#1 2023-06-17 17:35:36

LT Joe
Player
United States
Reputation: +11
Location: Alabama
Registered: 2016-06-12
Posts: 24
Windows 10 Firefox 114.0

Anyway to turn down BOTS

was wondering if BOTS could be turn down a little bit on skill some.  BOTS are now like on expert mode or something. They shoot me with one shot and kill me within 500 ms of seeing me. Thanks but I will still support you guys if you don't

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

#2 2023-09-25 10:51:28

bud
maestro
Reputation: +1842
Location: shangri la
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 3,959
Website
Windows 10 Firefox 117.0

Re: Anyway to turn down BOTS

Yes in server-console (you can type command without any values first to get the running settings). Assuming the first command is something like cpu% for the ai, but it should be easy to test out the different command settings by using extreme high/low values as a starting point

   Ai.AiSystemQuotient 0.5
   Ai.SetAISystemComponentsQuotient 9 1

This could be changed ingame by a admin-command (txt-based include command), i havent tested this feature in dept myself, but probably doable to change it for all maps simultaneously  by placing it in some strategic .con file like somewhere in Game.rfa or it could work per map basis should it be desirable with different values/map

https://bfmods.com/mdt/scripting/Ai/Pro … tient.html

ai-commands.jpg

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#3 2023-09-26 01:01:04

Black Mamba
Member
Canada
Reputation: +1453
Registered: 2012-12-01
Posts: 4,247
iOS Safari 16.6

Re: Anyway to turn down BOTS

bud wrote:

Yes in server-console (you can type command without any values first to get the running settings). Assuming the first command is something like cpu% for the ai, but it should be easy to test out the different command settings by using extreme high/low values as a starting point

   Ai.AiSystemQuotient 0.5
   Ai.SetAISystemComponentsQuotient 9 1

This could be changed ingame by a admin-command (txt-based include command), i havent tested this feature in dept myself, but probably doable to change it for all maps simultaneously  by placing it in some strategic .con file like somewhere in Game.rfa or it could work per map basis should it be desirable with different values/map

https://bfmods.com/mdt/scripting/Ai/Pro … tient.html

https://bfo.pm/simple/ai-commands.jpg

What does the second command do?

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#4 2023-09-27 11:46:17

bud
maestro
Reputation: +1842
Location: shangri la
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 3,959
Website
Windows 10 Firefox 117.0

Re: Anyway to turn down BOTS

Im not sure, i dont have much experience with ai code. But i see similiar settings often in the ai files.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#5 2023-11-07 13:23:05

bobbyish
Player
Reputation: +1
Registered: 2023-10-19
Posts: 11
Windows 10 Chrome 119.0

Re: Anyway to turn down BOTS

Hard bots are fun though

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#6 2023-11-07 20:30:43

Black Mamba
Member
Canada
Reputation: +1453
Registered: 2012-12-01
Posts: 4,247
iOS Safari 16.6

Re: Anyway to turn down BOTS

bobbyish wrote:

Hard bots are fun though

There’s no such thing. Only the zombie mod had bots that were actually hard to kill.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#7 2023-11-09 13:47:05

Trench
Member
United States
Reputation: +130
Registered: 2014-05-05
Posts: 221
Windows 10 Chrome 119.0

Re: Anyway to turn down BOTS

bud wrote:
   Ai.AiSystemQuotient 0.5
   Ai.SetAISystemComponentsQuotient 9 1

Is there a distinction between this and the game.serverCoopAiSkill that BF Server Manager lets you control?

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#8 2023-11-10 00:37:17

Black Mamba
Member
Canada
Reputation: +1453
Registered: 2012-12-01
Posts: 4,247
iOS Safari 16.6

Re: Anyway to turn down BOTS

Trench wrote:
bud wrote:
   Ai.AiSystemQuotient 0.5
   Ai.SetAISystemComponentsQuotient 9 1

Is there a distinction between this and the game.serverCoopAiSkill that BF Server Manager lets you control?

Yes, the commands above deal with the amount of CPU given to the bots, while the command you posted deals with the skill that is given to them. More info here: https://www.bfmods.com/viewtopic.php?p=32951#p32951

Last edited by Black Mamba (2023-11-10 00:37:57)

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#9 2023-11-10 10:01:37

Trench
Member
United States
Reputation: +130
Registered: 2014-05-05
Posts: 221
Windows 10 Chrome 119.0

Re: Anyway to turn down BOTS

Black Mamba wrote:

Yes, the commands above deal with the amount of CPU given to the bots, while the command you posted deals with the skill that is given to them.

Fair enough.  OP's question was "turn down a little bit on skill", which is why I wasn't sure.  I had also assumed they were giving feedback of "can you do that on Team-SiMPLE", rather than "how can I do that."  But I may not have the complete context.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#10 2023-11-10 11:33:57

bud
maestro
Reputation: +1842
Location: shangri la
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 3,959
Website
Windows 10 Firefox 119.0

Re: Anyway to turn down BOTS

Trench wrote:
Black Mamba wrote:

Yes, the commands above deal with the amount of CPU given to the bots, while the command you posted deals with the skill that is given to them.

Fair enough.  OP's question was "turn down a little bit on skill", which is why I wasn't sure.  I had also assumed they were giving feedback of "can you do that on Team-SiMPLE", rather than "how can I do that."  But I may not have the complete context.

I gather that players feel that the bot settings have been altered (harder), but no one here seems to knows for sure.
The krux is that if/when someone are running bots in conquest-mode it seems like the ai doesnt work like its supposed to, for instance the bots doesnt seem to listen to the radio commands at all and so they can seem to be even more dumber than they normally do,  but at the same time they might get "to good" at aiming perhaps, so if they did change from coop to conquest+bots that might be one reason, or even moving to a more powerful server could perhaps boost the bots in some parts relative to a slower server.

Anyway i have some "conquestbots" in my server too, and some days ago i actually tried to change those settings i posted about in the server console when i was playing in the server, but it didnt change anything at all, or not what i could notice anyway. And i did try both small and extreme values both up and down the scale but still no dice.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#11 2023-11-23 19:53:06

bud
maestro
Reputation: +1842
Location: shangri la
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 3,959
Website
Windows 10 Firefox 119.0

Re: Anyway to turn down BOTS

I found a old thread about bots that might be of interest https://battlefieldmodding.com/ssm/phpB … e1747fcb65

As most of you will of realised the game is dying and very few servers are populated so heres a little way for you to still have a good game while playing coop on your server.
Open the Game.rfa
Now select the Bf1942/Game/AIbehaviours.con
Under the first line which is remmed add this
aiSettings.setBotSkill 1

Now go to the bit under this
rem *** IMPORTANT !!! **************************
rem * NEVER ALLOW IDLE's urgency to become 0. *
rem * The AI will CRASH in that case. *
rem *** REMINDER *******************************
rem *** Construct unit weights ***
aiSettings.createBehaviourModifiers UnitWeights

and put the weights to something like this

aiSettings.setBehaviourModifier Avoid 0.001
aiSettings.setBehaviourModifier MoveTo 75
aiSettings.setBehaviourModifier Idle 0.00001
aiSettings.setBehaviourModifier Fire 99.999999
aiSettings.setBehaviourModifier Special 0.1
aiSettings.setBehaviourModifier Scout 40
aiSettings.setBehaviourModifier TakeCover 0.001
aiSettings.setBehaviourModifier Change 12.5

and then do the same for all other weights

This is what they all do

aiSettings.setBehaviour 0 Avoid (move out of the way of something)
aiSettings.setBehaviour 1 MoveTo (go some where)
aiSettings.setBehaviour 2 Idle (do nothing)
aiSettings.setBehaviour 3 Fire (Use a hand/vehicle weapon)
aiSettings.setBehaviour 4 Special (ignore this)
aiSettings.setBehaviour 5 Scout (search for the enemy)
aiSettings.setBehaviour 6 TakeCover (hide from the enemy)
aiSettings.setBehaviour 7 Change (Exit a vehicle )

The most important ones are Fire and Scout always set Fire to the max which is just below 100 but you can change scout the higher it is the more they will move before they shoot so if you set it very low they will stand still and shoot (idle can also help with this) and if you set it very high then they will run like mad men through your fire to the nearest flag that isnt theirs.

Hope this helps you post any other ideas on this topic below

sidenote, there is a bit of bickering in that thread, but i wouldnt take that too serious. Bongholio eventually got banned from that site.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

Board footer