#1 2013-03-23 17:38:14

ziba128
Member
Reputation: +463
Location: EaglesNest_Safe
Registered: 2012-10-14
Posts: 1,270
Website

BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

I've made a new version of widescreen + 128 bots patch (more info later) and need your help guys with testing it. Please download it and follow the instructions inside. Post the results here. Thanks in advance.
http://yadi.sk/d/tmrCTs4z3UI-A

Last edited by ziba128 (2013-03-23 17:38:31)

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 1

#2 2013-03-23 17:57:02

tuia
BFSoldier
Portugal
Reputation: +1072
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 6,304
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

What did you change in Game.rfa and menu_001.rfa?

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#3 2013-03-23 18:00:07

ziba128
Member
Reputation: +463
Location: EaglesNest_Safe
Registered: 2012-10-14
Posts: 1,270
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

tuia wrote:

What did you change in Game.rfa and menu_001.rfa?

Game.rfa - max bots number increased to 128
menu_001.rfa - changed menu file to be able to put 128 in "max players" text field.

Last edited by ziba128 (2013-03-23 18:00:43)

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 1

#4 2013-03-23 18:09:11

tuia
BFSoldier
Portugal
Reputation: +1072
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 6,304
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

Nice. So, you think you can create custom resolutions in the Video menu? If you can do that, it would help using widescreen resolutions (1920x1080), with the widescreen fix in BF1942.exe.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#5 2013-03-23 19:13:02

ziba128
Member
Reputation: +463
Location: EaglesNest_Safe
Registered: 2012-10-14
Posts: 1,270
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

tuia wrote:

Nice. So, you think you can create custom resolutions in the Video menu? If you can do that, it would help using widescreen resolutions (1920x1080), with the widescreen fix in BF1942.exe.

We've discussed it already on bfmods.com forum smile

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#6 2013-03-23 19:46:14

tuia
BFSoldier
Portugal
Reputation: +1072
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 6,304
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

Ah okay. smile Some other questions about other changes you made in BF1942.exe:
Why have you NOP'd the jp instruction at 0x002B0909 offset? And starting at 0x002B1143 offset, changes from 0x320 to 0x400 and 0x258 to 0x300?

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#7 2013-03-23 20:11:11

ziba128
Member
Reputation: +463
Location: EaglesNest_Safe
Registered: 2012-10-14
Posts: 1,270
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

tuia wrote:

Ah okay. smile Some other questions about other changes you made in BF1942.exe:
Why have you NOP'd the jp instruction at 0x002B0909 offset? And starting at 0x002B1143 offset, changes from 0x320 to 0x400 and 0x258 to 0x300?

I didn't want to tell anything about the changes in it until enough people test it but you make me to do it big_smile I changed that to increase menu resolution from 800x600 to 1024x768. The author of this find is unexpectedpanda from bfmods smile

Last edited by ziba128 (2013-03-23 20:20:02)

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#8 2013-03-23 21:02:29

tuia
BFSoldier
Portugal
Reputation: +1072
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 6,304
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

Great work! I had fun killing bots in Berlin and Stalingrad. 1 expack 15 kills. smile It's always 128 bots, when changing maps.
I have not tested connecting to a PunkBuster server yet, to see if there is an invalid memory check kick with this changed BF1942.exe. I'm guessing it won't, because the changes are probably not in PunkBuster BF1942 memory scan ranges.
The increase in menu resolution to 1024x768 is not noticed if you run BF1942 in fullscreen, right?

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#9 2013-03-23 21:06:28

Kobra
Member
Germany
Reputation: +179
Registered: 2012-12-01
Posts: 868

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

u guys think it would be possible to enlarge the view distance, server-side?

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#10 2013-03-23 21:29:46

ziba128
Member
Reputation: +463
Location: EaglesNest_Safe
Registered: 2012-10-14
Posts: 1,270
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

tuia wrote:

Great work! I had fun killing bots in Berlin and Stalingrad. 1 expack 15 kills. smile It's always 128 bots, when changing maps.
I have not tested connecting to a PunkBuster server yet, to see if there is an invalid memory check kick with this changed BF1942.exe. I'm guessing it won't, because the changes are probably not in PunkBuster BF1942 memory scan ranges.
The increase in menu resolution to 1024x768 is not noticed if you run BF1942 in fullscreen, right?

Thanks! Yeah, you can feel like a king with 128 bots smile)
It's interesting that menu looks slightly better in fullscreen mode even on my 1920x1080 monitor. The font got nicer for me. It's possible to increase the resolution to Full HD and even more but if the monitor doesn't support such high resolution, menu will be blurred at the start.

Kobra wrote:

u guys think it would be possible to enlarge the view distance, server-side?

Not sure if it's possible.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#11 2013-03-24 08:12:16

Minnesota
Member
Ukraine
Reputation: +15
Registered: 2012-12-12
Posts: 457

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

sunny-штаны wrote:

I've made a new version of widescreen + 128 bots patch (more info later) and need your help guys with testing it. Please download it and follow the instructions inside. Post the results here. Thanks in advance.
http://yadi.sk/d/tmrCTs4z3UI-A

Сделал бы в документе еще и русский перевод, а то мой Google переводчик не понимает того, что ты хочешь. smile

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#12 2013-03-24 08:40:01

ziba128
Member
Reputation: +463
Location: EaglesNest_Safe
Registered: 2012-10-14
Posts: 1,270
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

Minnesota wrote:
sunny-штаны wrote:

I've made a new version of widescreen + 128 bots patch (more info later) and need your help guys with testing it. Please download it and follow the instructions inside. Post the results here. Thanks in advance.
http://yadi.sk/d/tmrCTs4z3UI-A

Сделал бы в документе еще и русский перевод, а то мой Google переводчик не понимает того, что ты хочешь. smile

1. Сделай бэкап файлов по списку.
2. Скопируй новые из архива в папку Battlefield 1942.
3. Попробуй поподключаться к серверам.
4. Выбери как минимум 2 карты в режиме ко-оп, выставь 128 игроков (в меню "создать игру") и запусти. После того, как ты убедишься, что на первой карте 128 ботов, запускай следующую (проголосовав за неё или с помощью admin.runNextLevel) и проверь, что на ней также 128. О результатах напиши сюда smile

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#13 2013-03-24 13:08:55

Minnesota
Member
Ukraine
Reputation: +15
Registered: 2012-12-12
Posts: 457

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

sunny-штаны wrote:

1. Сделай бэкап файлов по списку.
2. Скопируй новые из архива в папку Battlefield 1942.
3. Попробуй поподключаться к серверам.
4. Выбери как минимум 2 карты в режиме ко-оп, выставь 128 игроков (в меню "создать игру") и запусти. После того, как ты убедишься, что на первой карте 128 ботов, запускай следующую (проголосовав за неё или с помощью admin.runNextLevel) и проверь, что на ней также 128. О результатах напиши сюда smile

По поводу бэкапа.
Это надо где-то заменить, или как?
1. Make a backup of your files:
...Battlefield 1942\BF1942.exe
...Battlefield 1942\BF1942.org
...Battlefield 1942\Mods\BF1942\Mod.DLL
...Battlefield 1942\Mods\BF1942\Archives\BF1942\Game.rfa
...Battlefield 1942\Mods\XPack1\Mod.DLL
...Battlefield 1942\Mods\XPack2\Mod.DLL

Last edited by Minnesota (2013-03-24 13:09:35)

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#14 2013-03-24 13:25:38

tuia
BFSoldier
Portugal
Reputation: +1072
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 6,304
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

I've noticed now, your BF1942.exe has unlocked the resolutions in the Video Display Mode box, it's probably due to those NOPs at 0x002B0909 offset. smile Well done! It's a great release, finally BF1942 was hacked to support for true widescreen resolution without having to edit Video.con, setting it read-only and having to adjust field of view, the horizontal stretch solution described here: http://www.widescreengaming.net/wiki/Battlefield_1942.

Locked resolutions (4:3 aspect ratio only):
5139768videodisp_locked.png

Unlocked resolutions with BF1942.exe (MD5 44F2D35EA6D8B72D7B3356D9B6568D85):
2449310videodisp_unlocked.png

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#15 2013-03-24 13:35:17

tuia
BFSoldier
Portugal
Reputation: +1072
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 6,304
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

Kobra wrote:

u guys think it would be possible to enlarge the view distance, server-side?

I think you can remove some of the fog, increase the view distance, server-side, by changing some values in the map's Init.con file. Not sure, never tried.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#16 2013-03-24 13:45:26

nämeless
Semi-corrupt admin
Russia
Reputation: +2598
Location: Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Registered: 2012-09-30
Posts: 9,767

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

Minnesota wrote:
sunny-штаны wrote:

1. Сделай бэкап файлов по списку.
2. Скопируй новые из архива в папку Battlefield 1942.
3. Попробуй поподключаться к серверам.
4. Выбери как минимум 2 карты в режиме ко-оп, выставь 128 игроков (в меню "создать игру") и запусти. После того, как ты убедишься, что на первой карте 128 ботов, запускай следующую (проголосовав за неё или с помощью admin.runNextLevel) и проверь, что на ней также 128. О результатах напиши сюда smile

По поводу бэкапа.
Это надо где-то заменить, или как?
1. Make a backup of your files:
...Battlefield 1942\BF1942.exe
...Battlefield 1942\BF1942.org
...Battlefield 1942\Mods\BF1942\Mod.DLL
...Battlefield 1942\Mods\BF1942\Archives\BF1942\Game.rfa
...Battlefield 1942\Mods\XPack1\Mod.DLL
...Battlefield 1942\Mods\XPack2\Mod.DLL

Rename these files.

...Battlefield 1942\BF1942.exe.original
...Battlefield 1942\BF1942.org.original
...Battlefield 1942\Mods\BF1942\Mod.DLL.original
...Battlefield 1942\Mods\BF1942\Archives\BF1942\Game.rfa.original
...Battlefield 1942\Mods\XPack1\Mod.DLL.original
...Battlefield 1942\Mods\XPack2\Mod.DL.original

Last edited by nämeless (2013-03-24 13:45:51)

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#17 2013-03-24 13:48:32

tuia
BFSoldier
Portugal
Reputation: +1072
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 6,304
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

I have found this website http://www.wsgf.org/dr/battlefield-1942 with some nice screenshots of BF1942 in widescreen.
The BF1942.exe inside BF1942_16_10_9.7z package is the same as yours, except the in-game menu increase hack to 1024x768. Was it you or unexpectedpanda that created it? It is missing the BF1942.org in that package, though.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#18 2013-03-24 14:03:38

ziba128
Member
Reputation: +463
Location: EaglesNest_Safe
Registered: 2012-10-14
Posts: 1,270
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

Minnesota wrote:

По поводу бэкапа.

Это надо где-то заменить, или как?

Нужно просто как-нибудь переименовать эти файлы (например, Mod.DLLbackup) и скопировать на их место новые из архива.

tuia wrote:

I've noticed now, your BF1942.exe has unlocked the resolutions in the Video Display Mode box, it's probably due to those NOPs at 0x002B0909 offset. smile Well done! It's a great release, finally BF1942 was hacked to support for widescreen resolution without having to edit Video.con, setting it read-only and having to adjust field of view.



Locked resolutions:

http://s1.bild.me/bilder/150113/5139768 … locked.png



Unlocked resolutions with BF1942.exe (MD5 44F2D35EA6D8B72D7B3356D9B6568D85):

http://s1.bild.me/bilder/150113/2449310 … locked.png

Nasty tuia! tongue
Yes, it supports all typical resolutions including widescreen (even 1920x1080) and allows to set them right in the game menu. But note that it wasn't me who made it. I just took the executable from here http://www.wsgf.org/dr/battlefield-1942, increased max players number to 128 and menu resolution to 1024x768. unexpectedpanda made that executable known and did a great work exploring menu resolution.

Last edited by ziba128 (2013-03-24 14:14:27)

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#19 2013-03-24 14:08:00

ziba128
Member
Reputation: +463
Location: EaglesNest_Safe
Registered: 2012-10-14
Posts: 1,270
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

tuia wrote:

I have found this website http://www.wsgf.org/dr/battlefield-1942 with some nice screenshots of BF1942 in widescreen.
The BF1942.exe inside BF1942_16_10_9.7z package is the same as yours, except the in-game menu increase hack to 1024x768. Was it you or unexpectedpanda that created it? It is missing the BF1942.org in that package, though.

Didn't notice your post because I was typing smile
I decided to include .org file in archive to prevent problems with it. But I'm not sure if it's needed.

Last edited by ziba128 (2013-03-24 14:11:22)

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#20 2013-03-24 14:09:56

tuia
BFSoldier
Portugal
Reputation: +1072
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 6,304
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

Ok. I'm going to contact them so they can fix the package to include BF1942.org file. What changes have you made in Game.rfa file?

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#21 2013-03-24 14:19:44

tuia
BFSoldier
Portugal
Reputation: +1072
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 6,304
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

sunny-штаны wrote:

I decided to include .org file in archive to prevent problems with it. But I'm not sure if it's needed.

BF1942.org is needed because hacked BF1942.exe redirects the executable CRC checksum to BF1942.org, which is the original untouched file. Then this checksum is used when connecting to a server, the server compares if the client executable checksum sent is the same as stored in the server, which is the original file checksum. If it's not it shows the Data Differs From Server error message. It's an anti-hacking measure, but it was pointless from the beginning since you can hack BF1942.exe in memory after you connect to a server, that's what all cheats do. Probably, it was intended as an anti-piracy (copy protection) mechanism.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#22 2013-03-24 14:38:39

ziba128
Member
Reputation: +463
Location: EaglesNest_Safe
Registered: 2012-10-14
Posts: 1,270
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

tuia wrote:

What changes have you made in Game.rfa file?

I edited Create Game menu file to increase maximum allowed number of players setting.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#23 2013-03-24 14:51:37

tuia
BFSoldier
Portugal
Reputation: +1072
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 6,304
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

sunny-штаны wrote:
tuia wrote:

What changes have you made in Game.rfa file?

I edited Create Game menu file to increase maximum allowed number of players setting.

I've seen that in menu_001.rfa file, but I can't see what .con file or other file you changed in Game.rfa. Am I missing something?

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#24 2013-03-24 14:52:51

tuia
BFSoldier
Portugal
Reputation: +1072
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 6,304
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

Ah... probably this in AIDefault.con:

aiSettings.setMaxNBots 128

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#25 2013-03-24 14:55:26

tuia
BFSoldier
Portugal
Reputation: +1072
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 6,304
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

If you're going to edit Game.rfa, you can also skip the .bik movies from DICE and EA at Startup.con. For example:

rem *** Play EA logo without interuption.
rem renderer.playBink Movies/ea.bik 1000.0
rem renderer.playBink Movies/Dice.bik 5.0
renderer.playBink Movies/Intro.bik 1.0
rem renderer.playBink Movies/legal.bik 3.0

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#26 2013-03-24 17:56:22

ziba128
Member
Reputation: +463
Location: EaglesNest_Safe
Registered: 2012-10-14
Posts: 1,270
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

tuia wrote:

I've seen that in menu_001.rfa file, but I can't see what .con file or other file you changed in Game.rfa. Am I missing something?

No, sorry, I confused it, thought you were asking about menu_001.rfa, don't know why hmm

tuia wrote:

If you're going to edit Game.rfa, you can also skip the .bik movies from DICE and EA at Startup.con. For example:



rem *** Play EA logo without interuption.

rem renderer.playBink Movies/ea.bik 1000.0

rem renderer.playBink Movies/Dice.bik 5.0

renderer.playBink Movies/Intro.bik 1.0

rem renderer.playBink Movies/legal.bik 3.0

Yeah, but this game.rfa file is intended for my mod, so those movies don't play at its start by default smile

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#27 2013-03-25 00:27:27

Wedge
Player
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2013-02-16
Posts: 10

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

tuia wrote:

I've noticed now, your BF1942.exe has unlocked the resolutions in the Video Display Mode box, it's probably due to those NOPs at 0x002B0909 offset. smile Well done! It's a great release, finally BF1942 was hacked to support for true widescreen resolution without having to edit Video.con, setting it read-only and having to adjust field of view, the horizontal stretch solution described here: http://www.widescreengaming.net/wiki/Battlefield_1942.

In terms of the final in game visual result, does this modified exe file produce anything different from manually editing the video.con file?

I've manually edited the files to get 1920x1080 and changed field of view to 1.333. Initially I found this quite funky to play with, particularly flying...bombing was really strange. I've got used to it now but if i was bad at bombing before i'm hopeless now.

Last edited by Wedge (2013-03-25 00:28:46)

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#28 2013-03-25 00:31:33

Black Mamba
Member
Canada
Reputation: +1448
Registered: 2012-12-01
Posts: 4,233

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

tuia wrote:
Kobra wrote:

u guys think it would be possible to enlarge the view distance, server-side?

I think you can remove some of the fog, increase the view distance, server-side, by changing some values in the map's Init.con file. Not sure, never tried.

Any graphical change will not be supported server side if If I'm not mistaken...

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#29 2013-03-26 00:25:47

tuia
BFSoldier
Portugal
Reputation: +1072
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 6,304
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

Wedge wrote:

In terms of the final in game visual result, does this modified exe file produce anything different from manually editing the video.con file?

I've manually edited the files to get 1920x1080 and changed field of view to 1.333. Initially I found this quite funky to play with, particularly flying...bombing was really strange. I've got used to it now but if i was bad at bombing before i'm hopeless now.

The difference is significant for wider resolutions. If you don't use the modified executable, any resolution with aspect ratio higher than 4:3 you place in Video.con file will be horizontally stretched. You can see the difference in Battlefield Vietnam Widescreen Screenshots, which are horizontally stretched, and Battlefield 1942 Widescreen Screenshots, which use a hacked executable. Compare Eyefinity screenshots of both games.

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

#30 2013-03-27 12:40:37

kobra4fun
Member
Serbia
Reputation: +1
Location: Subotica, AP Vojvodina, Serbia
Registered: 2013-03-07
Posts: 518
Website

Re: BF1942 widescreen + 128 bots patch updated

Great job sunny! I can finally play in 1920x1080.

Thank you man!

Offline

    Positive reputation 0   Negative reputation 0

Board footer