#1 2019-01-13 00:08:49

Caslon
Player
United States
Reputation: 8
Location: Deep inside the Earth
Registered: 2018-03-01
Posts: 20
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Autobalance teams?

I know the results  but am unsure how it's accomplished.  Is there a command during the game  that the server provides players in order to legitimately and honorably  change sides so the teams are balanced talent wise?  I always thought you had to quit the server and rejoin and see if you end up on the other team.  I play on the TGE BF1942 server and see the admins doing a lot of kicking of players because they are accused of team stacking.  Is there a command that players  use to change teams during the game, instead of quitting and rejoining?

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#2 2019-01-13 00:13:20

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 2144
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 4,316
Website
Android Opera 49.2

Re: Autobalance teams?

When you join you'll see what kit and spawn you want... you can also choose the team. Same thing when you die or press enter.

Server also engages auto-balance when teams get too uneven. But it is based on the # of players and who ever dies gets switched. Doesn't care about the talent/score.

Last edited by Sunshine (2019-01-13 00:23:51)


Crazy is as crazy does, and this crazy is getting shit done.

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#3 2019-01-13 00:17:41

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 2144
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 4,316
Website
Android Opera 49.2

Re: Autobalance teams?

Here:


images-5.jpg


Crazy is as crazy does, and this crazy is getting shit done.

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#4 2019-01-13 04:25:33

Caslon
Player
United States
Reputation: 8
Location: Deep inside the Earth
Registered: 2018-03-01
Posts: 20
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Autobalance teams?

I'd forgotten about that.  Thanks much.  I've always just let the game decide.

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#5 2019-01-13 18:37:12

Cicero_01
Member
United States
Reputation: 6
Registered: 2013-12-20
Posts: 17
Windows 10 Chrome 71.0

Re: Autobalance teams?

This is a complicated question that I run into all the time. I get complaints that 'stackers' should be kicked based on both talent or numbers. I've seen games where 3 good players can hold their own and even defeat more than double their number if the 'stacked' team is filled with lesser talent or experience. Most times the larger number will have the greater advantage. I seldom kick 'stackers' but often switch teams to try to correct the imbalance. Especially at the beginning of a round. I actually prefer to join the losing side. It becomes more of a challenge.

Odd situations occur with autoswitch. A couple of days ago I fired a kill shot against a smoking axis tank just as I was hit with a kill shot against me. I was autoswitched to axis and received a TK because my last shot from the allied side killed a member of my new team. Not the first time that's happened. I prefer manual balance correction...

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#6 2019-01-13 19:41:56

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1380
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,860
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Autobalance teams?

...

Ya, those AutoSwitchTeamkill sux.

...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#7 2019-01-13 19:49:26

tuia
Born again
Portugal
Reputation: 579
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 5,840
Website
Linux Firefox 64.0

Re: Autobalance teams?

Yes, the team balance system in BF1942 has to be fixed. If anyone has a simple and brilliant idea to improve the autobalance of players, please share it.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#8 2019-01-13 19:52:04

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1380
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,860
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Autobalance teams?

...

What about an expirience based AutoBalance.

I hate to be forced to play in a Team which controls the entire Battlefield for 15-30 minutes.

Perhaps If one team controls everything, put the guy with the best D/K ratio to the other team.

...

Last edited by Arkos (2019-01-13 19:53:16)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#9 2019-01-13 23:47:55

Vertigo
 
Reputation: 437
Registered: 2015-12-20
Posts: 688
Windows 10 Firefox 64.0

Re: Autobalance teams?

IMO, team bal should be checked in shorter intervals.
The -5 criteria results in player count offset for too long.

Arkos, moving players with best score is an option that I added to Call of Duty.
Players with the "i'm here for me" attitude did not like it much.

//  1 = Move player with least time on server (stock method)
//  2 = Move player with the highest score on other team.
//set svr_balance_type 1            //    (default = 1)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#10 2019-01-14 00:21:22

bud
Member
Reputation: 977
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 2,950
Website
Windows 7 Firefox 64.0

Re: Autobalance teams?

tuia wrote:

Yes, the team balance system in BF1942 has to be fixed. If anyone has a simple and brilliant idea to improve the autobalance of players, please share it.

There is a axis/allied ratio setting witch i must say i never really have tried, but if it works in realtime it could perhaps be of use.


172.245.186.156:14567.png37.187.19.136:14568.png

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#11 2019-01-14 08:01:35

Caslon
Player
United States
Reputation: 8
Location: Deep inside the Earth
Registered: 2018-03-01
Posts: 20
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Autobalance teams?

I meant to ask about auto team switching and how that works  too.  Got that answered clear and fast.  You want to pay attention to the yellow alert saying teams are uneven.  Those who die first get auto switched.  I previously thought it was more complicated than that.

Anyone been so instantly switched that you kill your own guys before you  notice ?  You were just in an intense close up  fire fight a sec before.  Then you died but got instantly spawned before realizing it.  HA!  You end up killing your own teammates, lol!

Doesn't happen often with me.  Sometimes it does.

Last edited by Caslon (2019-01-14 08:12:08)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#12 2019-01-28 13:38:44

tuia
Born again
Portugal
Reputation: 579
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 5,840
Website
Linux Firefox 64.0

Re: Autobalance teams?

I did a small change to autobalance system in BF1942 server, it now does not switch killed players to the team with less players , it only prevents players from switching to the team with more players, when autoteambalance is activated.

To add that change to bf1942_lnxded.static binary, at offset 0x105C26 change byte values from 75 08 to 90 90 and to bf1942_lnxded.dynamic it is at offset 0x10CC96. To BF1942_w32ded.exe at offset 0x73AD5 change byte value from 74 to EB.

Offline

    +3   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#13 2019-01-28 15:28:25

Snake Eyes
Player
Brazil
Reputation: 52
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2018-07-08
Posts: 81
Website
iOS Safari 12.0

Re: Autobalance teams?

Very good wink

Boa ideia! Acho que ficará mais justo.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#14 2019-01-28 16:42:48

tuia
Born again
Portugal
Reputation: 579
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 5,840
Website
Linux Firefox 64.0

Re: Autobalance teams?

Ok, I think it works, I did not have time to test it rigorously, please, report any problems. I am not sure if new players are assigned to each team randomly, when autoBalanceTeam is enabled.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

Board footer