#1 2018-04-15 16:40:42

Black Mamba
Member
Reputation: 372
Registered: 2012-12-01
Posts: 1,828
Android Chrome 65.0

Question about content check mode

Hey so I was wondering if anybody knew which Archives RFAs were checked when Content Check is on: texture.rfa, objects.rfa, menu.rfa and standardmesh.rfa?

Is there a way to make it check every RFA in the Archives against the client version?

What are the real advantages of using content check mode?


C2QaUZx.png

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#2 2018-04-15 17:38:48

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 691
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,629
Windows 7 Chrome 65.0

Re: Question about content check mode

...

Pure/Unpure/Off

I guess it compares crc hash of the maps and perhaps other files.

I think if you activate content check, you have to edit ontentcrc32.con and add all used maps.

Some mods are not working with content check = 1 (pure) on Mercilless, DC as example, but perhaps with =2, (unpure), which seemse to be senseless.

...

I don't really know it, but i bet, Tuia can bring light in this.

...

Last edited by Arkos (2018-04-15 17:41:35)

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#3 2018-04-15 17:39:35

Trench
Member
United States
Reputation: 28
Registered: 2014-05-05
Posts: 65
Windows 10 Chrome 65.0

Re: Question about content check mode

I'll be interested to hear from anyone with actual expertise or experience using it, too.  I've never run with it, and never tested what actually was or wasn't necessary.

The understanding I had read somewhere and "made sense" to me was that you're not literally "checking the client RFA files against the server."  Because for any server that is running a dedicated server installation (using literally the dedicated server installation files), your RFAs don't match the client game RFA.  Because the dedicated server versions of the maps don't have the textures, etc., presumably to save server memory footprint.

What I recall is that you actually have to generate the contentcrc32.con list of hashes yourself, against the set of map files that you wanted to allow on the client side.  Which again "made sense", because I could also have server-side modded maps which intentionally don't match exactly what the client has, or what comes with the default game installation.  (Searching on "generateMapListForCrcContent" or more loosely "contentcrc32.con" appears to confirm this.)

The reasoning for using content check, as I understand it, is to prevent someone from running with an intentionally modified local set of map objects that gives them any kind of advantage.  e.g. Textures now mostly transparent so that I can see through things; enemy skin now blaze orange so that when they're moving or hiding against colors they normally blend with I can still see them, etc.

But I assume that means you could also create trouble for folks who are running BF1942HD or similar, where the differences are "intentional."  Not sure if you can list more than one allowed hash for the same map in contentcrc32.con, so that someone with "original code" and someone else with "approved modifications" of the same map are both allowed to connect.

-Trench

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#4 2018-04-15 22:03:47

bud
puppet
Reputation: 673
Registered: 2012-07-07
Posts: 2,609
Website
Windows 7 Firefox 59.0

Re: Question about content check mode

Black Mamba wrote:

What are the real advantages of using content check mode?

Pure is for standard bf42 and it does a check on the the most common game files + maps, unpure is for mods (like Desert Combat) and i think its limited to checking the maps only.

Every map has settings like fog-distance so its why they are checked, it can only have one crc value that is correct, opening a map and saveing it without changing anything is enough to break the check-sum.

The bf-server doesnt need to check its own files as it cant really cheat, modding affects all players equally.

There is a way to check all client files, but it needs punkbuster to run, forgot the name tho and its absolete anyway.

edit: the server use the contentcrc32.con file to look up the checksums of the maps. The bf42.exe is not checked so HD works with pure settings.

Last edited by bud (2018-04-15 22:08:29)

Offline

    +1   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#5 2018-04-15 23:17:00

Black Mamba
Member
Reputation: 372
Registered: 2012-12-01
Posts: 1,828
Android Chrome 65.0

Re: Question about content check mode

Thanks guys, really helpful answers!


C2QaUZx.png

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#6 2018-04-25 05:47:50

Black Mamba
Member
Reputation: 372
Registered: 2012-12-01
Posts: 1,828
Windows 10 Chrome 65.0

Re: Question about content check mode

Found some helpful info about BF1942 content checking here, for anyone that is interested: https://www.gpforums.co.nz/threads/1629 … w-it-works


C2QaUZx.png

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#7 2018-04-25 11:35:13

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 691
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,629
Windows 7 Chrome 65.0

Re: Question about content check mode

...

Ok. Option 2 is CRC checked too. That makes sense now.

...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

Board footer