#1 2017-08-19 15:58:21

Lecter
Member
Portugal
Reputation: 121
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 726
Windows 10 Firefox 54.0

FPS vs HZ rate

I was checking my FPS in game and it shows from 240 to 300 all the time. Especially when im near objects, enemies, or more crowded environments it goes up and down. Even my ping spikes.

Im using a nvidia 1060 graphic card, brand new pc, really good, but using a new monitor as well but only with 60hz. Can this difference cause input lag and my monitor doesnt handle it well, hence the thos fps numbers? I dont know if im asking the right questions since i dont understand shit but this lag issue for me is extremely annoying. I have delays throwing nades, stuttering, freezes, sometimes i pick weapons which are full I shoot and only blanks (numbers actually go down but then go up to full again), goes to the point i use colt, shoot first 2 bullets or 3 and it goes to zero and so on and so on...

Last edited by Lecter (2017-08-19 15:59:53)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#2 2017-08-19 16:29:32

ABAS
regs ,its hard
Iran
Reputation: 560
Registered: 2015-12-10
Posts: 1,108
Website
Windows 7 Cyberfox 44.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

if you changed your pc and still exprience  lag then it must be your modem/router or your ISP or your line to the first node on your route

Last edited by ABAS (2017-08-19 16:32:09)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#3 2017-08-19 16:36:48

Lecter
Member
Portugal
Reputation: 121
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 726
Windows 10 Firefox 54.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

I´ve also changed my net provider. Its fiber 100mb.

Last edited by Lecter (2017-08-19 16:43:17)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#4 2017-08-19 16:44:32

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 444
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,044
Windows 7 Chrome 60.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

...

FPS spikes are strange in BF1942, yes.

And this delay i have also. Sometimes i trow a nade, but i see it flying a half second later. And sometimes, you see it throwing in the right direction, some metters away but then you kill yourself by own grenade. With Expack it's the same same. You throw it with right angle, but wtf, ... it dropps 2.76 in front of your feet.

Or if you die when you were allready behind a corner. Or in a fight, you run to the side, and when you change direction you snare all bullet's which should miss you  ... and all at once. big_smile

Those moments also look wierd.

...

What i saw last days... Norton suspects 2 files from Punkbuster beeing AdAware/Pup, but this Actrivation scan takes a lot of CPU Power and slows down Bf1942. Sometimes i had only some frames per second.

I controlled both files on virustotal.com. All except 2 noname Virusscanner sayed, that those files are clean, also Norton smile.

I guess it's anyway not the best idea to run heuristic scans, witch are included in ActivityScan, while playing old or cracked games.

...

Last edited by Arkos (2017-08-19 16:50:50)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#5 2017-08-19 16:46:04

ABAS
regs ,its hard
Iran
Reputation: 560
Registered: 2015-12-10
Posts: 1,108
Website
Windows 7 Cyberfox 44.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

Lecter wrote:

I´ve also changed my net provider. Its fiber 100mb.

how about your network card(or motherboard) and router? did you changed it or no

Last edited by ABAS (2017-08-19 16:46:48)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#6 2017-08-19 16:49:45

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 444
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,044
Windows 7 Chrome 60.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

...

His PC is new.  The only thing what it could be is, if the new provider uses the same Line as the old ISP, that the dose or Quarter/House Hub is somehow not ok.

But to find this out is difficult. You have to annoy many people for this.

...

Last edited by Arkos (2017-08-19 16:50:06)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#7 2017-08-19 16:51:13

Lecter
Member
Portugal
Reputation: 121
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 726
Windows 10 Firefox 54.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

All new, motherboard, all.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#8 2017-08-19 16:51:48

ABAS
regs ,its hard
Iran
Reputation: 560
Registered: 2015-12-10
Posts: 1,108
Website
Windows 7 Cyberfox 44.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

maybe do a pingplotter to simple server and make a screenshot

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#9 2017-08-19 16:52:35

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 444
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,044
Windows 7 Chrome 60.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

...

Sometimes i  think, my PC or Bf1942 doesn't like me big_smile

...

Last edited by Arkos (2017-08-19 16:52:47)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#10 2017-08-19 16:53:36

Lecter
Member
Portugal
Reputation: 121
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 726
Windows 10 Firefox 54.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

I actually did it and all is good so its really weird. Im almost starting to think im under some shit attack. I read somewhere that lag can be induced if someones knows your ip.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#11 2017-08-19 16:55:25

ABAS
regs ,its hard
Iran
Reputation: 560
Registered: 2015-12-10
Posts: 1,108
Website
Windows 7 Cyberfox 44.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

the only thing that left is the router ,i had a chinese shitty router and my gameplay was horrible ,later i changed to another router and its much better what is your router model?

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#12 2017-08-19 17:01:36

Lecter
Member
Portugal
Reputation: 121
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 726
Windows 10 Firefox 54.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

This:http://www.nos.pt/particulares/ajuda/equipamentos-servicos/Pages/ajuda-equipamentos.aspx?page=device/nos/hub-3-0

Or this: http://www.nos.pt/particulares/ajuda/eq … o-manual/1

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#13 2017-08-19 17:20:27

ABAS
regs ,its hard
Iran
Reputation: 560
Registered: 2015-12-10
Posts: 1,108
Website
Windows 7 Cyberfox 44.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

this one is too Portuguese for me ,how about enabling QoS and then do a test

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#14 2017-08-19 17:52:06

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 444
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,044
Windows 7 Chrome 60.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

...

But he has no other users there as far as i know. 

Lector i guess you don't have fiber there. Normally Fiber is an option if your quarter/house is opened up for Fiber. If i'm not wrong your Router has no fiber connector.

Here's you see the FiberConnector on a router, it's the SFP Modul on the backside of the router.

https://www.swisscom.ch/de/business/kmu … uesse.html

...

Last edited by Arkos (2017-08-19 17:58:21)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#15 2017-08-19 21:24:23

bud
Member
Reputation: 519
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 2,350
Website
Windows 7 Firefox 54.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

Lecter wrote:

sometimes i pick weapons which are full I shoot and only blanks (numbers actually go down but then go up to full again)

Packetloss

Have you tried different servers, and if so is it the same on all of them?

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#16 2017-08-20 11:29:21

deeko
Player
Estonia
Reputation: 40
Registered: 2014-11-07
Posts: 110
Windows 7 Chrome 60.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

bud wrote:
Lecter wrote:

sometimes i pick weapons which are full I shoot and only blanks (numbers actually go down but then go up to full again)

Packetloss

Have you tried different servers, and if so is it the same on all of them?

its not packetloss, it happens when someone dies while he was shooting his gun, so when you pick his gun up it's bugged.

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#17 2017-08-20 11:33:55

amd
Player
Estonia
Reputation: 4
Registered: 2017-07-30
Posts: 13
Android Chrome 60.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

How low does your FPS get during problems?

You can always try single player to rule out network lag.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#18 2017-08-20 11:36:39

Lecter
Member
Portugal
Reputation: 121
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 726
Windows 10 Firefox 55.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

deeko wrote:
bud wrote:
Lecter wrote:

sometimes i pick weapons which are full I shoot and only blanks (numbers actually go down but then go up to full again)

Packetloss

Have you tried different servers, and if so is it the same on all of them?

its not packetloss, it happens when someone dies while he was shooting his gun, so when you pick his gun up it's bugged.


Exactly!

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#19 2017-08-20 11:37:06

Lecter
Member
Portugal
Reputation: 121
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 726
Windows 10 Firefox 55.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

amd wrote:

How low does your FPS get during problems?

You can always try single player to rule out network lag.


Dont know, ill check it

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#20 2017-08-20 23:37:26

bud
Member
Reputation: 519
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 2,350
Website
Windows 7 Firefox 54.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

Lecter wrote:
deeko wrote:
bud wrote:

Packetloss

Have you tried different servers, and if so is it the same on all of them?

its not packetloss, it happens when someone dies while he was shooting his gun, so when you pick his gun up it's bugged.


Exactly!

oh "sometimes i pick weapons " as in "sometimes i pick up weapons "


i have a cheap 60 Hz monitor, the games "standard max fps" is 100, but i got some weird Screen tearing with this setting, so i changed it to 200 witch seems to work ok. (in VideoDefault.con look for renderer.lockfps 200)

you can set higher value if you like, but the servermessages is timed to the fps (very weird programming) so they will dissapear faster.

if you got a new computer and still have the same problem, then it cant be much else then your internet thats causing the problem?

Last edited by bud (2017-08-20 23:38:11)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#21 2017-08-20 23:45:44

THRILLHO
Player
United States
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2015-10-25
Posts: 1
Windows 7 Chrome 60.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

Try locking FPS to a specific number maybe, as bud had mentioned. Also, you might want to look into Koroush Ghazi's guide on bf1942. Pretty useful stuff there.

Last edited by THRILLHO (2017-08-20 23:50:41)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#22 2017-08-21 07:43:31

ABAS
regs ,its hard
Iran
Reputation: 560
Registered: 2015-12-10
Posts: 1,108
Website
Android Safari 4.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

THRILLHO wrote:

Try locking FPS to a specific number maybe, as bud had mentioned. Also, you might want to look into Koroush Ghazi's guide on bf1942. Pretty useful stuff there.

Good to know someone know that that guy

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#23 2017-09-04 23:29:04

tuia
Born again
Portugal
Reputation: 343
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 5,556
Website
Linux Firefox 55.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

Lecter, you need to use a scientific approach to fix your lag. Use a wired connection to your router, test in single player, test in different servers, test in other games, test with different computers.

Offline

    +2   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#24 2017-09-05 00:32:33

Lecter
Member
Portugal
Reputation: 121
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 726
Windows 10 Firefox 55.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

I will test it with a laptop tomorrow.  I have no control. Looking to side, suddenly looking up. Nades go off much later...im a hero playing like this or just plain stupid. Should have quit years ago...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#25 2017-09-06 13:37:48

nateoslysy
Player
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2017-09-05
Posts: 3
Windows 7 Chrome 60.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

maderfaking lag Lec;)))-glad to see u

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#26 2017-09-06 14:09:46

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 444
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,044
Windows 7 Chrome 60.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

...

Yesterday i played a while.

It seemse that it's a bit better now. At least for me. I have better control in planes and i think they climb faster. And as Inf aiming is better. Before some days i had to click 3 times, before the Zoom as sniper stayed. Yesterday just 1, which was mostly never possible for me.

I hope it was not a onedaysymptome

...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#27 2017-09-06 18:22:03

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 444
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,044
Windows 7 Chrome 60.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

...

Played today and it was again baaaaaaaad for me! In those moments i play zook only.

In Kursk i couldn't take off with Yak, the trees sayed no, ... no way

...

Last edited by Arkos (2017-09-06 18:23:06)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#28 2017-09-07 10:04:47

bud
Member
Reputation: 519
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 2,350
Website
Windows 7 Firefox 55.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

Arkos wrote:

In Kursk i couldn't take off with Yak, the trees sayed no, ... no way

Yeah thats a sure sign, happens to me to. On the ground one can atleast get some bullets out, but flying in a bathtube usually doesnt ends well smile

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#29 2017-09-07 13:59:21

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 444
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,044
Windows 7 Chrome 60.0

Re: FPS vs HZ rate

...

Sometimes, when i shoot an enemy, i see black smoke, where the bullets hit him, but in fact, they don't reg

Funny is also when you fly behind a straight flying plane, shooting 200 bullets and this thing has still 85% big_smile

...

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

Board footer