#31 2017-06-30 07:47:35

jime1
Player
Reputation: 53
Registered: 2016-11-23
Posts: 235
Windows 7 Firefox 49.0

Re: Windows 10 - BF1942 not starting

Killjoy1236 wrote:

Not sure if all drivers are installed. i believe so, I've checked the important ones.

You will have to let Arkos or me provide you with remote support by TV.


A.K.A. theaxisteam
A.K.A. theaxiscream
A.K.A. idli_sambaar
A.K.A. Every_One

SiMPLE PM service is sofunctional.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#32 2017-06-30 11:18:03

Alvarez-Latino
Member
France
Reputation: 60
Location: paris
Registered: 2012-06-26
Posts: 500
Android Chrome 58.0

Re: Windows 10 - BF1942 not starting

Arkos is very impressive where and how he know all of that...


Just a game...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#33 2017-06-30 12:34:09

Capt price
Cancer
Reputation: -16
Registered: 2016-04-28
Posts: 497
Windows 8.1 Firefox 54.0

Re: Windows 10 - BF1942 not starting

Go to the settings folders here:

C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\Battlefield 1942\Mods\bf1942\Settings

Open this file using wordpad or notepad, "videodefault.con" and check this line;

renderer.allowAllRefreshRates 1

It should say 1 not 0.

Then open this file, "video.con", if it refers you to a custom profile then go to that folder (eg: run Profiles/Custom/Video.con) then go to this folder etc;

C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\Battlefield 1942\Mods\bf1942\Settings\Profiles\Custom

and edit this line to read something like below;

game.setGameDisplayMode 800 600 32 60

restart game and test.


USER DIED smile

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#34 2017-06-30 12:45:22

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 726
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,722
Windows 7 Chrome 59.0

Re: Windows 10 - BF1942 not starting

Alvarez-Latino wrote:

Arkos is very impressive where and how he know all of that...

...

I had the hope you grow up once, but i just saw that you still write the same teenager style (in forum and in Game) like the past 5 years.

Hopeless...

(Is there even one constructive post from you in all those years?)

...

Last edited by Arkos (2017-06-30 12:49:12)

Offline

    +2   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#35 2017-07-02 01:40:26

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 726
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,722
Windows 7 Chrome 59.0

Re: Windows 10 - BF1942 not starting

...

Ok , i think i know why it's not starting.

His  lowest WindowsResolution is 1024x768, but Bf1942 in Game menu is in 800x600.

The fast solution would be:

1. Editing the video.con in custom profile folder to > 1366 768 32 60 (instead of 800 600 32 60)
2. Making a QuickConnectlink to a server.

Like this the game would not load Entering Menu, but would connect and run directly in InGameResolution. But there would be no possibility to change keys, or quality settings in Game. All that had to be done manually.

...

I tried editing bf1942.exe to change the inGameMenuResolution with an HexEditor, (i replaced twice 8 entries) but somehow bf1942 loads short, then it crashes back to desktop. But i tried it here on my PC, not on his. Normally it should work.

...

One possibility would be to try to add the resolution to Windows itself, ... with "reforce" or so.

Hmm... I have just the idea, perhaps i can add it through > IntelGraficSoftware > Custom resolution > 800 600 32 60Hz

I will try this first when i meet him again. Like this there would be no need to modify Bf1942.exe

...

Last edited by Arkos (2017-07-02 04:45:13)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#36 2017-07-02 03:38:13

bud
puppet
Reputation: 696
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 2,637
Website
Windows 7 Firefox 54.0

Re: Windows 10 - BF1942 not starting

Your forgetting he has tried in windowed-mode (witch accepts lower resolutions). Normally there is a .DLL that hooks in to directX, the game starts looking for it in the root folder, and if not found it looks in some windows system folder. Thats why they could made that "bloom" effect.

To me it looks like either the game cant find the directx files, or the OS is preventing the game from accessing them.

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#37 2017-07-02 04:43:29

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 726
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,722
Windows 7 Chrome 59.0

Re: Windows 10 - BF1942 not starting

...

When Windows is not supporting 800x600 Bf1942 won't start because the inGame Menu is 800x600. (Because of this he has this not supported resolution error.) Everything is installed what is needed for Bf1942.

The only way is trying to directconnect to a server from Destop by editing GameLink with: If this is working, then we know.

>  +restart 1 +game bf1942 +joinServer 188.165.220.115:14567

...

His link would look like this, if i remember right...

"C:\Games\Battlefield 1942\BF1942.exe" +restart 1 +game bf1942 +joinServer 188.165.220.115:14567

But to test it he has also to edit video.con in CustomProfileFolder to  > 1366 768 32 60 (instead of 800 600 32 60)

Then start the game. If you can connect to Simple Fra, then we know.

...

Last edited by Arkos (2017-07-02 04:47:48)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#38 2017-07-02 07:27:34

bud
puppet
Reputation: 696
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 2,637
Website
Windows 7 Firefox 54.0

Re: Windows 10 - BF1942 not starting

Arkos wrote:

When Windows is not supporting 800x600 Bf1942 won't start because the inGame Menu is 800x600. (Because of this he has this not supported resolution error.)

In windowed mode you can use whatever resolution you want.
_
resolution.jpg

Offline

    +2   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#39 2017-07-02 12:18:36

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 726
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,722
Windows 7 Chrome 59.0

Re: Windows 10 - BF1942 not starting

...

No, not without Windows supporting 800x600. BF (and every other game too) shows only resolutions which are supported by Monitor and known by Windows itself.

Usually every PC supports 800x600. But not his and i was reading also from some other guys. The game supports/shows only resolutions what is possible from Windows and Monitor.

But i guess i can fix this when i meet him next time.

Between, starting the game with the directlink to simple we know it. With this link Bf is evading Battlefield InGameMenu which is 800x600

...

Last edited by Arkos (2017-07-02 12:29:06)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#40 2017-07-04 14:05:12

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 726
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,722
Windows 7 Chrome 59.0

Re: Windows 10 - BF1942 not starting

...

I wrote the solution in a post above. The problem is that he wasn't around for days now.

Perhaps it's possible to add 800x600 as custom resolution due IntelGrafikDriverSettings. Otherwise there are two other ways to fix this.

Ofc Bf starting up into menu delievers an error because 800x600 is an unknown Resolution for his Windows 10/Netbook

...

Last edited by Arkos (2017-07-04 14:05:38)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#41 2017-07-04 20:13:00

Capt price
Cancer
Reputation: -16
Registered: 2016-04-28
Posts: 497
Android Safari 4.0

Re: Windows 10 - BF1942 not starting

Dear killjoy,
Bf1942 can run in 60hz refresh rate
So try to change your refresh rate at 60hz
and delete every thing  program that fixes your refresh rate.
and then reset the value of ref rate at 60hz.
after that Reinstalling your video drivers (uninstalling first, then reinstall) should do the trick as it will kill the 'lock' that those programs put on your refresh rate. Even RefreshForce can't retain the settings once you uninstall your video drivers.
pls give the feedback is that working or not

Last edited by Capt price (2017-07-04 20:13:43)


USER DIED smile

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#42 2017-07-04 23:23:32

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 726
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,722
Windows 7 Chrome 59.0

Re: Windows 10 - BF1942 not starting

...

Argh... price... you didn't get it.

...

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#43 2017-07-06 20:38:57

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 726
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,722
Windows 7 Chrome 59.0

Re: Windows 10 - BF1942 not starting

..

Ok, as i heard it's running now. I don't know if he could add the resolution. I wrote him the "how to" via PM and the next thing i heard  from him, that Bf1942 is working now.

He has to adjust the grafic settings now from InGameMenu as usual.

...

Last edited by Arkos (2017-07-06 20:40:44)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#44 2017-07-07 12:12:19

Alvarez-Latino
Member
France
Reputation: 60
Location: paris
Registered: 2012-06-26
Posts: 500
Android Chrome 59.0

Re: Windows 10 - BF1942 not starting

Arkos what is your work please ?
And we didnt know each other from 5 years...


Just a game...

Offline

    -1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#45 2017-07-07 19:20:55

Gambit
Player
India
Reputation: 19
Registered: 2017-03-27
Posts: 28
Website
Windows 8.1 Chrome 58.0

Re: Windows 10 - BF1942 not starting

Alvarez-Latino wrote:

Arkos what is your work please ?
And we didnt know each other from 5 years...

He is a swiss nanny who specialises in drama

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#46 2017-07-09 03:15:39

Alvarez-Latino
Member
France
Reputation: 60
Location: paris
Registered: 2012-06-26
Posts: 500
Windows 10 Chrome 59.0

Re: Windows 10 - BF1942 not starting

ah ok ^^


Just a game...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#47 2017-07-09 03:23:27

Capt price
Cancer
Reputation: -16
Registered: 2016-04-28
Posts: 497
Android Safari 4.0

Re: Windows 10 - BF1942 not starting

As far i know
in swiss even unemployed people get paid by goverment.
Salute to the gov of swiss


USER DIED smile

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#48 2017-09-25 17:58:21

Black Mamba
Member
Reputation: 422
Registered: 2012-12-01
Posts: 1,911
Windows 10 Chrome 60.0

Re: Windows 10 - BF1942 not starting

Black Mamba wrote:

Is there any way to make BF1942 work with Windows 10 Home Edition 64 Bit in Fullscreen mode? I have tried just about everything, any suggestions?

BUMP

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#49 2017-09-25 18:44:34

ABAS
Get well soon Paulo
Iran
Reputation: 845
Registered: 2015-12-10
Posts: 1,448
Website
Android Safari 4.0

Re: Windows 10 - BF1942 not starting

I gave solution in another topic i guess

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#50 2017-09-25 21:09:55

Black Mamba
Member
Reputation: 422
Registered: 2012-12-01
Posts: 1,911
Android Chrome 60.0

Re: Windows 10 - BF1942 not starting

ABAS wrote:

I gave solution in another topic i guess

Link please?

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#51 2017-09-25 22:02:16

ABAS
Get well soon Paulo
Iran
Reputation: 845
Registered: 2015-12-10
Posts: 1,448
Website
Android Safari 4.0

Re: Windows 10 - BF1942 not starting

Black Mamba wrote:
ABAS wrote:

I gave solution in another topic i guess

Link please?

http://team-simple.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=5305

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

Board footer