#1 2022-07-21 02:29:10

Kevin
Player
Republic of the Congo
Reputation: +45
Registered: 2016-03-07
Posts: 34
Windows 7 Firefox 102.0

fix the lag ffs

this thing has been going on for the last 8-10 months and nothing is being done. im willing to bet on my left nut that this a problem on the server's end and not the players. like i said in a previous post, when this happens everyone that is affected get their ping spiked or get connection problems, all at the same time. so clearly something is going on with the server and not us. take into account the same affected players are in different parts of the world, so it's not their ISP, etc. now what i noticed is that this affects less than 10% of people, so most won't be bothered by it and that's what makes it hard to tackle. but yet with the game already dying not taking proper care of the only remaining main server is just gross negligence. dont be crying when we are down to 10 players. also to those that are having issues with game crashes or have problems connecting, please don't comment unless your problem is of the same specific nature. like i says before this is a very sneaky issue that only affects a handful of players at a given time, so comments that deal with what windows or router im using or if whether the war in ukraine has something to do with it will only make it harder for the tech team to get to the bottom of it. thanks for reading.

and if anyone thinks im crazy ask jumpy or lecter.

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

#2 2022-07-21 05:47:03

ABAS
disciple of Jeff
Isle of Man
Reputation: +1838
Registered: 2015-12-10
Posts: 2,209
Website
Windows 2003 Chrome 78.0

Re: fix the lag ffs

VPN smile

Ask for vpn access and use it, this is the only way for those that cant play at all

Last edited by ABAS (2022-07-21 05:49:22)

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#3 2022-07-21 08:32:53

persia
Member
Russia
Reputation: +220
Registered: 2016-02-15
Posts: 539
Windows 7 Opera 89.0

Re: fix the lag ffs

in fact, the last 2 weeks the connection with the server has really become worse. There were lags when switching cameras, when the sight is approaching (it only works 3-4 times), sometimes it doesnt reg when shooting at close range
problem is not only with me

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#4 2022-07-21 11:49:17

Lecter
Where´s Clarice?
Portugal
Reputation: +411
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 1,078
Windows 10 Firefox 102.0

Re: fix the lag ffs

Kevin and Persia, I cant say anything more...but even with VPN its not better, its just slightly better.  I hope the few ones who have this huge issue can play normally again.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#5 2022-07-21 12:09:35

RaketenHorst
SiMPLE Administrator
Germany
Reputation: +784
Location: ( -_・) ︻デ═一▓▒░Hamburg░▒▓
Registered: 2016-01-05
Posts: 914
Website
Android Chrome 103.0

Re: fix the lag ffs

SiMPLE is considering moving back to France. Better hits/regs and above all more secure against unwanted server attacks.
So hold on.

The matches was played on the Mini League | War Server server hosted in Kansas City, MO, USA.

It was very tiring. More bullets than usual are needed. Playing with foresight was the order of the day. You can adapt to it.
https://youtu.be/6fwX2zyqr2U

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 1

#6 2022-07-21 14:06:38

Zody
москит
Germany
Reputation: +418
Location: Honolulu
Registered: 2012-03-04
Posts: 1,948
Windows 10 Chrome 102.0

Re: fix the lag ffs

So how abusive is Horst with his admin powers really:

Hidden text

big_smile

Last edited by Zody (2022-07-21 17:39:51)

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#7 2022-07-21 14:08:43

RaketenHorst
SiMPLE Administrator
Germany
Reputation: +784
Location: ( -_・) ︻デ═一▓▒░Hamburg░▒▓
Registered: 2016-01-05
Posts: 914
Website
Android Chrome 103.0

Re: fix the lag ffs

That Zody again. That's the one who constantly wants to get rid of his nonsense without being asked, isn't it? Why is he bothering me?! The player named Zody doesn't understand that I have neither interest nor time to explain the world to him. Other people should have done that. Well .. of course i wish him only the best for the future and now i say goodbye to him and his spirits in the hope not to bother me in the future. I thank the player Zody in advance.

Offline

    Positive reputation 2   Negative reputation 0

#8 2022-07-21 14:10:38

Zody
москит
Germany
Reputation: +418
Location: Honolulu
Registered: 2012-03-04
Posts: 1,948
Windows 10 Chrome 102.0

Re: fix the lag ffs

RaketenHorst wrote:

that Zody again. That's the one who constantly wants to get rid of his nonsense without being asked, isn't it? Why is he bothering me?! The player named Zody doesn't understand that I have neither interest nor time to explain the world to him. Other people should have done that. Well .. of course i wish him only the best for the future and now i say goodbye to him and his spirits in the hope not to bother me in the future. I thank the player Zody in advance.

You re such a snake big_smile Mr. Twoface

Last edited by Zody (2022-07-21 14:12:15)

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

#9 2022-07-21 21:45:00

S.E.L.F
Player
Reputation: +52
Registered: 2021-07-08
Posts: 65
Windows 10 Chrome 103.0

Re: fix the lag ffs

You Europeans have no idea what it is like to play with lag.

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

#10 2022-07-21 22:14:54

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: +4559
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 6,581
Website
Android Opera 70.3

Re: fix the lag ffs

I have yet to lag on the server but maybe it's due to the time that I play.

The best solution would be to move it to the south east US. Yeah... that would be best for everyone cool

Offline

    Positive reputation 2   Negative reputation 0

#11 2022-07-22 19:09:41

Pleiades53
Member
United States
Reputation: +648
Registered: 2015-06-26
Posts: 1,346
Windows 8.1 Firefox 102.0

Re: fix the lag ffs

I have continuous "connection problems" show on screen and terrible lag. Never had issue before. I have fiberoptic connection here. And yes Sunshine I am in East and South sort of....... (NC Northwest)
Playing is no fun with lag. Seems worse with more players too.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#12 2022-07-22 19:45:12

Arkos
Sedmin
Switzerland
Reputation: +2633
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 6,730
Windows 7 Chrome 103.0

Re: fix the lag ffs

...

I have the same, ... a couple of ~  7 Second lags, somehow every 3-5 minutes. (Connection Problem).

Beside the normal short lags.

...

Last edited by Arkos (2022-07-22 19:46:07)

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#13 2022-07-23 17:37:06

TheVicar
Player
England
Reputation: +63
Location: a cow field
Registered: 2022-01-06
Posts: 77
Website
Windows 10 Chrome 103.0

Re: fix the lag ffs

I don't seem to ever have any problems from the UK, but I guess its a quick hop over to the Netherlands, and also France when it used to be hosted there.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#14 2022-07-23 23:38:49

Arkos
Sedmin
Switzerland
Reputation: +2633
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 6,730
Windows 7 Chrome 103.0

Re: fix the lag ffs

...

Yup, ... a Routing Server.

...

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#15 2022-07-23 23:56:12

Cicero_01
Member
United States
Reputation: +46
Registered: 2013-12-20
Posts: 81
OS X Chrome 103.0

Re: fix the lag ffs

I have been able to play by using a vpn or by using a hotspot with my cell phone but neither is very good. Just no freezing with those like a normal  connection. Now I have relocated temporarily to USA west coast where my ping is terrible but somehow the lag is not affecting me here. Other than the worsened ping. It does appear to be in the routing. I sure hope the move back to France comes before I return to Ohio the last week of August.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#16 2022-07-24 12:21:41

Arkos
Sedmin
Switzerland
Reputation: +2633
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 6,730
Windows 7 Chrome 103.0

Re: fix the lag ffs

...

You think you have lags? 

From my side everything looks normal   smile



https://youtu.be/euPWCCXbbYY


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qWHldYU_pC0


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=weM878sdJCA

...

Last edited by Arkos (2022-07-24 12:33:30)

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#17 2022-07-24 12:55:47

Deeko
Player
Estonia
Reputation: +269
Registered: 2014-11-07
Posts: 481
Android Chrome 103.0

Re: fix the lag ffs

Sucks to be you Arkos...

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#18 2022-07-24 14:08:04

s/w
Player
Reputation: +795
Registered: 2017-01-02
Posts: 518
Windows 10 Chrome 103.0

Re: fix the lag ffs

Arcos lags on any serwer.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#19 2022-07-24 14:14:06

Alvarez-Latino
Player
France
Reputation: -198
Location: paris
Registered: 2012-06-26
Posts: 697
Windows 10 Chrome 103.0

Re: fix the lag ffs

Imagine arkos without any lags the potential of this player is unlimited!

Who is this awesome player?

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#20 2022-07-27 17:38:07

proxyfart
Player
Reputation: +1
Registered: 2022-07-27
Posts: 1
Windows 10 Chrome 103.0

Re: fix the lag ffs

Hi all,
  Ironfart here. Cant Login as Ironfart?? Hence proxyfart.
    I said to Arkos I’d post something so here goes...In less than 1000 words lol.

Been making a few sniffy comments online recently so I thought I’d better
explain myself here.

Firstly I’d like to thank Simple for supplying BF 1942 servers to the public.

But its the ‘con probs’…

Having changed my ISP for an optical fibre ethernet connection I would really
want it to work properly.
My mobile hotspot doesn’t break up but its laggy and the fibre is snappy when it works.
Snap shots are possible on my fibre but not on the hotspot. (8 ping vs 80 ping!). Reload times affected.
My reflexes must be somewhere between 8 and 80 milliseconds?  smile

I have no probs with any other servers, games. apps, programs... in fact my connection
is super fast for other things.
150Mb/s down and 50Mb/s up, solid. No jitters or breaks. Multiple 4k streaming is easily possible.
I once for a laugh tried to play Battlefield when I was downloading a file at
max download speed (150 Mb/s).
I was amazed to find it didn’t affect the game at all! Perfectly playable.

Enough bandwidth must have been set aside.
Fast enough computer to easily handle multi-tasking.
R5 3600 Six cores. 12 thready things…
16 Gb Ram. WD Black SN850 NVME 1Tb, RX580 8Gb.

I’ve done a series of things to try and narrow down the problem...

Installed Ubuntu and Playonlinux and Wine to try and eliminate windows 10 as a
possible problem.

Still had the same con probs ie alright for five minutes(ish) then a succession of freezes
lasting up to a minute at a time.
Sometimes doesn’t freeze for reasonable periods of time. Sometimes totally unplayable.
Sometimes just plain kicked. Usually when I’m doing well or so it seems!
Probably coincidental though...

For what its worth Battlefield played well on Ubuntu. I would recommend it to anyone
with weaker hardware.
All relevant info on installation I found on Youtube and Google.
Although I found it was using more of the CPU for some reason.

So Windows was NOT the problem thank you very much.

Tried port forwarding to Simple despite the security risks (which I’ve deleted now!).

Tried dedicated IP address PC to my router.

All to no avail. Still con probs.

Then I did a series of tracert from my PC via two different ISP’s and one also with proxy.

Different routes were taken but when they got to Worldstream one went thru 109.236.95.225
and the others went thru other servers of a similar IP ie 109.239.95.xxx.

I also did comparison tests to Moongamers and Great Escape…(which I never have problems with
despite being on the other side of the Atlantic).
These tests prove that all the other servers on my tracert have no problems.
The only extra/different server that appears when I have con probs is 109.236.95.225. Coincidence?

The route thru 109.236.95.225 is my bad connection. (Fibre).
If I use a proxy on my fibre 109.236.95.225 is avoided and it is OK but vpn’s are not allowed on Simple main server.
(Not for me anyway. permission revoked!)
Routes thru  109.236.95.227 and other similar addresses are OK.                                                                                                                                                                                         
What ‘rules’ exist that decide which server intercepts traffic going to Simple?

  I would be interested to know if anyone else who has the same type of con prob                                                 
  which happens to the same people at the same time have a route leading to 109.236.95.225.
       
These (109.xx.xx.xxx) are Worldstream servers . Probably firewalls or perhaps admin access points.

It seems from chat that this affects about 10% of people.
Geography doesn’t seem to have a correlation. So its unlikely to be a common bottleneck
elsewhere from Worldstream. Its randomly global.
It is a real thing and anyone who says otherwise I can only treat with suspicion.

Remember con probs are quite common and can happen for many different reasons local
to the individual user and their physical connections.

However the con prob I’m describing is a particular manifestation for the aforesaid 10%
and this particular con prob is the one I’m trying to narrow down.

I noticed Arkos experienced difficulties at the same time as me and also ^^Bat^^. Their tracerts could be revealing?

If you are one of the stricken 10% and have con probs at the same time as others
on any Simple Server and Simple alone then try this…

If you open Powershell. (Right Click Windows logo, Left Click Powershell).

Type ‘tracert 194.88.105.25’                   (Simple Server)

Hit ENTER and see if  109.236.95.225 is on the list. (Last on the list!).

If it is we could be onto something…

If your con probs are due to some other manifestation then your result may be different.
Why do these 109  (Worldstream) servers treat traffic differently?
I’m sure there are legitimate reasons for their presence and activity.

All I know is computers do exactly what they’re told. Even if you don’t realise what
you've asked it. Algorithms eh! Rules...

The server clearly works for most so I think this is worth pursuing.

            Should this server prove to be a ‘common denominator’ then I shall forward
            my findings to Worldstream.

I’d obviously need some more corroboration before I bothered them though.

Perhaps a twiddle of code would magically work…Permissions? Whitelists?
Blacklists? Firewall? Rules?
194.88.105.25 is definitely firewalled due to the fact it won’t return a ping on tracert
from that (Simple) server. ie ‘request timed out’.
Hence the 109 servers being the only ‘visible’ servers on tracert.
Should Simple admin move the server to France I'm sure things will work again.
Maybe I’m pissing in the wind lol.

This is my last attempt.

PS

Been trying Battlefield V with no cross hair due to my graphics card (RX580)...sigh.
I’m sure there is a solution somewhere.
Not much fun. But a good excuse to maybe get a 3070 now the prices have tumbled.
I’m sure my R5 3600 can push it enough.

I must say shooting ‘Iron’ out my tank is fun when I’m connected well...
but I shoot ‘farts’ the rest of the time (missing hit regs!).
The one good thing is people tend to miss me too when I’m stuttering about!
Closely followed by an accusation of ‘cheating’ lol.
   
Its getting tedious…

Hope I’ve entertained you at least.

Bracing myself for the trolls lol.

Yours of the Ferric Flatulence,
                                                  Ironfart

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

Board footer