#31 2018-12-15 19:48:53

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 2144
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 4,316
Website
Android Opera 49.1

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

Arkos wrote:

...

Silicon Image Pseudo Processor Device big_smile

...

... aaaannnddd?? Why " big_smile " ?


Crazy is as crazy does, and this crazy is getting shit done.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#32 2018-12-15 19:57:40

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1380
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,860
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

...

It's just funny how the call this Sil3114 Chip.

You know, i have also 2 or 3 of those S939 HighEnd Boards here and 1 is still new in his Box.

...

Btw. Did you notice my RepScore? Just in that Moment i miss the "S" smile

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-12-15 19:58:30)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#33 2018-12-15 19:59:51

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 2144
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 4,316
Website
Android Opera 49.1

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

Arkos wrote:

...

It's just funny how the call this Sil3114 Chip.

You know, i have also 2 or 3 of those S939 HighEnd Boards here and 1 is still new in his Box.

...

Btw. Did you notice my RepScore? Just in that Moment i miss the "S" smile

...

You must be an Asus representative then lol


Crazy is as crazy does, and this crazy is getting shit done.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#34 2018-12-15 20:07:49

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1380
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,860
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

...

Na, i'm Msi's.

(K8N: Diamond Plus, Diamond Platinum and the new one is a DFI Lanparty or so).

...

Image BBCode test

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-12-15 20:14:37)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#35 2018-12-15 20:09:30

Vertigo
 
Reputation: 437
Registered: 2015-12-20
Posts: 687
Windows 10 Firefox 64.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

Sunshine wrote:
bud wrote:

If the harddrive is slow it could bogger down the transfer speed too. Gigabit fiber is a maximum of 125 MB/s

http://team-simple.org/forum/viewtopic. … 79#p123779


But my laptop gets wayyyyy higher than 125.

My harddrive is a 250gb 7200rpm hard drive.

But you're not referring to MB/s ....

"The difference is in the terms gigabyte and gigabit. There are 8 bits in a byte so, in reality, 1 Gbps translates into about 125 megabytes per second (MBps)."

When you get yur new 'puter, please make a video of that hard drive getting whacked with a sledgehammer wink

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#36 2018-12-15 20:16:18

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 2144
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 4,316
Website
Android Opera 49.1

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

Arkos wrote:

...

Na, i'm Msi's.

(K8N: Diamond Plus, Diamond Platinum and the new one is a DFI Lanparty or so).

...

https://cdn-eu-ec.yottaa.net/56abbca031 … _&yoloc=eu

...

What do you think about different brands.. msi, a rock, gigabyte, etc. Which do you prefer and is there a reason?


Crazy is as crazy does, and this crazy is getting shit done.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#37 2018-12-15 20:20:37

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1380
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,860
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

...

Due the past years i builded only PC's with AsRockMainboards. Best price/performance. 

> Gigabyte > You go crazy if you want download something from their Homepage and Mobo's are expensive.

> MSI > Hmm... Ohh dam... That Homepage get's a NoGo from me. (I just banned MSI of my brain). Also the Bios is tiring.

> Asus > I don't like the Overview in Bios (And they are expensive), and ... ohh frick, i can't stand their Homepage.

...

But i builded several PC's more then 10 years ago with Asus AMD Mobo's (Nvidia and AMD Chipsets) and they run since then all day.

But today i really would make only sumdin with AsRock.

https://www.asrock.com/index.de.asp

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-12-15 21:23:11)

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#38 2018-12-15 20:29:06

Vertigo
 
Reputation: 437
Registered: 2015-12-20
Posts: 687
Windows 10 Firefox 64.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

Most ASRock boards are very stable, and their BIOS layout is clean & organized.
Anyone remember Abit?  There were my go-to board back in the day..

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#39 2018-12-15 20:32:00

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1380
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,860
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

...

Yes, and everything runs smooth. From Bios up to Homepage and Driver and all other Downloads.

Just try once to downlowad a Manual from Gigabyte. After you clicked it, you can go drink a coffee and smoke a cigarette, and when you come back, if you're lucky, it's loaded 83% or so.

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-12-15 20:32:43)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#40 2018-12-15 20:32:09

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 2144
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 4,316
Website
Android Opera 49.1

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

I've read quite a few reviews and it seems like many praise AsRock and Gigabyte a lot and though ASUS are good, they say they're overpriced and their software (if u choose to install) is bloated as hell.


Crazy is as crazy does, and this crazy is getting shit done.

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#41 2018-12-15 20:34:07

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1380
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,860
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

...

I like also the enthusiasm from AsRock.

(Löl Arkos likes Asrok).

...

One nice thing on AsRock Mobos is, you can make Bios Updates in Bios itself without an OS installed. It connects to AsRock, downloads and installes it and there you are... ready to install the OS.

It's called InternetFlash in the Bios. It's very practicable.

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-12-15 20:40:48)

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#42 2018-12-15 20:45:59

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1380
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,860
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

...

And i like how they work. I have the same chaos here in my PC Room and they also installed their PC's naked on a board smile


https://youtu.be/eAx5ifXNjR0


Vid is from 2012

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-12-15 20:55:21)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#43 2018-12-15 21:02:33

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1380
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,860
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

...

This is how it looks today. (Bios)

https://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/8685/ … ndex5.html

Image BBCode test

...

Hehe, something for Bud and Sunshine big_smile (Network Performance x370 Taichi Ultimate)


Image BBCode test

...

X470 Taichi Ultimate

https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/X470%20Ta … /index.asp

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-12-15 21:15:34)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#44 2018-12-15 21:09:22

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 2144
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 4,316
Website
Android Opera 49.1

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

Why is the Asrock x370 Taichi ultimate so much higher?


Crazy is as crazy does, and this crazy is getting shit done.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#45 2018-12-15 21:10:24

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1380
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,860
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

...

It's a 10GB Onboard Lan for FiberConnection. (X470 Taichi Ultimate has it also).

But those boards are highest end and cost also some money.

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-12-15 21:13:46)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#46 2018-12-15 21:10:45

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 2144
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 4,316
Website
Android Opera 49.1

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

Arkos wrote:

...

It's a 10GB Onboard Lan for FiberConnection

...

Ahh ok.


Crazy is as crazy does, and this crazy is getting shit done.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#47 2018-12-15 21:53:39

iCQ
Player
Norway
Reputation: 273
Location: i exist only in ur ❤️
Registered: 2017-07-31
Posts: 1,000
Website
Unknown Firefox 63.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

I read the whole thread but i am suprised to see no mention of your modem/router. This is the device that you should "dig into". Is QOS enabled? Is LAN port 1 maybe faster and prioritized than for example LAN port 2, 3 and 4?

Is one machine connected by wifi? If yes test this.. for speeds see if u can use 5ghz wifi. Update the modem firmware. Read its manual... does it support DD-WRT? https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/ … ed_Devices

When you get unexpected speeds on computers u might first want to try boot from a Live-CD and use the default browser to do the hillbillyninja speed test. Its a good one... try the software others came up with on that boot.

I suggest ALWAYS have an Ubuntu boot Live-CD usb stick at hand. U can boot your (any) system from it and do some quick tests or repairs. Gparted and the tool "Disks" are a must have anyhow.

ISO downloads of a clean and stable very usable OS desktop:

fairly new PC's (not older than, lets say 6 years)
64bit https://www.ubuntu.com/download/desktop

older PC's
32bit http://releases.ubuntu.com/16.04/?_ga=2 … 1543820712

Check:
how to burn your USB stick in windows


Good luck from Taiwan Sunshine! wink

P.s. with these bootable USB stick u always have a working system, if the hardware is fine.  A browser, office is ready installed and some system utils to repair, backup/restore partitions etc etc

In a live session u can even quickly and more importantly SAFELY install 100's of tools from the ubuntu APP STORE that do NOT invade your privacy like microsoft, apple and google does. You do not have to register or sing up for anything. They are free to use and open source (mostly) and used and checked by smart people from all over the world! No... absolutely NO mind bending ever lasting update loops.... come on use ur brain! wink

With a bootable Ubuntu USB stick, you can:

    Install or upgrade Ubuntu

    Test out the Ubuntu desktop experience without touching your PC configuration

    Boot into Ubuntu on a borrowed machine or from an internet cafe

    Use tools installed by default on the USB stick to repair or fix a broken
    configuration

I for example cross borders with just one little 128GB SD card with a bootable syslinux/ubuntu packed with my tools and config and encrypted docs and work. Connect to one of my VPN servers and im free to go and work. Nothing can beat that. No im not using CUBES OS... the headaches... plain unix/linux is good enough.

I talk too much sorry... but i really feel the need to share, all u guys and girls deserve and need this in your life! BB & TTYL

Last edited by iCQ (2018-12-15 22:07:55)


Our News Site and Our Forums (Linux, Lounge, BF1942 and Unreal Tournament, not only newspeak allowed).

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#48 2018-12-15 22:14:27

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1380
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,860
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

...

I guess, the best is just to sit this out until you have your new Hardware. Doesn't matter how long it takes.

As you see here. NetworkLoad takes a lot of CPU Power.

https://www.computerbase.de/2006-04/tes … t_netzwerk

At least you see there is one LAN which is faster then the other.


(Hmm.. or do i have an new Elitegroup Mobo instead of DFI. I guess it's an Elitegroup)

Oh yes, i remember this yellow PlastikFanThing, but mine is not the SLI Version.


Image BBCode test

...

But you could start an old Knoppix Live Linux CD and make an Network Bench. But i don't know if new work with S939.

...

When you come by, picking up the Memory Sticks, i can give you also a working Knoppix Live CD big_smile

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-12-16 12:07:07)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#49 2018-12-15 22:25:02

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 2144
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 4,316
Website
Android Opera 49.1

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

Arkos, yup. I think you're right. It's plenty fast more me anyway right now smile

I know about live CDs/USBs. I've used them at school.

ICQ, I have a Technicolor C2100T. My laptop uses the 5ghz. Firmware is current. The modem/router is fine. The tech's laptop was wired into it and was working fine. He used a live USB at first too. We'll see what happens when I eventually get a new PC. If it's still slow, then I'll call them and tell them to fix their shit.

Last edited by Sunshine (2018-12-15 22:27:47)


Crazy is as crazy does, and this crazy is getting shit done.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#50 2018-12-15 22:56:48

bud
Member
Reputation: 977
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 2,950
Website
Windows 7 Firefox 64.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

Gigabyte was high-quality once, six-memoryslots for easy upgrade for example, but nowadays seems they have lost the edge.

ASRock was originally spun off from Asus in 2002, they needed a brand for selling cheapish, but now they are on there own feets and it's my first choice when i look for new stuff.

I got curious and did a quick transfer test, its between my computer (i5 with ssd) and a older one (core2 duo 3Ghz) with a mechanical harddrive. The test is made over a home-lan network with a gigabit switch. Thought maybe it could give some clues.
-
https://youtu.be/iG9Ou9Kf5ts


172.245.186.156:14567.png37.187.19.136:14568.png

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#51 2018-12-15 23:02:27

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1380
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,860
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

...

Everything is declared big_smile

You are a genious!

...

The only thing what i miss, is a view on the process load smile

I'm curious what makes this really high CPU Load. But i guess it's capturing.

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-12-15 23:03:52)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#52 2018-12-15 23:18:49

bud
Member
Reputation: 977
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 2,950
Website
Windows 7 Firefox 64.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

I think red is the kernel, im guessing reading is easier om a drive than writing, propably something to do with how the filesystem works, eg permissions, timestamps, checksums and all such things.


172.245.186.156:14567.png37.187.19.136:14568.png

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#53 2018-12-15 23:49:25

Vertigo
 
Reputation: 437
Registered: 2015-12-20
Posts: 687
Windows 10 Firefox 64.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

Large file xfer across my network from "new" pc to "old"  are pinned at 110 Mb/s.
From old-to-new it was 113 Mb/s.  Results were the same when using ssd or hd.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#54 2018-12-16 01:04:09

Sunshine
Empress of Doom
United States
Reputation: 2144
Registered: 2012-08-14
Posts: 4,316
Website
Android Opera 49.1

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

In short version, whats the diff between the diff SSDs. NVMe, M2, etc... and what's better? And do they still have problems with them dying after just a few years?

Last edited by Sunshine (2018-12-16 01:08:12)


Crazy is as crazy does, and this crazy is getting shit done.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#55 2018-12-16 02:18:43

Vertigo
 
Reputation: 437
Registered: 2015-12-20
Posts: 687
Windows 10 Firefox 64.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

M.2 NVMe > M2 > SSD > yur 250gb wink  The tech is quite good against failures these days.
Most new boards will support all of them these days.

Samsung 970 PRO NVMe is top tier, but their EVO line is nearly as fast and cheaper.

https://ssd.userbenchmark.com/Compare/S … 1vsm494791

Last edited by Vertigo (2018-12-16 02:19:34)

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#56 2018-12-16 10:34:03

jime1
Player
Reputation: 103
Registered: 2016-11-23
Posts: 273
Windows 7 Firefox 62.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

Sunshine wrote:
jime1 wrote:

@Sushine : have you tried this : https://www.snappy-driver-installer.org/ ?
https://sourceforge.net/projects/snappy … in/reviews
https://www.majorgeeks.com/files/detail … rigin.html

Avoiding only the Bluetooth driver is recommended.
If you do Windows updates, then you can try the drivers from there as well.


I dont use bluetooth at all.

I used TweakBit driver updater. I updated some important ones but then i saw these and I was nervous -.-...

Notice how that one standard pci dual channel controller has that one where they say the update is older than the installed? Also the PCI Bus update is from 2018... how do i know it'll work with this old pc? Then when i click them i notice that some of the installed drivers are from microsoft and the updates are from NVIDIA so i dont want to break things :-/

https://i.ibb.co/0GBhV0n/driverupdates.jpg

Ahh..
SDIO is supposed to have the best detection algorithm, kindly give it a try.
You can try it simultaneously with TweakBit and compare the detection.
Create a restore point first, just as a preventive measure.
Sometimes Windows updates also include drivers, see if it detects for your system.


A.K.A. theaxisteam   A.K.A. theaxiscream  A.K.A. idli_sambaar
A.K.A. Every_One

banner8.gif

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#57 2018-12-16 11:19:08

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1380
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,860
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

...

There are 2 different types of M2 SSD's.

1. Some Nvme with up to 3000 MB/s are only worth it for some special tasks.
You won't feel any performance improvements in normal praxis.

2. M2, with also ~500MB/s. (Advantage > you don't need any cables like on 2.5" SSD's)

New Boards have some M2 slots. But mostly only 1 is dedicated, (Pci-E x4) (perhaps 2 on Highend Boards) and the rest is shared with SATA Ports. It means it deactivates one SATA 3 Port if you use one more. (It's written in the manuals).

One benefit is that you don't need any cables for an M2.

The best is to have at least 1 SSD for the operating System. A 256Mb to 512 MB is enough. And for Games you buy a normal Harddisk.

If you have some money left, you can buy 1TB or 2 TB SSD's, but. it's in the moment better to save that money and put it in a better graficcard.

> 2x8 GB Memory 3200Mhz or 3400 for Ryzen2, for Ryzen3 it will be eventually better buy some higher clocked Ram.
> 256-512 GB SSD (Or NVME, but an SSD is good enough)
> one big Harddisk, depends how many other games you want install and play. 2-4TB. (If you want capture, encoding, another harddisk, 2-4 TB for This.

(You can also use an second SSD to capture and encode large videos, then you could buy a second SSD just for that and later you put it on the harddisk.)

...

If you use Adobe Lightroom, or to cut/edit videos a NVME SSD is also good for those tasks. But at the end you will survive it also with an SSD. If someone makes a lot of work, where a NVME is much faster, then ofc spend some money in a MVME M2.

...

But it's definitively not worth to buy an NVME to put games on it. A normal harddisk is good enough. Perhaps somebody is only playing 3-4 games, then you can just use an 500GB SSD. But if you think about to install plenty of games, just put them on a normal Harddisk.

...

A Pro is not worth the money. But an M2 960 or 970 Evo costs not much more instead an SSD. Depends how big the SSD must be.

For normal SSD i would say a crucial MX500 with 5 years warranty. But Crucials P1 M2 is not that fast as M2 Evos.

There are many SSD's and M2's they have only QLC Cache. In the praxis, after a while, when the datas are not anymore in the Pseudo-SLC Cache it uses the QLC Cahce and it slows down.

> Fast M2 NVME = Samsung 960/970 Evo.

> Normal SSD = MX 500.

...

In case of Harddisk, you can go for the cheapest Seagate ST2000DM008, but many people prefere a Western Digital Red 2-4TB. And me, i prefer Toshiba X300, but 4TB is the minimum., so i bought also a P300 some weeks ago, beside the X300.

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-12-16 11:45:59)

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#58 2018-12-16 11:55:44

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1380
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,860
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

...

If you want to overclock really everything possible of your memory and CPU, go for HighEnd boards.

If you want to overclock at average level, go for a midrange Board and save the money for a better Grafikkard.

Same for NVME's and each component here and there. At the end you will have 200-300$ left which you can put in the better graficcard or a new  24" WQHD 144Hz IPS Monitor.

...

If you don't buy a new Monitor whith higher then FullHD 60Hz, then you also don't need a highend graficcard.

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-12-16 11:56:09)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#59 2018-12-16 12:04:07

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1380
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,860
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

...

SSD's > TLC, SLC, MLC

And there is another reason why SSDs can slump in performance after a few seconds, minutes, or even longer during a workload. Many consumers' SSDs use so-called TLC memory, which can store three bits per cell. Useful to keep costs down, but writing with TLC memory is much slower than with SLC or MLC memory (1- or 2-bit per cell respectively). Some manufacturers solve this issue by using a buffer; a memory chip and/or part of the flash memory that is controlled as SLC and can therefore be written to more quickly. The idea is that write actions first go to buffer and are slowly written to TLC later. However, if the workload is so long that the buffer is full, writing needs to be done directly to the TLC, resulting in lower throughput speed and higher access times.

https://us.hardware.info/reviews/8181/1 … onsistency

...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#60 2018-12-16 12:10:28

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 1380
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 3,860
Windows 7 Chrome 71.0

Re: Internet is "slow" on gigabit internet

...

Hehe, there you see where it ends, when i start talking and nobody stops me smile

...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

Board footer