#1 2012-08-23 20:06:16

tuia
Born again
Portugal
Reputation: 339
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 5,554
Website

64 players slots

SiMPLE | BF1942 No key [FRA] is going to be lowered to 64 player slots. There are still some minor problems to be ironed out with the extra players slots, so back to normal numbers.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#2 2012-08-23 20:17:26

Lecter
Guest
Reputation: 2

Re: 64 players slots

nice! Finally! thx tuia

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#3 2012-08-23 21:15:26

Dudeck
Good Samaritan
Poland
Reputation: 14
Registered: 2012-03-21
Posts: 565

Re: 64 players slots

Perhaps its an opportunity to make some 'unpopular' modifications? Server gonna be full anyway

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#4 2012-08-23 23:30:08

Denny
A quarter jew
Croatia
Reputation: 1
Registered: 2012-03-10
Posts: 3,110
Website

Re: 64 players slots

or open simple nbr 2 somewhere in germany xD
im kidding


Your mother was a beaver!

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#5 2012-08-23 23:38:08

tuia
Born again
Portugal
Reputation: 339
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 5,554
Website

Re: 64 players slots

Yes, some maps have to be changed. Gazala won't have fast spawning planes and El Alamein, too. Aberdeen has to be changed quickly.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#6 2012-08-24 00:23:40

X=X=X=X=X=X=X=X
Guest
Reputation: 2

Re: 64 players slots

tuia ... do you plan to go back to 72 slots or more in the near future ?

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#7 2012-08-24 01:02:26

tuia
Born again
Portugal
Reputation: 339
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 5,554
Website

Re: 64 players slots

No, unless I find some free time and willingness to fix all remaining problems in BFServerManager and in BF1942 client.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#8 2012-08-24 08:20:08

sergfa
Member
Germany
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2012-06-21
Posts: 201

Re: 64 players slots

That's actually a step backwards, but I can understand your decision. 72 Slots does making the server more special and was one of the reason to return to bf42 for myself.

Perhaps, we could host a 72+ slots only at weekend ?

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#9 2012-08-24 09:54:50

tuia
Born again
Portugal
Reputation: 339
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 5,554
Website

Re: 64 players slots

Yes, i think so. It feels to me the gameserver is much smaller with 64 slots. smile
More than 78 players in the server will crash BFServerManager. Yes, probably increase the slots at the weekend.
There is one thing I would like to get it straight. Some people complained that with 72 players full the server was laggy and hits were bad. I'm an average player so I can't say anything about the hits. Does anyone notice any diference when the server is almost full with 64 players from being full at 72 players?

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#10 2012-08-24 09:59:50

MightyZo0K
Member
Germany
Reputation: 41
Registered: 2012-07-09
Posts: 1,026

Re: 64 players slots

I didn't notice any difference between 64 or 72 players. And my computer and internet aren't the best which you could get nowadays^^

Last edited by MightyZo0K (2012-08-24 10:00:26)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#11 2012-08-24 10:00:05

Assi
Member
Belgium
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2012-05-14
Posts: 540
Website

Re: 64 players slots

64 slots is fine. Will the kick/ban issues be resolved by this?

Why reduce the fast spawntime of the planes on El Ala and Gazala? Especially on those maps the
planes are the most important/used vehicles and it gives a lot of action.

What u gonna change on Aberdeen?

[edit] I never had problems with lags or blind hits.
Btw, if u lower the slots to resolve some problems than why increase it again in the weekend?

Last edited by Assi (2012-08-24 10:03:46)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#12 2012-08-24 10:31:16

tuia
Born again
Portugal
Reputation: 339
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 5,554
Website

Re: 64 players slots

MightyZo0K wrote:

I didn't notice any difference between 64 or 72 players. And my computer and internet aren't the best which you could get nowadays^^

Thanks .

Assi wrote:

64 slots is fine. Will the kick/ban issues be resolved by this?

Yes, BFServerManager handles kicks and bans fine with 64 players.

Assi wrote:

Why reduce the fast spawntime of the planes on El Ala and Gazala? Especially on those maps the
planes are the most important/used vehicles and it gives a lot of action.

What u gonna change on Aberdeen?

El Alamein and Gazala probably have too many planes. In Aberdeen reposition and increase the tanks in the main bases and add some jeeps to the map.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#13 2012-08-24 10:42:17

George
Player
Cape Verde
Reputation: 68
Location: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2012-07-16
Posts: 2,264
Website

Re: 64 players slots

I do not know how, but i have a much better situation with LAG issue  , with 64 players, it lags less smile)
Idea about Gazala, if you lower the amount of planes , please do not put it on default, because then there are too few , map is too big ,and becomes very booring waiting for planes that newer spwn,,,,,,just a thought smile


!!! Biggest cheating nub outthere !!!

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#14 2012-08-24 10:58:34

tuia
Born again
Portugal
Reputation: 339
Location: Lisbon
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 5,554
Website

Re: 64 players slots

How many planes do you think there should be on each base on El Alamein and Gazala? They will just spawn once and not twice, as it is now.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#15 2012-08-24 11:13:45

dary
Nobody
Reputation: 150
Registered: 2012-05-16
Posts: 3,174
Website

Re: 64 players slots

I suggest 7... and they should not spawn in the hangar, because when you fly into the hangar to repair your plane, it might happen that at the same time and place another plane spawns. You know how the story ends. wink

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#16 2012-08-24 11:15:17

George
Player
Cape Verde
Reputation: 68
Location: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2012-07-16
Posts: 2,264
Website

Re: 64 players slots

indeed, i agree with dary , 7 would be a fair number, for us to fight for smile


!!! Biggest cheating nub outthere !!!

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#17 2012-08-24 11:26:10

Assi
Member
Belgium
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2012-05-14
Posts: 540
Website

Re: 64 players slots

dary wrote:

I suggest 7... and they should not spawn in the hangar, because when you fly into the hangar to repair your plane, it might happen that at the same time and place another plane spawns. You know how the story ends. wink

I second that.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#18 2012-08-24 11:47:55

MightyZo0K
Member
Germany
Reputation: 41
Registered: 2012-07-09
Posts: 1,026

Re: 64 players slots

dary wrote:

I suggest 7... and they should not spawn in the hangar, because when you fly into the hangar to repair your plane, it might happen that at the same time and place another plane spawns. You know how the story ends. wink

Thumbs up! :-)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#19 2012-08-24 12:19:11

sergfa
Member
Germany
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2012-06-21
Posts: 201

Re: 64 players slots

MightyZo0K wrote:

I didn't notice any difference between 64 or 72 players. And my computer and internet aren't the best which you could get nowadays^^

same here. no lags or other problems. works sometimes even smoother as with 64 ;-)

AMD X2 2,4Ghz, 2GB RAM, GF 9800GT Win7x86 and Resolution 1680x1050

dary wrote:

I suggest 7 ... and they should not spawn in the hangar, because when you fly into the hangar to repair your plane, it might happen that at the same time and place another plane spawns. You know how the story ends. wink

dary: I suggest 7
To be honest its too much for 64 slots in my point of view. There's another airfield where spawning 3 planes too.

dary: and they should not spawn in the hangar
I agree, pls remove the planes inside the hangar. put them diagonally opposite left and right at the runway.

Last edited by sergfa (2012-08-24 12:20:21)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#20 2012-08-25 04:22:36

Dudeck
Good Samaritan
Poland
Reputation: 14
Registered: 2012-03-21
Posts: 565

Re: 64 players slots

tuia wrote:

Does anyone notice any diference when the server is almost full with 64 players from being full at 72 players?

No difference for me at all

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#21 2012-08-25 13:37:35

George
Player
Cape Verde
Reputation: 68
Location: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2012-07-16
Posts: 2,264
Website

Re: 64 players slots

i honestly see a big difference, even with ping rate
it was btw 55-65 before, now it s arround 49 all day long smile)), and very much playable

correction , i was talking about yesterday... however, now with 72 again, very laggy, and ping at least 61, sad

Last edited by George (2012-08-25 13:40:19)


!!! Biggest cheating nub outthere !!!

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#22 2012-08-25 14:23:17

Lecter
Guest
Reputation: 2

Re: 64 players slots

tuia wrote:

Does anyone notice any diference when the server is almost full with 64 players from being full at 72 players?

Oh yes! Smoother, hits really hit and no lag whatsoever. I was having alot of problems and it seems perfect now. Also with 72 players there were times i was shooting and bullets werent leaving the gun, that happened alot on 1 vs 1, weird stuff

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#23 2012-08-25 15:21:30

Assi
Member
Belgium
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2012-05-14
Posts: 540
Website

Re: 64 players slots

Lecter wrote:

... there were times i was shooting and bullets werent leaving the gun...

That means u have to reload u dummy :-)

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#24 2012-08-25 15:25:43

brigg
Player
Bulgaria
Reputation: 0
Registered: 2012-07-21
Posts: 69

Re: 64 players slots

i see there were some modifications made.  on the battle of britain -added ships and some other interesting things, thats nice. also i see the sniper scope doesnt go off when you shoot, was that a bug on my side? big_smile

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#25 2012-08-25 15:34:53

Lecter
Guest
Reputation: 2

Re: 64 players slots

Assi wrote:
Lecter wrote:

... there were times i was shooting and bullets werent leaving the gun...

That means u have to reload u dummy :-)


big_smile no, weapon reloaded, I hear the sound of me shooting, bullet numbers coming down, no hits whatsoever, than back to 30...and me dead smile

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#26 2012-08-25 15:48:11

Timmos
Member
Netherlands
Reputation: 0
Location: The Netherlands
Registered: 2012-07-11
Posts: 2,836

Re: 64 players slots

how could you know it was back to 30 if you were dead?


and at brigg, thats your cheat probably...

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#27 2012-08-25 15:54:29

Lecter
Guest
Reputation: 2

Re: 64 players slots

because it has happened to me so often i pay attention. An example: Im shooting a sniper laying down, i see the bullet number dropping and the sound of them, and then its 30 again without me reloading. OFC during the process no hits whatsoever. Fk strange.

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#28 2012-08-25 15:55:38

dary
Nobody
Reputation: 150
Registered: 2012-05-16
Posts: 3,174
Website

Re: 64 players slots

Lecter wrote:
Assi wrote:
Lecter wrote:

... there were times i was shooting and bullets werent leaving the gun...

That means u have to reload u dummy :-)


big_smile no, weapon reloaded, I hear the sound of me shooting, bullet numbers coming down, no hits whatsoever, than back to 30...and me dead smile

thats battlefield wink

I have a ping of 16 on some server and it feel like 80 - 100... on the simple server it feel like my ping most of the time, great server.

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#29 2012-08-25 15:58:08

dary
Nobody
Reputation: 150
Registered: 2012-05-16
Posts: 3,174
Website

Re: 64 players slots

Lecter wrote:

because it has happened to me so often i pay attention. An example: Im shooting a sniper laying down, i see the bullet number dropping and the sound of them, and then its 30 again without me reloading. OFC during the process no hits whatsoever. Fk strange.

Strange... i just know the bug when you take a new mp kit from someone... that's really annoying

Offline

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

#30 2012-08-25 16:08:17

Lecter
Guest
Reputation: 2

Re: 64 players slots

yes Dary but the stranger is that it only happened when the slots were increase to 72. This has never happened to me since I play the game. Ill check again, now its 64, it if happens

    0   Add Reputation to this user  Remove Reputation from this user

Board footer