match he desktop settings it seems to stay.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#28 2021-06-11 20:58:39

Zwarrior
Gandolf "the badmin"
Spain
Reputation: +917
Location: Planet Earth
Registered: 2018-10-14
Posts: 1,204
Windows 10 Chrome 91.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

not only that, if you change your resolution hit regs are not the same for some reason.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#29 2021-06-12 00:24:51

Arkos
Sedmin
Switzerland
Reputation: +2490
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 6,305
Windows 7 Chrome 91.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

...

Perhaps forced Vsync due Windows 10. (Capped 60Fps)

If, then Raklez showed a solution.

Put an old D3d8.dll into the MainGameFolder
...

Last edited by Arkos (2021-06-12 22:01:44)

Online

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#30 2021-06-12 18:32:11

JCVD
Player
Reputation: +1
Location: Québec
Registered: 2021-06-11
Posts: 12
Android Chrome 90.0

Re: Desktop resolution changed to 800 x 600 when exiting the game

Hi guys,

Thank you so much for your help. Just after posting, I run into a world of hell and let me try to explain it quick.

After playing some online gaming and local coop, I wanted to try some mod like Desert Combat and FH.

Unfortunately, none of them worked. They were crashing every time I was starting a game for about any map.

So I switched back to play bf1942 original for coop game but it was always starting the first map in the list of "maps to choose from" and never the map I selected and switched in the "maps to play". Kinda a weird.

I also notice that I couldn't change anything related to my profile, resolution, name, etc. Every change was going back to previous value as soon as I clicked "save"

So I searched my computer for the so called profiles and I found 2 places :

1- Game directory
2- In the windows user profile ":\Users\MyGamingPc\Documents\Battlefield 1942"

I deleted the "Battlefield 1942" folder in my windows user profile.

This seems to have fixed my profile issue because I could change all my settings again and the game not starting the selected map was back to normal.

What about the mods? No luck, still crash at map loading.

Then I wanted to change the compatibility of the bf1942 executable (Seen this tips in some forum post).

I removed the xpsp3 compatibility mode and even run as admin and everything is working now. Mods, originals, everything.

I was so skeptical that I deleted every thing and reinstalled everything to be sure to have the correct sequence to fix those issues.

So I did :

1- Install Bf1942 Anthology (Not in program files this time, but in "C:\Games"
2- Install the 1.6 patch from team-Simple website
3- Remove compatibility options and remove "run as admin" on the original exe
4- Tried to find the ":\Users\MyGamingPc\Documents\Battlefield 1942" but It wasn't there??? (Maybe it was there from a previous installation of a different bf1942 installation setup?)
5- Install back all the mod I wanted
6- Open for the first time, created a new profile and changed some control and resolution (1920 X 1080 in my case 60hz)

So far so good, I can join online game, create local, play mods and every maps I tried some far are working great.

Guess what? Seems like my 800X600 problem was linked with the fact that the game was installed in Program Files (for some reason) because since my last install, (in "c:\games\") everything is working perfectly!

The only weird issue I have is with the accentuated character. As I installed my game in french, there is some places where things are badly written like : "Pierre s'est connecté" Displayed "Pierre s'est connectÙ".

Not a huge issue to be honnest, but if I could get it perfect I would be happy.

I have seen quite a bit of Germans on the forum so maybe someone found a quick fix?

What an adventure! I hope this will help other people with a similar problem.

I will try this exact sequence for a friend with an up to date Windows 10 and most recent build to check if it work for him and I will come back here.

Thank you again for your help.

Hope to see you on the battlefield!

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

Board footer