#31 2020-11-06 11:38:10

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 2206
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 5,553
Windows 7 Chrome 86.0

Re: New HDD

...

Looks like a defective Elco.

Btw. i have a brandnew S939 Board here, ... somewhere.

...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#32 2020-11-06 21:47:07

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 3915
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 5,871
Website
Windows 7 Firefox 82.0

Re: New HDD

Much better smile

567567hdtest85675678.jpg

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#33 2020-11-07 00:46:06

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 2206
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 5,553
Windows 7 Chrome 86.0

Re: New HDD

...

Hehe, ofc this PC don't want to boot.

The old Harddisk is nearly bursting as full as it is.

It's normal the R/W speed is totally going down.

...

Last edited by Arkos (2020-11-07 00:46:58)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#34 2020-11-07 00:50:17

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 3915
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 5,871
Website
Android Opera 60.3

Re: New HDD

Arkos wrote:

...

Hehe, ofc this PC don't want to boot.

The old Harddisk is nearly bursting as full it is.

It's normal the R/W speed is totally going down.

...

I moved my music and some videos and other stuff so now it has a lot of space left smile

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#35 2020-11-07 11:40:45

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 2206
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 5,553
Windows 7 Chrome 86.0

Re: New HDD

...

If the harddisk is really still that faster, you could clone that old one to the new one, then shut down, change the data cables and boot up with your new one.

Aomei Backupper could do that Joooob.

You have WinXP or Win7?

...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#36 2020-11-07 20:25:21

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 3915
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 5,871
Website
Android Opera 60.3

Re: New HDD

I'm just keeping it as-is. The 500gb will just be a drive for excess data.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#37 2020-11-07 23:10:01

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 2206
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 5,553
Windows 7 Chrome 86.0

Re: New HDD

...

That procedure would cost somehow 15 minutes.

Btw. You run those HD's at AHCI Mode? I guess so...

...

Last edited by Arkos (2020-11-07 23:11:08)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#38 2020-11-08 00:09:03

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 3915
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 5,871
Website
Android Opera 60.3

Re: New HDD

Arkos wrote:

...

That procedure would cost somehow 15 minutes.

Btw. You run those HD's at AHCI Mode? I guess so...

...

Yes, I know how to clone a drive. I just want to keep the 500gb a storage drive. I have a backup image of my primary HDD on my MyCloud too just in case it dies in the next month or two. I also already transferred all the stuff I want/need from my primary HDD onto it my new one.

Not sure if the 250gb is in AHCI, but the new one is.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#39 2020-11-08 06:52:35

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 3915
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 5,871
Website
Android Opera 60.3

Re: New HDD

Middle of the night revelation!

So like I mentioned, I'd press the power button when I'd walk past the pc. Worked yesterday afternoon, but It hasn't turned on all day today

Was watching Lost in Space season 2 finale (awesome series!) and randomly, out of nowhere, something popped into my head. I've seen similar problems that I learned in a class... I know the problem! PC time off a bit. Random freezes/shutdowns. Mouse and keyboard problems. Other shit...

Multimeter time!

CMOS battery... 2.7 volts. Boom! Solved the problem. Gold for Sun.

Will get a new battery tomorrow or the bext smile

Last edited by Sunshine (2020-11-08 06:53:11)

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#40 2020-11-08 09:37:36

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 2206
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 5,553
Windows 7 Chrome 86.0

Re: New HDD

...

Battery is used as buffer while shut down and to save Bios settings, Time etc.

In some cases it shows errors due the Boot or does not boot up, yes.

Let's see, if it was that.

...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#41 2020-11-09 23:33:14

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 3915
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 5,871
Website
Android Opera 60.3

Re: New HDD

Arkos wrote:

Battery is used as buffer while shut down and to save Bios settings, Time etc.

In some cases it shows errors due the Boot or does not boot up, yes.

Let's see, if it was that.

It was the problem. Popped it in and it booted right up smile

Don't get me wrong... there's other problems with it lol. But I'm just taking the time to confirm backups, latest image, etc. Then I'll just say adios to it. Hurricane is coming anyway. Perfect time to tell it to go die.

Last edited by Sunshine (2020-11-09 23:33:32)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#42 2020-11-09 23:36:01

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 2206
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 5,553
Windows 7 Chrome 86.0

Re: New HDD

...

Ya... S939 is real outdated. I have still 2 complete PC's of it and some CPU's.

I have a new Watercooling system for it to tongue

...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#43 2020-11-10 00:31:53

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 3915
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 5,871
Website
Android Opera 60.3

Re: New HDD

I will watercool my new pc. I think I will get a Corsair h115. It will win.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#44 2020-11-10 00:54:39

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 2206
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 5,553
Windows 7 Chrome 86.0

Re: New HDD

...

Ryzens are a bit special with coolers.

https://youtu.be/hONzTtWuV8w?t=539


A Dark Rock Pro4 is also good enough.

For the GPU water is far better, but can be complicated.

...

Last edited by Arkos (2020-11-10 00:55:50)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#45 2020-11-10 01:16:39

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 2206
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 5,553
Windows 7 Chrome 86.0

Re: New HDD

...

A ARCTIC Liquid Freezer II 240 is cheap and very good.


https://youtu.be/KPaSEGe6ML0

...

But as you can see in the Vid, a Dark Rock Pro 4 is also doing his job.

And an Arctic Freezer 50 is also not that bad, but a bit ugly.  (Possible to buy without RGB Firlefanz).

...

Last edited by Arkos (2020-11-10 01:26:53)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#46 2020-11-10 04:01:38

BFSoldier 1
Player
Reputation: 418
Registered: 2015-07-29
Posts: 1,236
Windows XP Firefox 52.0

Re: New HDD

Sunshine wrote:

It was the problem. Popped it in and it booted right up

the cmos battery  .... why didnt i mention that ..... its one of the first things i test when i do checkups on motherboards. i usually pop a new duracell cr2032 battery in every three years

other common things i do when i examine 'em :

- check for loose / misplaced connections
- a general visual inspection of the mobo : everything in place ? bent or damaged components ?
- suck dust and debris out of slots and ports witch a vacuum cleaner (too much suction can bend / damage some parts)
- check if the 1000+ little cpu contact pins are bent or damaged

.... and remember to wear an antistatic wrist band, if you want to do everything by the book .....


Sunshine wrote:

I will watercool my new pc

watercooling can be expensive, and the performance gain over a good air cooler is minimal

and they can leak and ruin / destroy the entire pc. its rare, but it happens

some newer coolers have "anti-leakage" tech built into them, making them a bit safer

https://www.pcgamer.com/deepcools-new-l … g-your-pc/

Online

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#47 2020-11-10 05:06:40

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 3915
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 5,871
Website
Android Opera 60.3

Re: New HDD

BFSoldier 1 wrote:

- check for loose / misplaced connections
- a general visual inspection of the mobo : everything in place ? bent or damaged components ?
- suck dust and debris out of slots and ports witch a vacuum cleaner (too much suction can bend / damage some parts)
- check if the 1000+ little cpu contact pins are bent or damaged

.... and remember to wear an antistatic wrist band, if you want to do everything by the book .....

Duh. That's all basic shit.

BFSoldier 1 wrote:

watercooling can be expensive, and the performance gain over a good air cooler is minimal

and they can leak and ruin / destroy the entire pc. its rare, but it happens

some newer coolers have "anti-leakage" tech built into them, making them a bit safer

https://www.pcgamer.com/deepcools-new-l … g-your-pc/

I'm aware of the possibility of leakage. That's why I'm also looking at the warranty from each company. I have experience installing water cooling systems on equipment. I'm not worried about screwing up.

I'm already going to spend a pretty penny. I need a new monitor too. So it's go big or go home.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#48 2020-11-10 05:17:21

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 3915
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 5,871
Website
Android Opera 60.3

Re: New HDD

Arkos wrote:

...
A ARCTIC Liquid Freezer II 240 is cheap and very good.
And an Arctic Freezer 50 is also not that bad, but a bit ugly.  (Possible to buy without RGB Firlefanz).

I will look into them.

I like the non-rgb stuff anyway. My PC is to my left so I don't care because I can't see it anyway. If I need to look in it, I'll look. But if I'm looking at the "blank" side of the case... then why spend $ on that rgb shit lol. I can use my Noctua fans again anyway.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#49 2020-11-10 05:28:13

BFSoldier 1
Player
Reputation: 418
Registered: 2015-07-29
Posts: 1,236
Windows XP Firefox 52.0

Re: New HDD

Sunshine wrote:

Duh. That's all basic shit.

hey now ..... im only trying to be friendly and help

how would i know your pc hardware / software do-it-yourself skill level ?

Online

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#50 Yesterday 20:22:51

BFSoldier 1
Player
Reputation: 418
Registered: 2015-07-29
Posts: 1,236
Windows XP Firefox 52.0

Re: New HDD

.


i wonder when the queen of the battlefield will return with her new souped up powerrig ....

Online

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#51 Yesterday 20:30:20

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 3915
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 5,871
Website
Android Opera 60.3

Re: New HDD

BFSoldier 1 wrote:

.


i wonder when the queen of the battlefield will return with her new souped up powerrig ....

When 5900x and GPUs get back in stock -.-

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#52 Yesterday 22:26:20

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 2206
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 5,553
Windows 7 Chrome 87.0

Re: New HDD

...

You play other games too, ... which support more then 6+6 cores?

Otherwise the 5600x is good enough.

...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#53 Yesterday 22:58:28

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 3915
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 5,871
Website
Android Opera 60.3

Re: New HDD

Arkos wrote:

...

You play other games too, ... which support more then 6+6 cores?

Otherwise the 5600x is good enough.

...

I want. Therefore, I will get.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#54 Today 12:13:26

BFSoldier 1
Player
Reputation: 418
Registered: 2015-07-29
Posts: 1,236
Windows XP Firefox 52.0

Re: New HDD

if she only buys a new pc, like every 10-15 years, then it might not be a good choice to purhase the cheapest 5600x cpu with the fewest cores

rather pay extra, and get 5900x or 5950x


21.png

Online

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#55 Today 14:04:12

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 2206
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 5,553
Windows 7 Chrome 87.0

Re: New HDD

...

Most game do not support anyway more then 6-8 Cores.

There are plenty which support still just 1. Ofc most old games.

A 5800x makes sense, because upcoming Console-Games suppot also 8 Cores and most of them are just ported to PC.

On the other side up to the 5800x the CPU's have only 1 CCX which is a Plus.

But higher as a 5800x you need only if you want Play Games & Stream or encoding some stuff daylong, also while playing games.

There are just some games which support more then 8 Cores. 

Mostly even Games which support officially 8 Cores the load just jumps between the cores and do not really need 8 Cores.

This is also the reason why the 5600X is pretty close to the bigger CPU's.

In some weeks the non X Models are released, cheaper then the X Models, but not much less Performance.

Anyway. My advice is, buy a CPU for what you need it now and the next 2 years. Not for the possible future in 3-5 years or more.

Between this time AMD is releasing again new CPU's and i would not be surprised, if they are again one class for themself.

...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#56 Today 14:08:49

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 3915
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 5,871
Website
Android Opera 60.3

Re: New HDD

BFSoldier 1 wrote:

if she only buys a new pc, like every 10-15 years, then it might not be a good choice to purhase the cheapest 5600x cpu with the fewest cores

rather pay extra, and get 5900x or 5950x


https://i.ibb.co/zQzqPnB/21.png

I highly doubt it'll be another 10yrs before I upgrade again lol. I have a good steady job that pays well and I will get a nice promotion after I get my ME smile

Last edited by Sunshine (Today 15:48:01)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#57 Today 14:17:58

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 2206
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 5,553
Windows 7 Chrome 87.0

Re: New HDD

...

Who knows, perhaps in 10 Years people play Games in the Cloud and there's no need for Gaming Hardware like today.

...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#58 Today 14:19:22

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 3915
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 5,871
Website
Android Opera 60.3

Re: New HDD

Arkos wrote:

Most game do not support anyway more then 6-8 Cores.

There are plenty which support still just 1. Ofc most old games.

A 5800x makes sense, because upcoming Console-Games suppot also 8 Cores and most of them are just ported to PC.

On the other side up to the 5800x the CPU's have only 1 CCX which is a Plus.

But higher as a 5800x you need only if you want Play Games & Stream or encoding some stuff daylong, also while playing games.

There are just some games which support more then 8 Cores. 

Mostly even Games which support officially 8 Cores the load just jumps between the cores and do not really need 8 Cores.

This is also the reason why the 5600X is pretty close to the bigger CPU's.

In some weeks the non X Models are released, cheaper then the X Models, but not much less Performance.

Anyway. My advice is, buy a CPU for what you need it now and the next 2 years. Not for the possible future in 3-5 years or more.

Between this time AMD is releasing again new CPU's and i would not be surprised, if they are again one class for themself.

Screenshot-20201203-080958-Opera.jpg

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#59 Today 14:22:25

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 2206
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 5,553
Windows 7 Chrome 87.0

Re: New HDD

...

There's nothing wrong to buy something you really want smile

...

The only question i need to know, if the 6000 Graficcards have also those Bugs in some old Games like the 500 and 5000 series had.

(Like CrosshairBug)

...

And there is another thing.

If you play WQHD or 4K then you run anyway into the Graficcardlimit. That means even a 5600x has mostly the same speed like a 5950x (Except the Game support more then 8 Cores).

In that case you better spend the +CPU-money into a better Graficcard. (For newer Games).

...

Last edited by Arkos (Today 14:35:48)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#60 Today 14:38:28

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 3915
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 5,871
Website
Android Opera 60.3

Re: New HDD

Arkos wrote:

...

There's nothing wrong to buy something you really want smile

...

The only question i need to know, if the 6000 Graficcards have also those Bugs in some old Games like the 500 and 5000 series had.

(Like CrosshairBug)

...

And there is another thing.

If you play WQHD or 4K then you run anyway into the Graficcardlimit. That means even a 5600x has mostly the same speed like a 5950x (Except the Game support more then 8 Cores).

In that case you better spend the +CPU-money into a better Graficcard. (For newer Games).

...

No need to play in 4k. I'm fine with 2k smile

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

Board footer