#1 2016-07-30 18:31:06

Bobbycar
Player
Germany
Reputation: 44
Registered: 2015-10-23
Posts: 52
Windows 7 Chrome 52.0

How to run BF1942 under windows 7?

Bonjour,

i had to reinstall windows 7 and now, BF is not launching any more:
If i doubleclick the BF1942.exe, a small black window opens, an windows error sound appears and i get kicked back to the desktop immediately. The problem occurs with origin and CD version.

What i already tried:
- Launch as Admin and XP3 compatibility.
- Replace BF1942.exe with the gamespy-patch.
- Change "Settings/VideoDefault.con" to disable fullscreen

The last possibility opens the black window, giving the error sound and the message: "Invalid videomode specified".
Since i'm out of ideas, the sense of my life is fading away... So please help me! tongue


Thanks in advance!
Bobbycar

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#2 2016-07-30 18:55:25

NZKMT
Member
Germany
Reputation: 131
Registered: 2015-12-27
Posts: 151
Windows 7 Firefox 47.0

Re: How to run BF1942 under windows 7?

Bobbycar wrote:

Bonjour,

i had to reinstall windows 7 and now, BF is not launching any more:
If i doubleclick the BF1942.exe, a small black window opens, an windows error sound appears and i get kicked back to the desktop immediately. The problem occurs with origin and CD version.

What i already tried:
- Launch as Admin and XP3 compatibility.
- Replace BF1942.exe with the gamespy-patch.
- Change "Settings/VideoDefault.con" to disable fullscreen

The last possibility opens the black window, giving the error sound and the message: "Invalid videomode specified".
Since i'm out of ideas, the sense of my life is fading away... So please help me! tongue


Thanks in advance!
Bobbycar

Hey m8;)

exactly my problem half a year ago:) the problem is a win 7 update half a year/a year ago. its about the copy protection cant be recognized anymore now. First time i found the update and smaced it out. But it was work. Actually ive running Win 7 without any updates - Autoupdate OFF. Which brings other probs from time to time, but thats ok for me. good protection/virus program is needed of cause, but i dont have to tell yer;) even bf runs like warm butter.

cheerz!

NZ

Last edited by NZKMT (2016-07-30 18:56:10)

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#3 2016-07-30 19:02:02

NZKMT
Member
Germany
Reputation: 131
Registered: 2015-12-27
Posts: 151
Windows 7 Firefox 47.0

Re: How to run BF1942 under windows 7?

Btw, a non cd patch could help too. But it didnt worked when i tried-  or i didnt found a working one? I cant remember.

Greetins!

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#4 2016-07-30 20:02:26

Oscar Goldman
Member
United States
Reputation: 150
Registered: 2014-10-21
Posts: 473
Windows 7 Firefox 47.0

Re: How to run BF1942 under windows 7?

Also, you need admin rights to run the program. In some installs of Windows 7, the admin account is inactive.  You can Google that too.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#5 2016-07-30 22:22:04

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 2250
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 5,656
Windows 7 Chrome 51.0

Re: How to run BF1942 under windows 7?

...

Mark following programs to run as Administrator and Compatibility Mode.

(Sometimes as Windows 7 is enough, otherwise XPSP2).


> Battlefield 1942.exe

> Blackscreen.exe

> PunkbusterA.exe (if Punkbuster is needed on some servers)

Install Bf1942 not in "C:\Program Files (x86)". Make a new Folder "Games" and install Bf1942 there or just copy it, if allready installed.

...

Last edited by Arkos (2016-07-30 22:22:43)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#6 2016-07-31 12:55:24

Bobbycar
Player
Germany
Reputation: 44
Registered: 2015-10-23
Posts: 52
Windows 7 Chrome 52.0

Re: How to run BF1942 under windows 7?

Thx for the answers!

I got my problem solved: the graphic driver was not installed correctly... i was running my computer on VGA graphic only. -.-

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#7 2016-07-31 14:20:53

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 2250
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 5,656
Windows 7 Chrome 51.0

Re: How to run BF1942 under windows 7?

...

My first thought was DirectX... but then i thought it can't be, ... you installed it, of course... big_smile

...

Last edited by Arkos (2016-07-31 14:29:32)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#8 2016-08-01 04:25:17

Capt price
Cancer
Reputation: -3
Registered: 2016-04-28
Posts: 509
Android Safari 4.0

Re: How to run BF1942 under windows 7?

Check your all software updates

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

Board footer