#181 2018-04-12 23:18:13

BFSoldier 1
Player
Reputation: 156
Registered: 2015-07-29
Posts: 489
Windows XP Firefox 52.0

Re: Moving to Paris

a note to the server runner - it's subjective and maybe be useless and irrelevant but ill post it anyway :

regarding the general hitreg / lag in simple fra, it felt like some server settings were changed around april 1 to 4, 2018

before that ( ~ march 15 to april 1 ), hitreg was ok at low population and outside primetime. now the hitreg is poor all the time, even at night / morning with less than 10 players. and it looks like it is poor for the majority too, not just me. most inf players need longer time to hit and kill players

i wonder what info and tools are used to try to assess which overall settings result in least lag and best hitreg. cpu utilization - total packet loss - jitter - ping ?

anyone agrees that hitreg has become worse last 10 days ?

Last edited by BFSoldier 1 (2018-04-13 18:56:54)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#182 2018-04-13 00:10:51

Trench
Member
United States
Reputation: 37
Registered: 2014-05-05
Posts: 82
Windows 10 Chrome 65.0

Re: Moving to Paris

Black Mamba wrote:

The person with the best bandwidth lowest latency always wins has some advantages.

FTFY.  "250Mbps" is a measure of throughput, not latency.  When your ISP moves you from 5Mbps to 25Mbps to 50Mbps to 100Mbps to 250Mbps, that doesn't change your latency.  (Not talking about switching ISPs or hardware; just "upgrade to a 10x faster plan.")  Your in-game ping does not "go down" corresponding to your throughput now being 10x higher than it was before, because that's not what higher throughput means.

Your sustained throughput (download a file, concurrent people streaming, etc.) is going to be great by upgrading to 250Mbps.  But your ping is expected to be the same as it was before.

-Trench

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#183 2018-04-13 11:33:44

Arp273
Player
France
Reputation: 61
Registered: 2017-01-07
Posts: 25
Windows 10 Chrome 64.0

Re: Moving to Paris

I tend to agree with BFSoldier 1, the server feel spongy since few weeks, I have unusual weird and small lags pretty much all the time and hitreg seem a little different to me too. Nothing dramatic tho, still well playable.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#184 2018-04-16 11:45:34

tuia
Born again
Portugal
Reputation: 444
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 5,684
Website
Linux Firefox 59.0

Re: Moving to Paris

It should probably be a little better now. Server instances are running on separate cores and removed some unnecessary processes. Your feedback is always welcome.

Offline

    +4   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#185 2018-04-17 22:03:04

Dakota
Member
Canada
Reputation: 370
Registered: 2015-06-30
Posts: 666
Windows 7 Chrome 65.0

Re: Moving to Paris

tuia wrote:

It should probably be a little better now. Server instances are running on separate cores and removed some unnecessary processes. Your feedback is always welcome.

Not sure for welcome feedback ?? smile

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#186 2018-06-08 18:41:02

BFSoldier 1
Player
Reputation: 156
Registered: 2015-07-29
Posts: 489
Windows XP Firefox 52.0

Re: Moving to Paris

there has been a large increase in players for simple fra, starting roughly 14 days ago. looks like 20 % or more, which is very unusual and strange at this time of the year. it feels as if somebody has done something to initiate this process. most likely the simple main admin ?

the big question is, how does one expand population for a server at such a late stage for bf1942 ?

round time has been set to 42 minutes, but that was, as i remember it, some days after the player boost started, so that alone shouldnt be responsible for it

simple fra player numbers suffered a lot after the paris switch, but if things continue like this, simple fra will soon be fully restored

if anybody is behind this, and it isnt just a random fluctuation, i'll say well done. seems like a big achievement

Offline

    +5   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#187 2018-06-09 13:38:11

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 1166
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 3,494
Website
Android Opera 46.3

Re: Moving to Paris

BFSoldier 1 wrote:

if anybody is behind this, and it isnt just a random fluctuation, i'll say well done. seems like a big achievement

If no one else will, then I guess I'll take the credit...

Thank you. I do what I can.


Crazy is as crazy does, and this crazy is getting shit done.

GSC: SunshineOniNeko

Offline

    +5   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#188 2018-06-10 22:06:16

iCQ
Player
Saint Martin
Reputation: 56
Location: C0MMUN1ST 4SI4
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 415
Website
Unknown Firefox 60.0

Re: Moving to Paris

i noticed a huge increase of people on the highway to bangkok... uuhh.. well...


player count on any game changes over time... it is really dificult to say how and why without a proper investigation..

Anyhow i would like to steel some credit from sunshine... it was me since i stopped playing a few weeks ago... that sure must been a relieve for many!

anyhow i be back so expect the server to unpopulate soon since i treat everybody like sh1t all of the time

love ya all, except a few

tuia wrote:

It should probably be a little better now. Server instances are running on separate cores and removed some unnecessary processes. Your feedback is always welcome.

thnx for the awesome job u do man!!!

Last edited by iCQ (2018-06-10 22:09:38)


So you call yourself a gamer? Try some FPS with us: NO NOOBS ALLOWED
It is faster, it is better... its FREE (ut4/epic)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#189 2018-07-05 15:07:43

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 728
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,723
Windows 7 Chrome 67.0

Re: Moving to Paris

...

Since many, many weeks now. ~15% Packetloss allways on the same Hop. (Sadly it's not the only server my connection sucs).

https://www.pic-upload.de/view-35581635 … a.jpg.html


SimpleFra.jpg

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-07-05 15:08:08)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#190 2018-07-05 17:56:06

ABAS
Get well soon Paulo
Iran
Reputation: 850
Registered: 2015-12-10
Posts: 1,451
Website
Android Chrome 57.0

Re: Moving to Paris

And since some weeks the route is using poney telecom ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)  route which is not very trusted name

Offline

    +2   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#191 2018-07-05 21:40:16

Frank(Ger)
Member
Germany
Reputation: 105
Registered: 2013-11-03
Posts: 344
Windows XP Firefox 42.0

Re: Moving to Paris

I don´t remember if i had this before the move but in the last weeks some days i had often chrash to desktop, every few minutes. Restart the PC doesn´t help.

Last edited by Frank(Ger) (2018-07-06 21:53:14)


If you see a minewarning, there will be a mine or two or tree or a minefield

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#192 2018-07-05 23:47:50

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 728
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,723
Windows 7 Chrome 67.0

Re: Moving to Paris

...

Seit wann? Wenn's seit letztem Windoof Update ist, (12.06.2018), dann wäre da schon ein Kandidat.

...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#193 2018-07-05 23:49:22

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 1166
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 3,494
Website
Windows 7 Firefox 61.0

Re: Moving to Paris

Frank(Ger) wrote:

I don´t remember if i had this before the move but in the weeks some days i had often chrash to desktop, every few minutes. Restart the PC doesn´t help.

Mine would occasionally crash to desktop before the move, but now it seems to do it more often.


Crazy is as crazy does, and this crazy is getting shit done.

GSC: SunshineOniNeko

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#194 2018-07-06 07:55:09

jime1
Player
Reputation: 54
Registered: 2016-11-23
Posts: 235
Windows 7 Firefox 60.0

Re: Moving to Paris

Sunshine wrote:
Frank(Ger) wrote:

I don´t remember if i had this before the move but in the weeks some days i had often chrash to desktop, every few minutes. Restart the PC doesn´t help.

Mine would occasionally crash to desktop before the move, but now it seems to do it more often.

Are u guys sure it is not some crap ware or adware on your PC ? have you checked it with AdwCleaner  ?


A.K.A. theaxisteam
A.K.A. theaxiscream
A.K.A. idli_sambaar
A.K.A. Every_One

SiMPLE PM service is sofunctional.

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#195 2018-07-06 15:16:26

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 728
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,723
Windows 7 Chrome 67.0

Re: Moving to Paris

...

The Packetloss is on one HopServer in Paris.

...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#196 2018-07-06 21:58:21

Frank(Ger)
Member
Germany
Reputation: 105
Registered: 2013-11-03
Posts: 344
Windows XP Firefox 42.0

Re: Moving to Paris

I still use windows xp on this one so it can´t be an update. Also i don´t have adware on my pc, if i have a virus, it would be pretty unsystematic and without other visible effects. This evening i had no problems.


If you see a minewarning, there will be a mine or two or tree or a minefield

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#197 2018-07-07 08:51:24

jime1
Player
Reputation: 54
Registered: 2016-11-23
Posts: 235
Windows 7 Firefox 60.0

Re: Moving to Paris

Frank(Ger) wrote:

I still use windows xp on this one so it can´t be an update. Also i don´t have adware on my pc, if i have a virus, it would be pretty unsystematic and without other visible effects. This evening i had no problems.

so is it an old pc or virtual machine ?
do you have MBAM installed ?


A.K.A. theaxisteam
A.K.A. theaxiscream
A.K.A. idli_sambaar
A.K.A. Every_One

SiMPLE PM service is sofunctional.

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#198 2018-07-07 08:52:47

jime1
Player
Reputation: 54
Registered: 2016-11-23
Posts: 235
Windows 7 Firefox 60.0

Re: Moving to Paris

Arkos wrote:

...

The Packetloss is on one HopServer in Paris.

...

You can get the routing changed by your ISP right ?


A.K.A. theaxisteam
A.K.A. theaxiscream
A.K.A. idli_sambaar
A.K.A. Every_One

SiMPLE PM service is sofunctional.

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#199 2018-07-07 11:10:11

Frank(Ger)
Member
Germany
Reputation: 105
Registered: 2013-11-03
Posts: 344
Windows XP Firefox 42.0

Re: Moving to Paris

jime1 wrote:
Frank(Ger) wrote:

I still use windows xp on this one so it can´t be an update. Also i don´t have adware on my pc, if i have a virus, it would be pretty unsystematic and without other visible effects. This evening i had no problems.

so is it an old pc or virtual machine ?
do you have MBAM installed ?

It is an old PC but ~5 years younger then BF1942, it runs S.T.A.L.K.E.R. without problems. And no i do no online banking
Currently MBAM is not installed


If you see a minewarning, there will be a mine or two or tree or a minefield

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#200 2018-07-07 13:57:49

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 728
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,723
Windows 7 Chrome 67.0

Re: Moving to Paris

jime1 wrote:
Arkos wrote:

...

The Packetloss is on one HopServer in Paris.

...

You can get the routing changed by your ISP right ?

...

Not outside of the own country. And you know 3 of these hops are in Paris just before the server. And 195.154.1.23 has allways Packetloss around  15% and yesterday 30% - 40%.

...

What i can say, (... on this server here the gameplay was spongy like hell and nearly impossible to hit anything. (Tournament server.)

https://www.pic-upload.de/view-35536745/Server.jpg.html

You know it's mostly good for some minutes after login, but then you hit a shice.

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-07-07 14:23:00)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#201 2018-07-07 14:58:52

simon
Flamer
Estonia
Reputation: 231
Location: est'own'ya
Registered: 2014-08-13
Posts: 342
Windows 7 Firefox 61.0

Re: Moving to Paris

how skilled warriors connect to simple

29z52sn.jpg

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#202 2018-07-07 17:29:21

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 728
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,723
Windows 7 Chrome 67.0

Re: Moving to Paris

...

I never saw you playing with average 110+ ping.

But yes, there are days, you really suc big_smile

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-07-07 17:38:42)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#203 2018-07-07 17:39:08

ABAS
Get well soon Paulo
Iran
Reputation: 850
Registered: 2015-12-10
Posts: 1,451
Website
Android Chrome 57.0

Re: Moving to Paris

Strat pingplotter , start downloading something , or connect  your mobile datato computer and use that , result will be like above

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#204 2018-07-07 19:29:43

bud
puppet
Reputation: 700
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 2,638
Website
Windows 7 Firefox 61.0

Re: Moving to Paris

I would say France and UK is quite congested, Germany still OK.

(internet/routers/servers)

Last edited by bud (2018-07-09 22:21:09)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#205 2018-07-09 07:55:50

jime1
Player
Reputation: 54
Registered: 2016-11-23
Posts: 235
Windows 7 Firefox 60.0

Re: Moving to Paris

Frank(Ger) wrote:
jime1 wrote:
Frank(Ger) wrote:

I still use windows xp on this one so it can´t be an update. Also i don´t have adware on my pc, if i have a virus, it would be pretty unsystematic and without other visible effects. This evening i had no problems.

so is it an old pc or virtual machine ?
do you have MBAM installed ?

It is an old PC but ~5 years younger then BF1942, it runs S.T.A.L.K.E.R. without problems. And no i do no online banking
Currently MBAM is not installed

Well thats all cool bro.... and now irrelevant !

Yesterday I was on sim FRA and it crashed on me too, hahah right ?
when I rejoined it ASAP there were chats of other players chatting  about there game crashing too..
so like almost 3 player game crashed at the same time..
and yesterday in the evening Sunshine game crashed (as always) but luckily mine didn't !
So its just a matter of luck I have to believe...
PS: rtr sw never crashed for me like this


A.K.A. theaxisteam
A.K.A. theaxiscream
A.K.A. idli_sambaar
A.K.A. Every_One

SiMPLE PM service is sofunctional.

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#206 2018-07-09 08:04:17

jime1
Player
Reputation: 54
Registered: 2016-11-23
Posts: 235
Windows 7 Firefox 60.0

Re: Moving to Paris

Arkos wrote:
jime1 wrote:
Arkos wrote:

...

The Packetloss is on one HopServer in Paris.

...

You can get the routing changed by your ISP right ?

...

Not outside of the own country. And you know 3 of these hops are in Paris just before the server. And 195.154.1.23 has allways Packetloss around  15% and yesterday 30% - 40%.

...

What i can say, (... on this server here the gameplay was spongy like hell and nearly impossible to hit anything. (Tournament server.)

https://www.pic-upload.de/view-35536745/Server.jpg.html

You know it's mostly good for some minutes after login, but then you hit a shice.

...

ip belongs to Online SAS probably
May be you can ask them to take a look into it, can u ?!


A.K.A. theaxisteam
A.K.A. theaxiscream
A.K.A. idli_sambaar
A.K.A. Every_One

SiMPLE PM service is sofunctional.

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

Board footer