#1 2021-02-23 14:21:31

lonewolf-mcquade
Player
United States
Reputation: +53
Location: A secure undisclosed location
Registered: 2015-08-23
Posts: 191
Website
Windows 10 Firefox 85.0

New BF42 install is playable - freezes when changing screens and maps

Hey folks!

I recently needed to install BF142 from scratch on Windows 10 20H2 (Build 19042.804) and used the resources here to get it somewhat functional and working. the problem I'm having is that it freezes and becomes totally unresponsive if I exit to the main menu and try to go back into game or load a new server. It also freezes with every map change. I feel like there's something going on with the video change/reset that happens, but I'm not sure how to mitigate it. I've tried putting blankscreen.exe in XP SP2 compatibility. That didn't help.  Surely someone else has had this issue?

I'm running an Intel HD Graphics 5500 with Windows recommended drivers (generic I believe.) I'll try going back to the slightly older OEM intel driver tonight and see if that helps. Any ideas would be appreciated.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#2 2021-02-23 18:53:19

Trench
Member
United States
Reputation: +118
Registered: 2014-05-05
Posts: 206
Windows 10 Chrome 88.0

Re: New BF42 install is playable - freezes when changing screens and maps

Hey, nice to see you around.

I presume you've already covered enabling of DirectPlay, else it wouldn't play at all.  The "freezes" brings two things to mind:

Tuia's GameSpy fix also addressed the fact that querying a non-responsive master server (no matter who's master server you're querying) could hang the game for an extended time.  That issue is one of many good issues addressed in battlefield_1942_gamespy_patch_v1.61.exe, if you haven't applied that already.

The other one indeed could be resolution-related, and the fact that there's a hard-coded 800x600 attempt in the game, regardless of whether your system supports displaying 800x600 or not.  Bud recently pointed to an updated BF1942.EXE on bfmods.com which intends to address that, by using the configured game resolution for everything including the menu.

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

#3 2021-03-20 00:40:51

lonewolf-mcquade
Player
United States
Reputation: +53
Location: A secure undisclosed location
Registered: 2015-08-23
Posts: 191
Website
Windows 10 Firefox 86.0

Re: New BF42 install is playable - freezes when changing screens and maps

That didn't seem to help - i'm looking at the other balckscreen thread here too and seeing similarities. Dell laptop here with second screen. it helps to turn off the laptop screen before I play, but game to game loads are still black death. :\

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#4 2021-03-20 09:27:10

simon
Flamer
Reputation: +345
Location: est'own'ya
Registered: 2014-08-13
Posts: 545
Windows 7 Waterfox 56.5

Re: New BF42 install is playable - freezes when changing screens and maps

stop using windows 10 for the love of god

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#5 2021-03-20 15:10:55

Black Mamba
Adios BF1942
Canada
Reputation: +1250
Registered: 2012-12-01
Posts: 3,761
Windows 10 Chrome 89.0

Re: New BF42 install is playable - freezes when changing screens and maps

As opposed to what, linux? I think most people want simplicity, I don't want to spend hours reading on Reddit on to set up an OS, how to install packages, etc. An operating system should be intuitive, not a painful assignment.


Windows has its issues but at the end of the day, it just works.

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

#6 2021-03-20 16:36:03

simon
Flamer
Reputation: +345
Location: est'own'ya
Registered: 2014-08-13
Posts: 545
Android Chrome 86.0

Re: New BF42 install is playable - freezes when changing screens and maps

as you see it doesn't just work, for BF42. Linux sucks but you are in control of your system.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#7 2021-03-20 16:37:49

Black Mamba
Adios BF1942
Canada
Reputation: +1250
Registered: 2012-12-01
Posts: 3,761
Windows 10 Chrome 89.0

Re: New BF42 install is playable - freezes when changing screens and maps

Do PB screens work on Linux? I've always wondered.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#8 2021-03-20 16:40:53

simon
Flamer
Reputation: +345
Location: est'own'ya
Registered: 2014-08-13
Posts: 545
Android Chrome 86.0

Re: New BF42 install is playable - freezes when changing screens and maps

no idea

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#9 2021-03-20 18:33:06

Arkos
Sedmin
Switzerland
Reputation: +2490
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 6,304
Windows 7 Chrome 89.0

Re: New BF42 install is playable - freezes when changing screens and maps

...

> Do both screens have 800x600 support Resolution?

   If not, add a custom resolution 800x600


> Did you set under Compatibilty "Run as administrator" to "Blackscreen.exe" in the Gamefolder?

...

Btw. Perhaps it would be the right moment to copy this file to the Gamefolder to avoid forced vsync in Newest Windows 10 Builds)


(Solution from RaKleZ)

> https://team-simple.org/forum/viewtopic … 22#p165522

(But it works also, if you just put the D3D8.dll into gameFolder.)


Choose one of those D3d8.dll for your Windows Installation and put it in Battlefield 1942 Main Folder.


https://www.vogons.org/download/file.php?id=58667


(I do not know if it works also, if you install the Games in C:\ProgramFiles\Battlefield 1942\

Otherwise install Bf1942 into a new Folder like "C:\Games\Battlefield 1942)

...

Last edited by Arkos (2021-03-22 20:26:03)

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

#10 2021-03-22 13:57:25

lonewolf-mcquade
Player
United States
Reputation: +53
Location: A secure undisclosed location
Registered: 2015-08-23
Posts: 191
Website
Windows 10 Firefox 86.0

Re: New BF42 install is playable - freezes when changing screens and maps

Good ideas Arkos - thanks. I'll work my way through them. Both monitors (laptop and external) seem to support the resolution and it's the minimum on my graphics card. Freddy may be onto something, but his update didn't do it for my scenario. I'll work that list you came up with and see where it gets me. Thanks!

any other thoughts are appreciated. At least I can still play - it's just a little bumpy from map to map lol.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#11 2021-04-26 15:47:17

lonewolf-mcquade
Player
United States
Reputation: +53
Location: A secure undisclosed location
Registered: 2015-08-23
Posts: 191
Website
Windows 10 Firefox 88.0

Re: New BF42 install is playable - freezes when changing screens and maps

The V-Sync change didn't seem to help but here is what I have been able to figure out...

I can load-in to servers from a laptop reboot. (and another condition I'll describe later on.) Once i'm in-game, when the maps change, if I exit to menu, or if I'm disconnected for any reason, I get a blank screen. If I'm kicked for lag, or accidental TKs, anythign really, I don't see a message or next screen. Just black. it seems that when the video formatting changes from game-play, that's the crash scenario. Then, I have to execute a shortcut I created to taskkill the app to get back to the desktop. Here's what I've found though... to restart the game without rebooting my laptop, I can change the Intel Graphics "panel fit" options like this, and reload into another server session/map.

center Image
(refresh screen)
Maintain aspect Ratio
(refresh screen)
scale full screen

Then I relaunch the game and can join again. I'm thinking maybe I need to find a Microsoft generic adapter driver, or a driver only version from intel.. and remove Intel Graphics software. I've tried downgrading from 2019 to 2017 drivers and it didn't do much for me. any thoughts or experience with this headache is appreciated. Maybe I need to go fix my old gaming box after all and ditch this newer laptop.  roll

Last edited by lonewolf-mcquade (2021-04-26 15:51:05)

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#12 2021-04-26 20:29:00

Vertigo
Underpaid Admin
Reputation: +2267
Registered: 2015-12-20
Posts: 2,130
Windows 10 Firefox 88.0

Re: New BF42 install is playable - freezes when changing screens and maps

 
What a mess Lone.  I hope you get it sorted.

The game crashed a few weeks ago and left me with an inverted display.
This is an old nVidia card, Win10, and display port connection.

Rebooting did not resolve this problem, but switching to HDMI was fine.
I could then view display settings w/o standing on my head,
and figured it may be this "Landscape (flipped)" setting.

rotatedisplay.jpg

Plugged in the DP cable (still inverted), navigated to this setting and fixed it.
 

Offline

    Positive reputation 2   Negative reputation 0

#13 2021-05-19 18:49:44

bud
maestro
Reputation: +1779
Location: shangri la
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 3,778
Website
Windows 10 Firefox 88.0

Re: New BF42 install is playable - freezes when changing screens and maps

If you havent tried this already, you could try setting the game to windowed mode. When running in windowed mode there is a possibility to get a fault message when something goes wrong, in fullscreen mode the game just quits without any messages. You can edit this file with notepad or any .txt compatible software.

renderer.setFullScreen 0

-
mode1.jpg

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

#14 2021-06-08 17:50:34

lonewolf-mcquade
Player
United States
Reputation: +53
Location: A secure undisclosed location
Registered: 2015-08-23
Posts: 191
Website
Windows 10 Firefox 89.0

Re: New BF42 install is playable - freezes when changing screens and maps

BUD that seems to kinda work - the app doesn't crash out, but the windowed BF1942.exe pops out of maximized view and locates partially off screen with each map change. that said - it's NOT crashing anymore big_smile  Now it's easier for me to reload it for the next map. It's a PITA but definitely an improvement - thanks! Any other ideas? I'm all ears/eyes.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#15 2021-06-08 21:16:45

bud
maestro
Reputation: +1779
Location: shangri la
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 3,778
Website
Windows 10 Firefox 89.0

Re: New BF42 install is playable - freezes when changing screens and maps

There is programs to fix the location of the game windows that might work for this, one is called FreeSnap. I have it downloaded, but have yet to try it out.
-
freesnaphelp.png

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

Board footer