#61 2018-12-16 15:39:01

bud
puppet
Reputation: 888
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 2,854
Website
Windows 7 Firefox 64.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

Looks like prices are falling on ssd-drives, i havent followed the development for a while, but i think it may be that 3D NAND is getting more mature.


144.202.13.8:14567.png

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#62 2018-12-16 16:54:46

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1152
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,460
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

...

The Samsung, (860 Evo at least), have an issue with AMD Sata Driver, at least on older chipsets. AMD 6xx-9xx. (Or let's say AMD fricked it up.)

Samsung support couldn't solve this and said i can send it back. (DataLoss due cloning on SSD and as SystemDisk > Freezes.)

But yesterday i saw also someone, who had problems with an MX500 1TB. (DataLoss while cloning on a X370 Chipset).

The solution is in both cases to use MsAhci Driver on Windows 7, (don't install AMD SATA Driver or deinstall it completly and restart PC and use MsAhci from Windows itself.

On Windows 8 + 10  it's the StorAhci Driver you should use. Don't even install the AMD SATA Driver or deinstall it completly and use StorAhci from within Windows.

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-12-16 16:56:35)

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#63 2018-12-16 17:30:51

Vertigo
 
Reputation: 294
Registered: 2015-12-20
Posts: 555
Windows 10 Firefox 64.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

Arkos wrote:

...

Hehe, there you see where it ends, when i start talking and nobody stops me smile

...

That was the "short" answer that she asked for?  Imagine what a "detailed" answer would look like wink

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#64 2018-12-16 17:39:54

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 1865
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 4,065
Website
Android Opera 49.1

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

I got a free SSD upgrade when I got my new laptop last year. It's incredibly fast. Many were suggesting it and said it would be a huge performance boost for some of the software we use. Yup!


Crazy is as crazy does, and this crazy is getting shit done.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#65 2018-12-16 17:41:40

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 1865
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 4,065
Website
Android Opera 49.1

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

jime1 wrote:

Ahh..
SDIO is supposed to have the best detection algorithm, kindly give it a try.
You can try it simultaneously with TweakBit and compare the detection.
Create a restore point first, just as a preventive measure.
Sometimes Windows updates also include drivers, see if it detects for your system.

It asks me to download the entire driver pack. It was like 19 gigs or something.


Crazy is as crazy does, and this crazy is getting shit done.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#66 2018-12-16 17:52:34

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1152
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,460
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

...

Löl 19Gigs off Drivers... forget that.

...

Mostly it's the best to buy an ssd yourself for an upgrade. Like this you don't get a Pseudo SSD.

But anyway. Any SSD gives a huge performanceboost on old PC's and Laptops.

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-12-16 17:53:48)

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#67 2018-12-16 23:24:51

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1152
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,460
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

...

This TechTalk is tiring.


Here some Gameplay of Alien Breed.

Btw. I bought the trilogy long time ago in steam, but i was too lazy to install it, so i use some special version here.


Alien Breed Inpact some minutes Gameplay. 


> First set quality to 1440P


https://youtu.be/DAzTZf-1LuE

...

Normally you have to search lockers and bodies on your way, and also search for hidden areas, but in this video i go only a long way back from a place where i had something to activate/repair.

I picked up everything before.

It's really funny to play.

Due Christmas Sales on Steam, you can buy all 3 Alien Breed Episodes for just some $, i guess.

Alien Breed Trilogy

Or here for just some small money > https://www.keyforsteam.de/alien-breed- … vergleich/

...

Perhaps it looks simple, but i promise, they will hunt you down. I just know the different types of aliens and how to kill them with the lowest price of ammo. There are stronger weapons, but i save them for later.


One Tipp:

> Don't let them attack you from 2 sides or more.

> Kill those little beasts fast, (otherwise they make you bleed), with melee or pistol, (unlimited ammo).

> Save Ammo and don't buy ammo, sell grenades and put the money in "Weapon Damage Upgrades" and "Medic Stimulation". Sell also small medikits, but buy "Hardened Armor", if available.

> Search everywhere for goodies and save the game, as far it's possible.

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-12-17 01:03:22)

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#68 2018-12-17 09:33:57

jime1
Player
Reputation: 102
Registered: 2016-11-23
Posts: 272
Windows 7 Firefox 62.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

Sunshine wrote:
jime1 wrote:

Ahh..
SDIO is supposed to have the best detection algorithm, kindly give it a try.
You can try it simultaneously with TweakBit and compare the detection.
Create a restore point first, just as a preventive measure.
Sometimes Windows updates also include drivers, see if it detects for your system.

It asks me to download the entire driver pack. It was like 19 gigs or something.

WTF !! SDIO ? Seriously ??!!
Wait I am on an older version, let me check the latest one now..


A.K.A. theaxisteam   A.K.A. theaxiscream  A.K.A. idli_sambaar
A.K.A. Every_One

banner8.gif

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#69 2018-12-17 09:45:45

jime1
Player
Reputation: 102
Registered: 2016-11-23
Posts: 272
Windows 7 Firefox 62.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

Sunshine wrote:
jime1 wrote:

Ahh..
SDIO is supposed to have the best detection algorithm, kindly give it a try.
You can try it simultaneously with TweakBit and compare the detection.
Create a restore point first, just as a preventive measure.
Sometimes Windows updates also include drivers, see if it detects for your system.

It asks me to download the entire driver pack. It was like 19 gigs or something.

Got it ! You have to click the last button "Index only".
Change theme to Dark. In options select  "Show driver pack name on right" radio button, OK.
Okay, let me know what happens..


A.K.A. theaxisteam   A.K.A. theaxiscream  A.K.A. idli_sambaar
A.K.A. Every_One

banner8.gif

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#70 2018-12-17 11:26:22

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1152
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,460
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

jime1 wrote:

Okay, let me know what happens..

...

(Click)... Sunshine... hello, ... Sunshine .... Sunshine?!?


Image BBCode test



Sunshiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiine!!!!

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-12-17 21:45:02)

Offline

    +3   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#71 2018-12-17 14:02:47

iCQ
Player
Netherlands
Reputation: 202
Location: ❤️Amsterdam❤️
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 807
Website
Ubuntu Firefox 64.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

Arkos wrote:

...

This TechTalk is tiring.


Here some Gameplay of Alien Breed.

Btw. I bought the trilogy long time ago in steam, but i was too lazy to install it, so i use some special version here.


Alien Breed Inpact some minutes Gameplay. 


> First set quality to 1440P


https://youtu.be/DAzTZf-1LuE

...

OH MAN wow cool thanks for the share! I am not going to try the 1440p here... i go see if i can find this game in the shops around here! I could use some cool single player sci-fi fun wink

Arkos wrote:

Mostly it's the best to buy an ssd yourself for an upgrade. Like this you don't get a Pseudo SSD.

But anyway. Any SSD gives a huge performanceboost on old PC's and Laptops.

So true.. i brought back alive so many pc's with an SSD smile

Last edited by iCQ (2018-12-17 14:04:14)


A Special Take on things, for you! @ www.SPLC.tk
b_560_95_1.png
Maybe those tk-ing and trolling f-tards do not realize this game is old, fragile and GAMES DO DIE.
Report suspected cheaters also here!

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#72 2018-12-17 14:08:12

iCQ
Player
Netherlands
Reputation: 202
Location: ❤️Amsterdam❤️
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 807
Website
Ubuntu Firefox 64.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

Sunshine wrote:
jime1 wrote:

Ahh..
SDIO is supposed to have the best detection algorithm, kindly give it a try.
You can try it simultaneously with TweakBit and compare the detection.
Create a restore point first, just as a preventive measure.
Sometimes Windows updates also include drivers, see if it detects for your system.

It asks me to download the entire driver pack. It was like 19 gigs or something.

Oh my god.. uuh... not a good plan in her case... 19gigs of driver pack? WTF.... why would u want to have all the ms drivers in the world on your little pc? wink dont fix it if it aint broken... testing hardware you do in linux seriously (except for some GPU cards, still most ATI and NVIDIA is supported)

Last edited by iCQ (2018-12-17 14:09:50)


A Special Take on things, for you! @ www.SPLC.tk
b_560_95_1.png
Maybe those tk-ing and trolling f-tards do not realize this game is old, fragile and GAMES DO DIE.
Report suspected cheaters also here!

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#73 2018-12-17 16:25:45

joint
Член
Ukraine
Reputation: 540
Location: Dnepropetrovsk, Ukraine
Registered: 2012-05-24
Posts: 4,648
Android Chrome 70.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

CFosSpeed - nice soft for network driver tuning. speed, latency etc.. friendly interface, no need to be a nerd to use it. I think its free.
Ok It isnt free, but there are a lot of a "jolly roger" links! smile

Last edited by joint (2018-12-17 16:31:25)

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#74 2018-12-17 17:37:10

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1152
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,460
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

...

I have CFosSpeed included in my AsRock Mobo's

Deactivated it some time ago.

...

@ICQ

Just search in the Internet for > Alien Breed Trilogy steam key.

Trilogy = all 3 Episodes > Alien Breed Inpact, Alien Breed Assault, Alien Breed Descent

You can buy a Alien Breed Trilogy Steamkey for around 1-2 $.

Just look that you buy a "Region Free Version".

...

I can tell you, the game is really good. I played it many, many times between the last years. Good action, the story is good, the game is well made. Many hours nice gameplay per each episode.

It's a must have for 1-2$ and it's worth it.

...

Btw. Handle the Map is also working with W A S D, ... i forgot smile (Important to see (hidden) and StoreRoom.

...

And if you're finished with Alien Breed, then "Alien Shooter 2" is a must have too. AlienCarnage3000 big_smile

https://youtu.be/I9_kKwDhkXo?t=143


Ok, this guy is a nab in Carnaging smile  (Just Invest Implantates for 2-3 weapons. (Shootguns and rocketlauncher (Nuke) or MG Shootgun and Launcher (Nuke).

Advice... play as woman, walks faster and is more intelligent. Intelligence needed to install Implantates. (No... not boobs smile )

...

Here is the demo of Alien Shooter 2

http://www.sigma-team.net/games/action/ … ption.html

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-12-17 18:04:45)

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#75 2018-12-17 17:59:47

Trench
Member
United States
Reputation: 70
Registered: 2014-05-05
Posts: 130
Windows 10 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

I'm not going to get in the way of a good excuse to buy a new system.

But if my network throughput improved so significantly by landing in Safe Mode, I would blame the crush of things I have installed or mis-configured in full mode, and would perform a new bare-metal install.  And see what the throughput is after I've installed nothing except Windows and the required hardware drivers.  (You could also just set aside your current hard drive, and do the bare-metal install on a spare drive to see the results without squashing your current Windows installation.)  Safe Mode back-tracks many performance features of Windows, and things shouldn't be improving dramatically.

Also, something you may have already done, but in the Internet and Network control panel where you can see the Change Adapter Settings, right click on your network card and select "Status" to confirm its actually negotiated 1Gbps to the modem/gateway.  Clearly you have gigabit hardware, but the question is whether that's the mode the hardware is actually operating in / has negotiated with the Ethernet port on the modem/gateway.  This can typically also be configured to simply force a lower negotiation in the network adapter properties; so if you do see it's not 1Gbps, look at whether maybe it's configured not to for whatever reason.

On a desktop machine, swapping in a $15 1000base-TX Ethernet card to make sure it's not the built-in port that's failing is an option.  (Or even on a laptop, if you have a USB3 port to keep up with the transfer rate.)  Or just blow the dead crickets out of your current port, and re-connect the cable and assume its good.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#76 2018-12-17 19:43:42

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 1865
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 4,065
Website
Windows 7 Firefox 64.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

jime1, it found the same ones the other one found.

Trench, yes, it says 1Gbps.

Everything is stable so i'm not going to worry too much. I'll just wait for a new pc to see. I'm only paying for half of the internet's price, so I'm good ^.^


Crazy is as crazy does, and this crazy is getting shit done.

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#77 2018-12-18 00:11:23

iCQ
Player
Netherlands
Reputation: 202
Location: ❤️Amsterdam❤️
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 807
Website
Linux Vivaldi 2.1

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

thank god Sunshine is still here... for a second i was afraid jime1 kind advise would seriously update 19gb of her drivers into HELL....

What is Simple going to do with the last bit of REAL sunshine that we have!? smile

Miss playing.... i wanna play special THANKS TO ARKOS for the tip on this awesome shooter... its SUPER SWEET (i be testing it out this weekend, i hope... if everything goes fine this ELITEBOOK from HP will run it smooth, i got myself a new LOGITECH pro keyboard M275 mouse ad keyboard

23-126-444-01.jpg

Its pretty tight, really nice keys and great price

I say we SIMPLE players should set up a PATREON account so we can all donate a little bit of money and make a contest on the people here that need new hardware the most... then lottery a winner. Or maybe hmmm... im sure some of us has old hardware to donate that is still fine. When im back home i will make a list of old pc's i have that i could give away (EURO ONLY FOR ME, i dont want to have huge postal costs)

Oh asia and russia will be fine for me too....

No boob implants???? Bummer...  (bad joke sorry, dont get implants, dont get tattoo's please people, work on your heart and mind instead)

Last edited by iCQ (2018-12-18 00:14:20)


A Special Take on things, for you! @ www.SPLC.tk
b_560_95_1.png
Maybe those tk-ing and trolling f-tards do not realize this game is old, fragile and GAMES DO DIE.
Report suspected cheaters also here!

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#78 2018-12-18 10:04:57

jime1
Player
Reputation: 102
Registered: 2016-11-23
Posts: 272
Windows 7 Firefox 62.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

Arkos wrote:
jime1 wrote:

Okay, let me know what happens..

...

(Click)... Sunshine... hello, ... Sunshine .... Sunshine?!?


https://media.giphy.com/media/HhTXt43pk1I1W/giphy.gif



Sunshiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiine!!!!

...

_/\_ Peace _/\_


A.K.A. theaxisteam   A.K.A. theaxiscream  A.K.A. idli_sambaar
A.K.A. Every_One

banner8.gif

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#79 2018-12-18 10:10:08

jime1
Player
Reputation: 102
Registered: 2016-11-23
Posts: 272
Windows 7 Firefox 62.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

Sunshine wrote:

jime1, it found the same ones the other one found.

Last thing you can try is, uninstall the NIC drivers updates. (from device manager)
Now, Default Generic NIC windows drivers should be there, now test your connection speed.


A.K.A. theaxisteam   A.K.A. theaxiscream  A.K.A. idli_sambaar
A.K.A. Every_One

banner8.gif

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#80 2018-12-18 11:58:13

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 1865
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 4,065
Website
Android Opera 49.1

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

jime1 wrote:
Sunshine wrote:

jime1, it found the same ones the other one found.

Last thing you can try is, uninstall the NIC drivers updates. (from device manager)
Now, Default Generic NIC windows drivers should be there, now test your connection speed.

That tech guy tried that early on :-/


Crazy is as crazy does, and this crazy is getting shit done.

Offline

    +2   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#81 2018-12-18 13:44:44

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1152
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,460
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

...

Guy? You had a TechGuy in your house?

Ok. Now i'm pissed, (jealous) smile

...

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#82 2018-12-18 14:02:33

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1152
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,460
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

...

Bought some time ago a PureWriter TKL. It has mechanical Khail Blue Switches, not that crispy like CheryMX, but ok and it was cheap.

A TKL because i wanted a small Keyboard this time. I miss sometimes the digits block, but it's ok. On the other side i have a nice small KB.

Image BBCode test

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-12-18 14:04:00)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

Board footer