#1 2020-01-11 18:18:57

tuia
Racist
Portugal
Reputation: +923
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 6,064
Website
Linux Firefox 72.0

Moving to the Netherlands

New year, new server. smile

SiMPLE is moving BF1942 servers to a new dedicated server in Naaldwijk, the Netherlands. Server IP address is 194.88.105.25.

It is a more powerful server and most players will have a lower ping to the server.

So, what should you do?

Update your server list and look for *NEW* SiMPLE servers. After, add them to your favorites, if you wish, and delete the old ones. Join *NEW* SiMPLE servers and that's it.

You can also use these hostnames to connect, they will always resolve to the server IP address:

  • bf1942.team-simple.org

  • play.team-simple.org

What is your take on the new server in the Netherlands?

  1. Better
  2. Meh
  3. Worse
Total votes: 50

Poll is closed

Offline

    Positive reputation 16   Negative reputation 1

#2 2020-01-11 18:30:33

AlboBallist
Shiptar
Israel
Reputation: +373
Registered: 2019-08-12
Posts: 686
Ubuntu Firefox 71.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

Let's hope iCQ doesn't hack it tongue
Just joking... and about this, very nice Tuia smile.

Offline

    Positive reputation 2   Negative reputation 0

#3 2020-01-11 18:34:02

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: +4350
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 6,368
Website
Android Opera 55.2

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

Awesome. Thank you!

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

#4 2020-01-11 18:46:09

Zatoichi
Pro Gamer
Canada
Reputation: -57
Registered: 2012-05-29
Posts: 1,598
Windows 10 Chrome 79.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

So where is it?

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

#5 2020-01-11 18:53:45

PrinceOfPersia
Player
Iran
Reputation: +69
Location: Spain
Registered: 2019-02-21
Posts: 70
Windows 10 Chrome 79.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

Hi, thx for update.
Is the server up and playable now?
And is the port nr same?
I dont succes sad

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#6 2020-01-11 19:03:12

Goldie
Marshal Murat
Georgia
Reputation: +337
Registered: 2019-08-09
Posts: 928
Android Chrome 67.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

I believe my ping won't be the same smile

Last edited by Goldie (2020-01-11 19:03:36)

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#7 2020-01-11 19:03:19

ziba128
Member
Antarctica
Reputation: +361
Location: HoHa_MG42_PCO1
Registered: 2012-10-14
Posts: 1,185
Website
Windows 10 Firefox 72.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

Neither new nor old one works

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#8 2020-01-11 19:10:41

tuia
Racist
Portugal
Reputation: +923
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 6,064
Website
Linux Firefox 72.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

They are running now, but I am working on redirection at the moment.

Offline

    Positive reputation 4   Negative reputation 0

#9 2020-01-11 19:10:48

Zatoichi
Pro Gamer
Canada
Reputation: -57
Registered: 2012-05-29
Posts: 1,598
Windows 10 Chrome 79.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

ITS UUUUUUUUUUUP, GOOOOOOOOGOGOGOGOGOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Offline

    Positive reputation 2   Negative reputation 0

#10 2020-01-11 19:17:09

Goldie
Marshal Murat
Georgia
Reputation: +337
Registered: 2019-08-09
Posts: 928
Android Chrome 67.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

Come on iiiiiiiin free candy!

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#11 2020-01-11 19:33:48

jorgen
pure-blood
Norway
Reputation: +523
Location: north of tree line
Registered: 2019-11-03
Posts: 853
Website
Linux Firefox 48.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

i stayed at flying pig guesthouse in Naaldwijk. stayed there for a month waiting for visum to india. they had a ww2 reenactment there. nice place. nice ppl. might go for a holiday there for low ping some day

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

#12 2020-01-11 19:50:29

nämeless
Semi-corrupt admin
Russia
Reputation: +2500
Location: Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Registered: 2012-09-30
Posts: 9,496
Windows 8 Firefox 72.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

Is there any chance to set the new address on play.team-simple.fr?

P.S. Thank you Tuia for good news.

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

#13 2020-01-12 00:20:05

BFSoldier 1
Player
Reputation: +605
Registered: 2015-07-29
Posts: 1,419
Windows XP Firefox 52.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

as usual, well done tuia


im curious about :

- when the redirection will be turned off ?

- which worldstream server it is ?

- which cpu this new server has ?

- how much stronger/ faster (relative performance %) it is at running bf1942 as a server, than the paris one (was it an intel atom at around 2 ghz?) ?

- are there any plans to set more than 72 slots, now that the server is more powerful ?


im aware that it might not be beneficial to share some of this info publicly

Last edited by BFSoldier 1 (2020-01-12 00:34:16)

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

#14 2020-01-12 09:27:56

KIN
Soldier
Iran
Reputation: +348
Location: roiien
Registered: 2016-06-09
Posts: 390
Android Chrome 68.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

Last night I played in new server I had bad ping jump and bad reg and I feel I had some lags. But most players have lower ping esp 000.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#15 2020-01-12 09:32:43

Goldie
Marshal Murat
Georgia
Reputation: +337
Registered: 2019-08-09
Posts: 928
Android Chrome 67.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

Had 98 ping and lowered to 81 but still lags and no hits.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#16 2020-01-12 11:13:52

AlboBallist
Shiptar
Israel
Reputation: +373
Registered: 2019-08-12
Posts: 686
Android Chrome 76.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

Goldie wrote:

Had 98 ping and lowered to 81 but still lags and no hits.

And is totally not tuia's fault, or is it?

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

#17 2020-01-12 11:20:30

Sparrow
Player
Reputation: +756
Registered: 2017-01-02
Posts: 475
Windows 7 Opera 65.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

I have a reduced ping and the regs are fine for me, atleast my plane is not firing blanks now like before.

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 1

#18 2020-01-12 13:55:51

Goldie
Marshal Murat
Georgia
Reputation: +337
Registered: 2019-08-09
Posts: 928
Windows 7 Chrome 79.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

AlboBallist wrote:
Goldie wrote:

Had 98 ping and lowered to 81 but still lags and no hits.

And is totally not tuia's fault, or is it?

tuia doesn't care about me sad
he doesn't know me in person.

Last edited by Goldie (2020-01-12 13:59:47)

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#19 2020-01-12 14:57:18

tuia
Racist
Portugal
Reputation: +923
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 6,064
Website
Windows 7 Iron

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

Can you record a video of your gameplay? The problem can be on your side. One way to tell, is to play on different, but geographically close, servers, like SiMPLE, aX and Oz Wake. Do a blind test, if that is possible, and tell us if you notice any differences.

But, you are still connecting from old server IP address. You should update server list in BF1942 menu and look for *NEW* SiMPLE and add them to your favorites.

I read many contrasting opinions about the server, I just don't know what to follow.

Offline

    Positive reputation 2   Negative reputation 0

#20 2020-01-12 15:41:51

tuia
Racist
Portugal
Reputation: +923
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 6,064
Website
Windows 7 Iron

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

BFSoldier 1 wrote:

as usual, well done tuia


im curious about :

- when the redirection will be turned off ?

- which worldstream server it is ?

- which cpu this new server has ?

- how much stronger/ faster (relative performance %) it is at running bf1942 as a server, than the paris one (was it an intel atom at around 2 ghz?) ?

- are there any plans to set more than 72 slots, now that the server is more powerful ?


im aware that it might not be beneficial to share some of this info publicly

I don't know when redirection will be turned off, it depends on the players awareness that the server has changed to a different location, maybe in 1 to 2 months.

It is the Lenovo TS140 with Intel Xeon E3-1246 v3 CPU, plenty of processing power. The problem with the Paris server, which has an Intel Atom C2750, was that around 60 players the CPU was reaching maximum and struggling in some maps.

Offline

    Positive reputation 2   Negative reputation 0

#21 2020-01-12 23:26:47

KIN
Soldier
Iran
Reputation: +348
Location: roiien
Registered: 2016-06-09
Posts: 390
Android Chrome 68.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

Tuia can u make a vote about reg in new server?

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

#22 2020-01-12 23:41:58

tuia
Racist
Portugal
Reputation: +923
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 6,064
Website
Linux Firefox 72.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

Good idea! Added a poll to the first post.

Offline

    Positive reputation 2   Negative reputation 0

#23 2020-01-13 09:01:45

iCQ
Spammer
Netherlands
Reputation: +543
Location: Netherlands
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 1,967
Unknown Firefox 68.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

Zatoichi wrote:

So where is it?

Naaldwijk The Netherlands, by the sea side.

Great choice, i think tuia pays about 10 bucks per month for u guys to have a super stable game server and connection. Maybe more if he has some upgrades/extras.

I personally know that datacenter WorldStream, it is super close to the biggest euro sea-link backbone (surfnet) to England and the States. So u basically got a fiber going from your box directly into the sea backbone to the other continents. Can't get anything better than that for an international gaming server. This is truely the center of the world. Unlike japan or the states or whatever.

Any of u who will trace this server will see less hops than u would have seen to the old server in Paris, unless ur latino and live in Paris basically on top of the old simple server.

Albo, come on... if i would have wanted to hurt tuia or his work it would already be so. Yes tuia is not my best friend in the world. But once again he proves his loyalty to the community by going to this awesome new server. Talking about hacking, this one is very secure. I do hack criminals when they run and hide. When they abuse children online and dare me to (get them). I wont brake laws that easy...

Again, tuia most likely does not get it for free... so he is bleeding for you guys. Maybe he even spends more per month if he has chosen an extra packadge but i recon the 10 euro one is more than enough to run two or three bf servers each with 32 player slots.

If u people want to help tuia do a trace route on the command line to his new server ip.

Uuuh and if ur not such a nice person, or if u paranoid, or whatever not that tech smart remove the first hop with your ip or at least mark out the two last digits (mark away from subnet C).

Albo... im serious here.. its like being a cowboy.. we have respect for other cowboys. We do not shoot each other in the back. Tuia and also nameless and many others here are besides gamers also computer geeks. We tend to stand up for each other and we protect each other. But it doesnt mean we cant have a fight or argument. Doesnt mean we marry each other!

Tuia displayed some opinions in the past that triggered me.. that is my own problem. That he choose this Service Provider impresses me, he seems to make a lot of good choices.

Please Albo... be nice to tuia.. ah be nice to everybody (actually i give you back your own advise, lol, love ya man, take care all HAVE FUN)

gj & gl & hf tuia!!

my trace route and ping (7hops and 10ms)
IMG-20200113-081237.jpg

I not suppose to post here, but i felt the need to share my trace/ping so u guys can compare urs (im most close by this server of u all, nobody here will have lower ping, except maybe player HENK but i believe he just has a consumer level ziggo account which sucks).

Also i had to congratulate tuia and all u people with this wonderful new server (its awesome) and comment on naughty Albo. big_smile

BYE DEAR PEOPLE

(oh wait, sparrow ur a dick with ur buttmonkeys going on + and - karma vote spree on new members, u dickhead dont do that please, basically u steal my + votes i gave to people here for no valid reason) tongue

Last edited by iCQ (2020-01-13 09:54:23)

Offline

    Positive reputation 2   Negative reputation 0

#24 2020-01-13 23:46:32

iCQ
Spammer
Netherlands
Reputation: +543
Location: Netherlands
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 1,967
BeOS SeaMonkey 1.5

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

Previous trace was from Wifi mobile phone in NL.

This next ping is by my dutch win7pro LAN:
C:\Users\iCQ>tracert 194.88.105.25

Tracing route to team-simple.nl [194.88.105.25]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  www. [192.168.178.1]
  2     7 ms     6 ms     6 ms  lo0.dr14.d12.xs4all.net [194.109.5.218]
  3     7 ms     6 ms     5 ms  0.ae24.xr3.3d12.xs4all.net [194.109.7.125]
  4     6 ms     6 ms     6 ms  0.et-1-1-0.xr1.tc2.xs4all.net [194.109.5.7]
  5     7 ms     6 ms     7 ms  400g-amsix.ams1.worldstream.nl [80.249.210.37]
  6     7 ms     7 ms     8 ms  109.236.95.172
  7     8 ms     7 ms     8 ms  109.236.95.229
  8     8 ms     8 ms     7 ms  team-simple.nl [194.88.105.25]

Trace complete.

C:\Users\iCQ>tracert 194.88.105.25

Tracing route to team-simple.nl [194.88.105.25]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  www. [192.168.178.1]
  2     7 ms     7 ms     7 ms  lo0.dr14.d12.xs4all.net [194.109.5.218]
  3     6 ms     6 ms     5 ms  0.ae24.xr3.3d12.xs4all.net [194.109.7.125]
  4     6 ms     6 ms     6 ms  0.et-1-1-0.xr1.tc2.xs4all.net [194.109.5.7]
  5     7 ms     7 ms     7 ms  400g-amsix.ams1.worldstream.nl [80.249.210.37]
  6     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  109.236.95.172
  7     8 ms     8 ms     8 ms  109.236.95.229
  8     8 ms     8 ms     7 ms  team-simple.nl [194.88.105.25]

Trace complete.

C:\Users\iCQ>

So its 7 ~ 8 ms ping... wow... let me play a bit now

"D:\Battlefield 1942\BF1942.exe" +restart 1 +joinServer 194.88.105.25:14567


BACK... i confirm, i played a bit and it is SUPER tight... no lag or stutters what so ever.

Also i see across the board all players have lower ping (at least thats my feeling, am i right?).

Last edited by iCQ (2020-01-13 23:47:33)

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

#25 2020-01-14 03:56:34

Arkos
Sedmin
Switzerland
Reputation: +2445
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 6,168
Windows 7 Chrome 79.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

...

Not long ago i asked my Provider to reroute simple over Geneva.

Tomorrow i will call them again to tell them they shall send the bill to tuia.  smile

...

Last edited by Arkos (2020-01-14 15:48:32)

Offline

    Positive reputation 2   Negative reputation 0

#26 2020-01-14 17:19:22

nämeless
Semi-corrupt admin
Russia
Reputation: +2500
Location: Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Registered: 2012-09-30
Posts: 9,496
Android Chrome 79.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

The connection is much better now.

Offline

    Positive reputation 3   Negative reputation 0

#27 2020-01-14 17:55:35

petr8
don't leave
Reputation: +408
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 704
Fedora Firefox 72.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

Tuia, can you add a special announcements about the new server?

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#28 2020-01-14 18:13:34

jorgen
pure-blood
Norway
Reputation: +523
Location: north of tree line
Registered: 2019-11-03
Posts: 853
Website
Ubuntu Firefox 48.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

!update
this could run every half hour or so

Last edited by jorgen (2020-01-14 21:29:31)

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#29 2020-01-14 18:34:05

T-BONE
Shitposter
Canada
Reputation: -130
Registered: 2017-06-19
Posts: 328
Windows 7 Chrome 79.0

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

Terrible experience for me, slow, glitchy.

Offline

    Positive reputation 1   Negative reputation 0

#30 2020-01-14 23:12:01

iCQ
Spammer
Netherlands
Reputation: +543
Location: Netherlands
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 1,967
BeOS SeaMonkey 1.5

Re: Moving to the Netherlands

T-BONE wrote:

Terrible experience for me, slow, glitchy.

//troll-mode-ON:  you could always go back to troll the players in tetris buddy!

Oh im so funny today (not).

I post because i play hours on the new simple server, some findings:


1) jorgen pointed out many players still join the old server, UPDATE MOTD on old server AND tell all your friends

2) about 1 hour ago i noticed some lag spikes. A minute later i see an admin log into the server, that explains (not sure if it was tuia or nameless or other admin)

3) for the rest i not seen any missed regs or lag spikes or stutters

Last edited by iCQ (2020-01-14 23:27:35)

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

Board footer