#1 2017-08-29 10:11:40

Fossilium
Player
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2017-06-27
Posts: 20
OS X Safari 10.1

Server for Mac

Hi everybody,
I am olaying BF1942 on my good old Powerbook G4 (OSX 10.5.8).
It is possible to have a LAN-Party with Windows-computer in local games.
Nevertheless I can't acces to the multiplayer servers.
I saw you added server - support for Linux and Windows but Mac is still missing
(BF1942 was developed for PowerPc with Motorolla proccesors and not IntelPc).
If you need the game filles for Mac I could send a private copy in a mail to the server-developer.
I am running BF on version 1.61 (latest patch by EA).

Thanks a lot for your answers and maybe a server support for Mac

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#2 2017-08-29 11:07:28

petr8
Ulyachka
Reputation: 28
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 79
Linux Firefox 55.0

Re: Server for Mac

Do you want to run your own bf server at OS X to play via the Internet? I haven't seen the native server, porting requires a lot of hard work.
Probably you cant connect multiplayer because the GameSpy master server has been down for several years already.
And if you have an empty server list in the game, put this at the end of the /etc/hosts file

109.71.69.254 master.gamespy.com

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#3 2017-08-29 12:28:34

Fossilium
Player
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2017-06-27
Posts: 20
Windows 7 Chrome 58.0

Re: Server for Mac

Not working.
Ichanged the hosts file as shown here: https://macnow.cc/hosts-datei-bearbeiten-352/
Its a german page and shows how to open the file.
1. Open Terminal
2. Enter this code: sudo /Applications/TextEdit.app/Contents/MacOS/TextEdit /etc/hosts
3. add 109.71.69.254 master.gamespy.com
4.save
5. restart

The server list is still empty.
Thanks for your help.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#4 2017-08-29 13:03:04

petr8
Ulyachka
Reputation: 28
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 79
Linux Firefox 55.0

Re: Server for Mac

Have you tried to connect to servers manually by entering IP? Try to connect to test server 79.164.91.205 port 14567 and tell me if success.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#5 2017-08-29 13:53:58

Fossilium
Player
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2017-06-27
Posts: 20
Windows 7 Chrome 58.0

Re: Server for Mac

How can I connect server manually?

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#6 2017-08-29 14:01:24

Fossilium
Player
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2017-06-27
Posts: 20
Windows 7 Chrome 58.0

Re: Server for Mac

Ah, I got it: Market Garden is the map, but there are no players at all.
Now the map changed to Battleaxe. But somehow there are still no players.

Last edited by Fossilium (2017-08-29 14:04:25)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#7 2017-08-29 14:06:19

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 444
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,038
Windows 7 Chrome 60.0

Re: Server for Mac

...

If you want to play with Bots, then choose COOP-Maps not Conquest.

Otherwise it needs other players.

...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#8 2017-08-29 14:09:27

petr8
Ulyachka
Reputation: 28
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 79
Linux Firefox 55.0

Re: Server for Mac

Great! This is our server: 188.165.220.115 port 14567 , there are always players here. You are welcome.

I can help with the list of servers if you want.

Last edited by petr8 (2017-08-29 14:11:34)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#9 2017-08-29 14:12:54

Fossilium
Player
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2017-06-27
Posts: 20
Windows 7 Chrome 58.0

Re: Server for Mac

Now there came a guy and we had a match.
How can I automatically search for server?

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#10 2017-08-29 14:15:47

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 444
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,038
Windows 7 Chrome 60.0

Re: Server for Mac

...

You need the AfterGamespy Patch, WidescreenSupport also included.

Depends, which version you have installed.

http://team-simple.org/download/

...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#11 2017-08-29 14:17:23

Fossilium
Player
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2017-06-27
Posts: 20
Windows 7 Chrome 58.0

Re: Server for Mac

I have a mac. There is only Windows and Linux support

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#12 2017-08-29 14:24:22

petr8
Ulyachka
Reputation: 28
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 79
Linux Firefox 55.0

Re: Server for Mac

Click "OK" instead of "Connect" in the dialog box and the server should be added automatically.
Also there is another solution if not.

P.S. Press the list update buttons.

Last edited by petr8 (2017-08-29 14:30:54)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#13 2017-08-29 14:29:28

Fossilium
Player
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2017-06-27
Posts: 20
Windows 7 Chrome 58.0

Re: Server for Mac

Which one

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#14 2017-08-29 14:32:14

Fossilium
Player
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2017-06-27
Posts: 20
Windows 7 Chrome 58.0

Re: Server for Mac

If there is a list of team-simple server it would be great too

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#15 2017-08-29 14:35:08

Arkos
Member
Switzerland
Reputation: 444
Registered: 2014-06-06
Posts: 2,038
Windows 7 Chrome 60.0

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#16 2017-08-29 14:37:35

Fossilium
Player
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2017-06-27
Posts: 20
Windows 7 Chrome 58.0

Re: Server for Mac

Thanks
I have got an Idea: itake the linux stuff and put into my BF-folder

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#17 2017-08-29 14:41:57

petr8
Ulyachka
Reputation: 28
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 79
Linux Firefox 55.0

Re: Server for Mac

petr8 wrote:

Click "OK" instead of "Connect" in the dialog box and the server should be added automatically.

Fossilium wrote:

Which one

This:
nqDwW1e.png

Last edited by petr8 (2017-08-29 14:43:11)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#18 2017-08-29 14:43:13

Fossilium
Player
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2017-06-27
Posts: 20
Windows 7 Chrome 58.0

Re: Server for Mac

i did succesfully

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#19 2017-08-29 14:48:36

Fossilium
Player
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2017-06-27
Posts: 20
Windows 7 Chrome 58.0

Re: Server for Mac

But after a restart, the server are away

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#20 2017-08-29 14:50:41

Fossilium
Player
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2017-06-27
Posts: 20
Windows 7 Chrome 58.0

Re: Server for Mac

The Linux stuff wont work on a mac

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#21 2017-08-29 15:01:37

Fossilium
Player
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2017-06-27
Posts: 20
Windows 7 Chrome 58.0

Re: Server for Mac

What to do to have the servers fixed that are typed in once?

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#22 2017-08-29 15:13:28

petr8
Ulyachka
Reputation: 28
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 79
Linux Firefox 55.0

Re: Server for Mac

I can give my list of servers, replace these two files approximately in

/Applications/Battlefield.app/Contents/MacOS/Mods/bf1942/Settings/Profiles/Custom/

You have this path may be a little different but exactly the same in the end.

ServerList.dat
ServerListFavorites.dat

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#23 2017-08-29 15:26:03

Fossilium
Player
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2017-06-27
Posts: 20
Windows 7 Chrome 58.0

Re: Server for Mac

Sorry but there is no such direction.
BF for Mac is made by ASPYR, which is an authorized EA distributor.
But I finally did it to make Mods running (there is a folder where I could input them)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#24 2017-08-29 15:29:23

petr8
Ulyachka
Reputation: 28
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 79
Linux Firefox 55.0

Re: Server for Mac

In the BF folder were no such directories?

...Mods/bf1942/Settings/Profiles/Custom/

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#25 2017-08-29 15:32:54

Fossilium
Player
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2017-06-27
Posts: 20
Windows 7 Chrome 58.0

Re: Server for Mac

OK, the location exists but the files are missing

Last edited by Fossilium (2017-08-29 15:34:15)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#26 2017-08-29 15:38:15

petr8
Ulyachka
Reputation: 28
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 79
Linux Firefox 55.0

Re: Server for Mac

Is there a "Battlefield 1942" directory in the Documents folder? Or similar?

Last edited by petr8 (2017-08-29 15:38:47)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#27 2017-08-29 15:43:55

Fossilium
Player
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2017-06-27
Posts: 20
Windows 7 Chrome 58.0

Re: Server for Mac

Yes:
documents/Battlefield1942/mods/BF1942/save/Custom/2/BattleAxe.con
documents/Battlefield1942/mods/BF1942/save/Custom/2/campaign.con
documents/Battlefield1942/mods/BF1942/settings/AdminSettings.con
documents/Battlefield1942/mods/BF1942/settings/Controls.con
documents/Battlefield1942/mods/BF1942/settings/GeneralOptions.con
documents/Battlefield1942/mods/BF1942/settings/Profile.con
documents/Battlefield1942/mods/BF1942/settings/Sound.con
documents/Battlefield1942/mods/BF1942/settings/Profiles/[...]/Controls

as you can see there is only the possibillity to change the files for the controls

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#28 2017-08-29 15:47:02

petr8
Ulyachka
Reputation: 28
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 79
Linux Firefox 55.0

Re: Server for Mac

They should be here:

 documents/Battlefield1942/mods/BF1942/settings/Profiles/Custom/

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#29 2017-08-29 15:47:52

Fossilium
Player
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2017-06-27
Posts: 20
OS X Safari 10.1

Re: Server for Mac

Nope the files don't exist

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#30 2017-08-29 15:51:31

petr8
Ulyachka
Reputation: 28
Registered: 2016-10-13
Posts: 79
Linux Firefox 55.0

Re: Server for Mac

Try to look for them somewhere near or insert them where I thought.
Sorry, seems I did everything I could smile

Last edited by petr8 (2017-08-29 15:55:31)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

Board footer