#1 2019-10-04 16:39:37

Lecter
Member
Portugal
Reputation: 216
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 817
Windows 10 Firefox 69.0

High Ping - 400/500

Hi guys

Im trying to play on simple and ax server but my ping shows around 500 ping on both. I did a tracert and it shows this below. Any ideas whay may be wrong?


Capturar.png

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#2 2019-10-04 16:40:29

Lecter
Member
Portugal
Reputation: 216
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 817
Windows 10 Firefox 69.0

Re: High Ping - 400/500

The 3rd hop on both is always high (177/179)...is that normal too?

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#3 2019-10-04 16:56:36

ABAS
کس ننه نیملس
Iran
Reputation: 1356
Registered: 2015-12-10
Posts: 1,851
Website
Windows 2003 Chrome 57.0

Re: High Ping - 400/500

Thats old simple ip big_smile

Try to ping 3rd hob dedicatly and see how it is, better to use pingplotter, hiw ever server was trash , now its pure trash totally no hit reg

Last edited by ABAS (2019-10-04 16:58:19)


" Those are bullshit accusations and LL22 is indeed a noob hackusator and he is too emotional to judge clearly "

Tuia thoughts about best admin of server

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#4 2019-10-04 17:32:42

Lecter
Member
Portugal
Reputation: 216
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 817
Windows 10 Firefox 69.0

Re: High Ping - 400/500

Abas, the issue is that the ingame browser it says 450 ping on those servers before I try to connect and in game its 45 (feeling alot of lag, like moving in a swamp) but on tracert all seems well besides that 3rd hop...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#5 2019-10-04 19:38:33

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1568
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 4,236
Windows 7 Chrome 77.0

Re: High Ping - 400/500

...

Lecter, ... the Simple-Server IP is 163.172.13.221 and AX  > 94.23.196.155



...

Last edited by Arkos (2019-10-04 19:39:27)

Online

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#6 2019-10-04 22:07:56

Trench
Member
United States
Reputation: 75
Registered: 2014-05-05
Posts: 144
Windows 10 Chrome 77.0

Re: High Ping - 400/500

Lecter wrote:

Abas, the issue is that the ingame browser it says 450 ping on those servers before I try to connect and in game its 45 (feeling alot of lag, like moving in a swamp) but on tracert all seems well besides that 3rd hop...

That does seem to be the unusual part... your ISP service and network connection "look fine" and otherwise suggests you would indeed have only a 45ms ping.

If the ping is truly going up to 450ms once you're connected and trying to play, my first suspicion is that it's actually your computer which has suddenly become slow upon entering the game; and the network latency measurement is just one of multiple symptoms of this.  If the game itself is not causing some kind of 100% CPU usage on your system, maybe something else like the problems related to GameUX.dll.

Leaving a Command Prompt open ready to traceroute before you start the game, and then ALT-TAB out of game to check traceroute when the game is showing 450ms (without intentionally closing game) could help confirm this.  If the problem is "your computer", all the traceroute hops will now show 350ms+ latency, because the latency measure will already be slow "even on the very first hop outside your own computer."

Lecter wrote:

3  177ms  8ms   7ms   10.137.200.17

I wouldn't read too much into that.  It's saying out of three samples taken from this route (i.e. three separate ICMP Time To Live Expiration messages), the first one took 177ms but the subsequent ones were blazingly fast as expected for only being three hops away from your home.

Because the subsequent hops after this one are "fast" (12ms, 24ms, 25ms, 26ms), this is proof "the hop 3 router isn't actually slow."  Because the traffic to test all of those subsequent hops has to pass through the hop 3 router.  If the hop 3 router was truly sick and adding 170ms+ ping, every subsequent hop would have been shown with a ping over 170ms.  But they don't.

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#7 2019-10-04 23:29:34

Lecter
Member
Portugal
Reputation: 216
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 817
Windows 10 Firefox 69.0

Re: High Ping - 400/500

Thank you Trench

I did everything you said. This is what happens:

Capturar.png


Before game:

teste.jpg

During game:

2.jpg



Really weird....

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#8 2019-10-04 23:30:58

Lecter
Member
Portugal
Reputation: 216
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 817
Windows 10 Firefox 69.0

Re: High Ping - 400/500

Game only taking 30% CPU too.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#9 2019-10-05 00:57:07

Trench
Member
United States
Reputation: 75
Registered: 2014-05-05
Posts: 144
Windows 10 Chrome 77.0

Re: High Ping - 400/500

I was wrongly thinking of the scoreboard when you said "in-game browser".  Yes, having such a significant ping difference between the multiplayer server browser and the actual in-game ping is additionally unusual.

One thing I can't rule out from the screen shots is that the in-game ping was actually 450 rather than 45.  The ping being 450ms would be more consistent with the 350 shown prior to connecting, and would also be consistent with "it plays very poorly."  Unfortunately I think the only way to definitely know the actual ping is from server tools.

It definitely can be something in your ISP or further out into the network which is slowing this traffic down.  Ping and traceroute give us a sense of "how fast is the communication to a particular physical box over ICMP ports", but doesn't actually exercise "how fast will communication be over port 23000 or 14568 to those same physical hosts."

Does AX allow VPNs?  Just thinking that could be a an alternative to test and see whether bypassing having port 23000 and 14568 traffic directly to and from your computer (and instead having the firewalls and ISP networks only see VPN traffic instead of port 23000 and 14568 traffic) changes anything about what you're seeing.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#10 2019-10-05 03:06:12

iCQ
Spammer
Reputation: 409
Location: www.SPCL.tk
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 1,456
Website
Unknown Firefox 68.0

Re: High Ping - 400/500

Ey Lecter, i was thinking... other games play fine? Did u try enable a hotspot on your phone and try with that connection? Or join wifi of neighbours for a second to see.if it is ur system or if it is your connection.

Since u are on windows 10 did u check advanced view of your taskman? See anything that is using more bandwidth?

Did u try netstat? Anything changed or installed lately?

We network specialists have a golden rule, if nothing has really changed on the system it is 9 of the 10 times something with the cables or connectors. Are they clean and plugged in correctly? Any animal in the house who might have eaten your network cables?

Last edited by iCQ (2019-10-05 03:16:58)


bf_sig.gif

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#11 2019-10-05 03:17:03

iCQ
Spammer
Reputation: 409
Location: www.SPCL.tk
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 1,456
Website
Windows 7 Opera 63.0

Re: High Ping - 400/500

Try this one on your PC and on a mobile device to see if u can spot anything:
www.speedtest.net or such like. (best try the speed test ur ISP advises)

To me this feels like a windows problem or a cable problem...

Any other strange things going on with ur pc lately? Did u try close all programs or software bfor u start the game? Anything maybe updating or recording? Virus scanners? Pop-ups... other resident software?

I agree with Trench... your ping ingame might be 440 (too large number to display).


bf_sig.gif

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#12 2019-10-05 13:39:33

ABAS
کس ننه نیملس
Iran
Reputation: 1356
Registered: 2015-12-10
Posts: 1,851
Website
Windows 2003 Chrome 57.0

Re: High Ping - 400/500

http://team-simple.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=6433

I had same problem as you but it got fixed after few days, ( ISP ) side , there is nothing wrong with your pc , can you change your dns and see if it is still same?


" Those are bullshit accusations and LL22 is indeed a noob hackusator and he is too emotional to judge clearly "

Tuia thoughts about best admin of server

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#13 2019-10-05 14:00:57

Sparrow
Player
Macedonia
Reputation: 263
Location: Македонија
Registered: 2017-01-02
Posts: 159
Website
Windows 7 Opera 63.0

Re: High Ping - 400/500

I'm having the same problem since i switched to new ISP.  When I click on refresh (in-game browser servers), it always shows a ping of 120 ms. (simple-fra)

But in-game my ping is 63 to 71 max.  And even stranger thing is when i refresh too fast, certain servers get ''stuck'' and they display a ping of 9999 ms. And when i try to connect when that happens, the server kicks me out.

Because of this strange effect, i always have problem with leading the target. My ping is usually 65 (simple-fra) and i have to lead like i have a ping of 150 or something like that. I've never had these problems with the previous ISP.


ⰜⰅⰎⰕⰀ    ⰐⰀ ⰀⰓⰃⰖⰏⰅⰐⰕⰑⰕ Ⰵ ⰄⰀ ⰔⰅ ⰑⰕⰍⰓⰋⰅ ⰂⰋⰔⰕⰋⰐⰀⰕⰀ, Ⰰ ⰐⰅ ⰄⰀ ⰔⰅ ⰍⰓⰅⰋⰓⰀ.

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#14 2019-10-05 17:16:49

bud
.
Reputation: 1092
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 3,060
Website
Windows 10 Firefox 69.0

Re: High Ping - 400/500

Sparrow wrote:

And even stranger thing is when i refresh too fast, certain servers get ''stuck'' and they display a ping of 9999 ms.

Its usually some filter to stop attacks like "Ping of Death" (POD).  ssk is a wizard with that stuff, i just use a simple firewall rule


172.245.186.156:14567.png37.187.19.136:14568.png

"He who forgets oil shall summon the rods"

*-Compression 8.7:1

Offline

    +2   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#15 2019-10-08 01:07:04

iCQ
Spammer
Reputation: 409
Location: www.SPCL.tk
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 1,456
Website
Windows 7 Vivaldi 2.4

Re: High Ping - 400/500

bud wrote:
Sparrow wrote:

And even stranger thing is when i refresh too fast, certain servers get ''stuck'' and they display a ping of 9999 ms.

Its usually some filter to stop attacks like "Ping of Death" (POD).  ssk is a wizard with that stuff, i just use a simple firewall rule

True, i have the same issue, a few refreshes and everything is normal.

Sad such protection is needed... but really nice ssk "fixed" that for us on the new master server.

Last edited by iCQ (2019-10-08 01:08:53)


bf_sig.gif

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

Board footer